We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location around Old Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #45 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a "City View King's Room" at Shanghai SSAW Hotel mid August 2012.
Chosed this hotel because of its convenient location around Old Shanghai and also it's just a mere 5 minutes walk from Exit 4 of Yuyuan subway station. Thus it's also very accessible to other parts of Shanghai via subway.
The room is fully renovated, spacious and we especially love the bathroom - it is really big. There is a shower room as well as an "open" bath tub separating 2 basins.
Apart from the 2 bottles of mineral water provided everyday, canned and bottled drinks as well as a packet of biscuits is provided in the fridge. These are replenished everyday. There's also a capsule coffee machine with coffee provided. The buffet breakfast comes with plenty of fruits and a good variety.
The only confusion is that they make you sign yor credit card twice (once "as pre-authorisation") and the 2nd time (the actual one). The "pre-authorisation" was not presented for payment.
For the price, comfort and all conveniences, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a Non-smoking room and on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twong800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed twice at the Shanghai SSAW Hotel. It was disappointing, specially when you compare it to the one in Hangzhou. When you get in the room, you are happy to see a big and quite tastefuly decorated room, but soon enough you will realize that it is not as clean as it should be. The beds are comfortable, though but do not expect any view. The location is one of the biggest appeal of the hotel, the prices make it a good value. The staff should be more trained and friendly. Overall, it is a nice place for a short stay in Shanghai and an excellent departing point for the city exploration.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 10th floor, they are renovated and generally cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Recently satyed in this hotel and want to mention that from my point of view it's one of the best hotels in Shanghai. It has everything you need for spending great time. Location is perfect only 5 minutes from Yuyuan Garden. Room is very spacious and the bed is very convinient, I was upgraded when I arrived which was a very pleasent suprise. Staff is very nice I didn't experience any problems check- in and check-out were very smooth. Overall it is a great hotel price is also very reasonable. I will definetly come back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Already disappointed when arrived at the hotel. The premise seemed to be still under construction, dusty entrance. Booked a double room with additional bed to accommodate 3, but when I asked for the additional bed to set up, it took nearly 2 hours for them to reply that there was no bed available (I was not told about this when checked in). The reason was that they had a full house and there were not enough beds to meet the guests request. What an answer!! Finally they said they would upgrade our room to a family suite. The room is big but not nicely properly furnished (did not have table lamp on the reading desk) and also insufficient lighting. Dated decorations and fixtures (the windows were left open when I moved in, if I did not notice that someone can easily break into the room when I was out) The hotel was recently changed ownership and the rooms were in the process of re-decorating, so I saw workers were doing the re-decoration works inside the premises and re-setting the elevators. Also, the rooms and corridors had inconsistent decorations and settings.

Tables at the cafe/restaurant/bar (basically they only had one restaurant which serves breakfast, dinner, drinks) were significantly insufficient, they only had under 15 tables and during the breakfast time, many guests did not get a table and had to leave. The hotel also under-staff.

Overall, the hotel rooms and service are below standard. Will choose international brand hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location, reasonable prices, English speaking staff, comfy and clean rooms with thoughtful decor. I was more than happy with my stay and it exceeded my expectations for a non-western brand hotel in China.

Thank elcamille
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Was on a business trip to Shanghai for an expo in Pudong, didn't want to stay in Pudong as there's literally nothing there at night!

SSAW has perfect location as it's right next to the Renmin Road tunnel to Pudong and so close to Nanjing E Rd walking street and Yu Garden. I didn't use the MTR though as taxi was cheap to most places. & it was easy to catch a taxi right in front of the hotel!

Room was clean and reasonable size. The shower stinked a bit though... I don't know how to explain that smell, but it came after I had my shower.

Breakfast wasn't great and it was extra $68RMB, short walk to Yu Garden for some Xiaolongbao might be a better choice for most people!

Room Tip: Higher level might be quieter, A/C can be quite cold so bring a cardigan or sth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

i stayed here for 9 nights first on the 2nd floor and then in a suite on the 17th floor. the rooms are brand news as is all the hotel. very nicely decorated with warm dark wood tones, great tub with a giant window overlooking the city and a good sized desk to work. internet connectivity works great (10mb down, 4 mb up). nice breakfast with european and asian style food. very friendly staff. 1 minute to the metro, walking distance to french concession, people's square, etc. overall great value for its quality.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Gionata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,785 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#64 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,774 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $92 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is ideally located next to the Yu Garden and The Bund in the bustling Huangpu District. The nearest metro station ‘Yu Garden’, on line 10, is just a two-minute walk away, which gives you access to most major attractions in town. Our hotel is in close proximity to People’s Square, Xintiandi and Nanjing Road and all within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and 45 minutes drive from Pudong International Airport. SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund offers 165 guest rooms, including 17 city view rooms, 12 suites and 14 Family rooms. All air-conditioned guest rooms come with free WIFI access, complimentary drinks in the mini-bar, complimentary coffee/tea facilities, an in-room safe and flat-screen cable TV. To ensure the sleep quality of our guests, all guest rooms are equipped with a black-out curtain and comfortable‘King Koil' mattresses. Comfy comfort awaits at our hotel lobby where guests can enjoy complimentary Italian coffee and tea in our hotel lobby and get free bottled water from our fridge. Chinese and English books are free to borrow from our library. In order to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our hotel, all in-house guests may enjoy complimentary mid-night snack between 10PM and midnight. If you reserve either our Executive City View room or Executive Suite room, you also enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea buffet from 1:30PM until 4:30PM. On warm days, guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner on our outdoor patio with stunning skyline views. Gym access is provided for in-house guests and massage services are available upon request. Guests may use our special laundry service (surcharge) or complimentary use our newly equipped laundry room for washing, drying and ironing. Children will have an enjoyable time in our children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing