We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #50 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and great location”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel is located very near the MRT, YuYuan (3 mins walk). its a good location as it is within 15mins walk to the bund and the old Shanghai street, Yuyuan Garden and Nanjing DongLu.

The room is big and clean. Breakfast is good. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleenlsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you for sharing your comment with us.

It is good to read you were satisfied about your room and our hotel location.
We hope that we get the chance to welcome you back.
Please do contact us directly if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards,
Niels Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    518
    97
    32
    9
See reviews for
151
471
89
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eger, Hungary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel location is perfect. It is very close to the old city and to the Huangpu river either. From the river side you can see the Bund. Nearby the hotel there are numbers of shops and a market.
Hotel style is modern, rooms are renovated. The bed is excellent. Be careful with room door closing because it can be difficult.
Do not expect a smile from the staff because they are not so friendly but they do everything you ask for.
To catch a taxi in Shanghai is nearly impossible but fortunately there were always 2 or 3 taxies before the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malnaimado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited Shanghai where my niece studies Chinese. I travelled with my sister and our niece moved in with us on an extra bed during our 5-day stay. The hotel is located next door to the apartment where she lives, so for us, the location was perfect. It was also close to shopping areas, restaurants and sites to visit.

Our Executive King room was located on the top floor, floor 17, so the view was great on days without fog. We were here in February and the weather was quite cold. The temperature in the bathroom was a little low, but for the room you could regulate the heat.

The breakfast was not perfect for us Swedes, but OK. Big plus for the guy who made omelettes and scrambled eggs a la minute.

Free wifi in the room was also a plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agneta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 11am and knew that check in wasn't until 2pm but without any fuss we were checked in and handed a room key. Our room was very cute although maybe a little smaller than I excepted. Very clean ( not always the case in China). It was very modern with the waterfall shower. Wifi is free and reasonable quick, wherever you are in the hotel. The 4th floor holds the restaurant, which serves breakfast and dinner. I had dinner there two night, opting for Chinese one night and western the next. Both were good. Breakfast on the other hand was a disappointment. I personally don't like a Chinese breakfast, but found the options of cereals ( three sugary boxed choices), the quality of bread/ pastries ( plenty of different ones, all as tasteless as each other) and the anaemic looking sausages, not very attractive either. We decided to get our breakfast from somewhere else instead. As we hadn't payed for breakfast we weren't losing out.

The one thing making our stay absolutely fantastic was one member of staff. Niels, the guest service manager made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in. He truly made you feel like you were the only guest he was looking after, from a chat to writing out a list of sights, restaurants etc..... And I know it wasn't just us, I could see other guest feeling just as special. My mom fell ill during our stay and for a minute there was talk of going to hospital. Niels not only called around to make an appointment ( on the weekend) but was also set to come with us. I stay in different big chain hotels all around the world almost every week for work and although they might make the effort to make a call for you, I don't think anyone would have even thought to come with you.

all in all, we really liked the hotel, the staff, the location. Impressed with the views from the terrace and the cleanliness. would we come back? yes, sure? Would we check if Niels was still there? Definitely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a seventeen hour layover in Shanghai and decided to stay near The Bund. I resisted the temptation to book a room at the stunning Ritz Carlton as well as the new Hyatt, and went with the very affordable Ssaw based on the incredibly reasonable price and it's distance from The Bund. The reviews were good so we went for it.
Fortunately for us, the woman at the information desk at the airport wrote out the address in Chinese to give to the cab driver; otherwise, I don't think he would have found it.
So we get to the hotel and it's lovely inside, the staff was friendly and told us that the mini bar was free. Hooray!
We go up to our floor and it's very zen; rock garden, candles; a lovely hand sculpture over every door. When we get into our room, we find a large suite with hardwood floors, a living room, large, bright bathroom, and an exotic, very comfortable, canopy bed. We were pretty delighted, and I hope to go back and spend days rather than hours someday.
Being on a lower floor meant no view; it might be a good idea to request a higher floor.

Room Tip: Check on getting a room on one of the higher floors - there might just be a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therealmissrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My mum and I stayed there for a night in January. The location is fantastic. It's 5 minutes walk away from Huihai Road (one of the two biggest shopping districts in the city) and a short stroll from a street that's full of BBQ restaurants offering weird and wonderful delicacies.
Yuyuan and Bund is respectively 5 and 15 min walk to the right of the hotel. Or 14RMB for a taxi ride (less than AUD$3).
The room was everything you can hope for. Although on the smaller side of the scale, it has got everything - free wifi, flat screen tv, mini bar (with free soft drinks and snacks), waterfall showerhead and a super clean bathroom (very important in China).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in October 2012 in two superior rooms. The rooms were quite, clean,comfortable & a good size, the furnishings were good, the beds were comfortable with nice down comforters & pillows. The bathroom was well appointed and efficient. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful and the location was within walking distance to the Bund, Yu Gardens, Subway system, numerous restaurants and a shopping mall is close by. The price per night included buffet breakfast which was expansive and excellent offering both American and Chinese breakfast selections with indoor and outdoor patio seating. The rooms were booked online thru Agoda and at $82 US a night might be one of the better deals in an otherwise expensive Shanghai. We (4 of us) rated this hotel a 4 Star and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Recommend a room on a higher floor and on the back side of the hotel as it fronts onto Renming Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,059 in Shanghai
806 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,688 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Property: SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is ideally located next to the Yu Garden and The Bund in the bustling Huangpu District. The nearest metro station ‘Yu Garden’, on line 10, is just a two-minute walk away, which gives you access to most major attractions in town. Our hotel is in close proximity to People’s Square, Xintiandi and Nanjing Road and all within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and 45 minutes drive from Pudong International Airport. SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund offers 165 guest rooms, including 17 city view rooms, 12 suites and 14 Family rooms. All air-conditioned guest rooms come with free WIFI access, complimentary drinks in the mini-bar, complimentary coffee/tea facilities, an in-room safe and flat-screen cable TV. To ensure the sleep quality of our guests, all guest rooms are equipped with a black-out curtain and comfortable‘King Koil' mattresses. Comfy comfort awaits at our hotel lobby where guests can enjoy complimentary Italian coffee and tea in our hotel lobby and get free bottled water from our fridge. Chinese and English books are free to borrow from our library. In order to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our hotel, all in-house guests may enjoy complimentary mid-night snack between 10PM and midnight. If you reserve either our Executive City View room or Executive Suite room, you also enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea buffet from 1:30PM until 4:30PM. On warm days, guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner on our outdoor patio with stunning skyline views. Gym access is provided for in-house guests and massage services are available upon request. Guests may use our special laundry service (surcharge) or complimentary use our newly equipped laundry room for washing, drying and ironing. Children will have an enjoyable time in our children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing