We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Shanghai hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #47 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've just completed a 5 night stay here in an Executive Room.

The good:
Extremely comfortable bed, fast easy wifi with no constant log-in log off features. The design (clearly 'inspired' from The Puli) is better than most hotels of this category.

The bad:
Location is non-descript. It's adjacent to nothing worth seeing or going to and the location is very difficult to explain to a cab driver, especially if one doesn't speak Chinese.

The ugly:
Guestroom doors DO NOT self close. Make sure you close the door properly when entering or leaving the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Ssaw Hotel. We had an Executive City View Room complete with canopy bed and tub for our enjoyment! We were very happy with most things about our stay here. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. We loved the room and bedding of down comforter and pillows.We enjoyed the tub and ample space of the room. The internet was slow and sometimes unrelieable but was okay because we were on vacation. The city view was of little excitement being on the 3rd floor but because the rest of the room was very nice we choose not to complain. The room was very clean in all areas and a wonderful place for our time there. We enjoyed room service one day for lunch and were happy with the sandwich lunches. We had dinner one evening at the hotel but were not happy with the meal based on the cost. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel and were happy with the variety and quality of the food. The hotel is in a great location for many things to see and do.......the Yu Yuan Garden is close for sights and shopping, the Bund is close, the Shanghai Museum is nearby too. Also other shopping near the museum underground. Overall the stay at Ssaw was excellent. A few things could have been better but we were very happy with our stay there. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel based on our experience there.

Room Tip: If you pay for a city view room....do not let them put you on the 3rd floor! Yes....it is a city vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rbrown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over Christmas and it was wonderful. The room was lovely and very clean. The layout of the room was really good, lot of space and the bathroom was to die for. The Living room was relaxing after walking around the city all day.We stayed in a superior room on the 17th floor there's was a noise from renovations which was a little bit annoying at times but didn't spoli our trip, when they finish it'll be even more perfect. Location good as you're not far from the Bund it's less then 5 minutes to the nearest metro line. There's no shops near the hotel so if you want food, snacks or drinks collect them on your way back. The staff were fantastic and I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was really impressive with a wide range of food both chinese and western and the area was beautiful overlooking the city but I thought finishing at 9.30 was a little early if they extended this by an hour like other hotels then this would be faultless.

I would strongly recommend this hotel...we accidental left our ipod in the room when we check out and when we contacted the hotel about it they couldn't have been anymore helpful. They located it and send it that day. I so was amazed by the friendliness and honesty of the staff and how quickly the matter was dealt with.

Superb!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlebethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

First off, when I come back to Shanghai, I will more than likely stay here again. I loved the rooms setup, location, and breakfast dinning room.

I personally loved the living room space which had its own TV, and than another TV behind it facing into the bedroom. The room was spacious and it felt very comforting and was perfect after arriving from a long flight overseas.

It was easily walking distance from the Bund which I loved, and near plenty of restaurants and shopping plaza's.

My only draw back would be that the breakfast hall was too small and you felt scrunched in with everyone sitting next to everyone. I felt like I did get my own personal space to eat. But to be fair it was a nice room.

This hotel seemed to pay attention to the small details, and I loved that about SSAW.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel and rooms decoration is modern and the bathroom is quite design.
We booked a superior room, and it has a huge round bathtub in the centre, which was a plus after a cold day walking the city in winter
The breakfast restaurant is beautiful with Chinese music and a terrace.
Breakfast was good but mainly oriental food so we did not have much of a choice.
The hotel staff does not speak fluent English (except form a Dutch guy at front desk) so it's difficult to ask for rooms service or any help.
You can change money at the hotel desk (200 € per day)
They ask for a deposit at check-in and refund you when you leave.
The hotel is well located and 5 minutes walking distance from Shopping streets, Yu garden and old city quarter.
We would probably stay here again if we come back to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Book a superior room with an amazing bathtub in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your impressions with us.

We do appreciate your comment as an important tool in our improvement.
I am glad you had a pleasent stay and are willing to stay here in the future.
Last week we opened the outside terrace for our guests to enjoy the spring weather.

We look forward to welcome you in our hotel soon. Should you have any other suggestions or questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,
Niels Taal

Guest Service Manager
+86 13816552306

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was modern, clean, chic and comfortable, with wifi access as well. Breakfast was fantastic, great spread of western, chinese and shanghainese dishes from pancakes to dumplings and noodles. The breakfast area is rather small, so get in there early if you want to avoid waiting for a spot to clear.
Finding the hotel was trickier as google map marked it wrongly. We found it after asking other travellers. It's on the main road, but at an awkward angle. It's about five minute walk from Yuyuan Garden Metro station as well, so that could be an option.
Front desk service was a little green, a result of being manned by trainees, but otherwise a pleasant experience altogether. Wifi available at the lobby too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I am from Singapore and I stayed here in Dec 2012. This is a decent 4 star hotel. It is just a short distance from the subway station, Yuyuan Garden on Line 10.

I stayed in the SSAW room which was quite big and has one of the biggest toilet I have seen. The toilet has a bath tub, 2 wash basins, a separate bathroom and a separate make up table.

The bed was also big and comfortable! Location was also good. You can walk to the Bund and Nanjing Road if you want..but can take the cab..cheaper and faster!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kksp0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,842 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,160 in Shanghai
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $89 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is ideally located next to the Yu Garden and The Bund in the bustling Huangpu District. The nearest metro station ‘Yu Garden’, on line 10, is just a two-minute walk away, which gives you access to most major attractions in town. Our hotel is in close proximity to People’s Square, Xintiandi and Nanjing Road and all within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and 45 minutes drive from Pudong International Airport. SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund offers 165 guest rooms, including 17 city view rooms, 12 suites and 14 Family rooms. All air-conditioned guest rooms come with free WIFI access, complimentary drinks in the mini-bar, complimentary coffee/tea facilities, an in-room safe and flat-screen cable TV. To ensure the sleep quality of our guests, all guest rooms are equipped with a black-out curtain and comfortable‘King Koil' mattresses. Comfy comfort awaits at our hotel lobby where guests can enjoy complimentary Italian coffee and tea in our hotel lobby and get free bottled water from our fridge. Chinese and English books are free to borrow from our library. In order to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our hotel, all in-house guests may enjoy complimentary mid-night snack between 10PM and midnight. If you reserve either our Executive City View room or Executive Suite room, you also enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea buffet from 1:30PM until 4:30PM. On warm days, guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner on our outdoor patio with stunning skyline views. Gym access is provided for in-house guests and massage services are available upon request. Guests may use our special laundry service (surcharge) or complimentary use our newly equipped laundry room for washing, drying and ironing. Children will have an enjoyable time in our children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing