We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, poor communication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #49 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights in April 2012. The location is very good. Close to Yuyuan Gardens, a few minutes from a metro station and walkable distance to the main square. Being in Shanghai for just 3 days, that was very important, because I could easily move around the city. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and breakfast quite good. As a hotel, it's really value for money. The only problem with accommodation was that there was loud noise from the street.

Why did I rate it 3 out of 5 then? Because it was almost impossible to communicate effectively with the staff. Their English is pretty bad, despite their efforts to understand. On the first day, I had breakfast without a problem. Next morning, suddenly they think that breakfast is not included (event though I had paid for it) and the people there could hardly understand what I was saying to them. I ended up not eating that day... On the night before check-out, we asked the reception how much a taxi to the airport would cost. After our discussion, we asked them to call a taxi at 8.00am. The next morning, we realize that they hadn't call a taxi at all, that the cost is 50% higher that what we were told and that we needed another kind of taxi than what discussed. Getting an invoice or exchanging money at the reception were also insurmountable challenges because of the language barrier.

All in all, if you feel confident that you can communicate with the staff, go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FilipposATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
There are newer reviews for SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the SSAW hotel in July 2012, in a king room on the 13th floor facing the main street. The hotel is perfectly located for tourists, a few meters away from the metro, and walking distance to the bund and nanjing road (~20 min). The rooms are kept very clean, and the staff is exteremly nice. Don't expect fluent English, this is a Chinese hotel, and while they try their hardest you can't ask them for much help a al concierege. We got a great deal on hotels.com, about $68/night - so really we were very pleased. Did not have the breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheArcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Cute, new boutique hotel in the Yuyuan area in Puxi.

Location:
Great location, very centrally located and close to the subway.
Walkable distance to Yuyuan, Bund and all the other tourist attractions.
Hotel is off a main road.

Room:
The decent size room is very nicely done, on par with much higher priced boutique hotels!
Room decor is modern boutique style and reminds me of the much higher priced Puli hotel.
Nice tv, good amenities, comfy bed.
Quiet at night.

Service:
Service staff speaks English and are friendly and courteous.
The doorman was really nice and offered us coffee/tea/snacks while waiting for checkin.

Overall:
Would definitely stay here again.
Hard to find such a well priced quality hotel
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just a pleasant spot to stay the room was perfect (higher floor) and they had a nice breakfast included in the price I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: finding late night food service that is english speaking is hard in this area so either take your ch...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeezonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is part of a Chinese hotel group so the first point is that you should expect a Chinese bias when it comes to food. On saying that, Shanghai has so many western visitors that perhaps they should cater more for other tastes. Let's get the negatives out of the way. There is no bar but you can get a drink in the resturant although the choice is very limited. The restaurant has a television blasting out which spoils the rather pleasant ambience. There is a very nice roof terrace where you can eat so it is possible to escape from the TV. The breakfast appears to have plenty to eat but only if you want noodles, rice, sushi etc. Eggs are freshly cooked ie Fried, scambled, omelettes. The tea is pre made in a pot on a hot plate which never seems to be switched on so consequently it is usually luke warm. All in all I would rate the breakfast as "acceptable" but no more than that.
On to the good points and there are quite a few. The location is very good. It is very close to the Yu Garden area which has many tourist restaurants & shops. Behind the hotel is a very interesting typical Chinese area with a very interesting street market everyday but be warned....it is not for the squimish. Live animals & sold & killed there and then in some cases (chickens & ducks mainly). The hotel is very close to the road tunnel which goes under the river to the Pudong side ( Pearl Tower etc etc). Taxis are incredibly cheap with a starting fare of about £1.40 sterling. You seem to travel miles before it clocks on to the next rate & even then it goes up by only 10p. One piece of advice... always have the name of where you are going written down in Chinese as taxi drivers speak no English at all. The SSAW Hotel has some useful cards with names of tiourist places written in both English & Chinese. Remember to ask for one as they are invaluable when going out or when returning to the hotel.
Back to the hotel......Our room was amazing. We paid about £65 per night including breakfast and compared to UK hotel where you wouldn't get a Travelodge for that in London, it was truly woderful value. The room was very spacious & the bathroom was the biggest I have ever been in. Huge shower & massive bath. All toiletries were there & there were even razors, hairbrushes, combs etc. One minus point was thar drawer space in the bedroom was minimal. We were on the 15th floor with very good views of the city and the previously mention old area.
There was a free mimibar but don't get excited...it only contained water & soft drinks!!! However, even this is better that most hotels where minibars are a complete rip-off.
Wi-fi is free throughout the hotel and there is free use of a computer in the reception area, again much better than the likes of the Accor Group where you are charged 50p per 5 mins for use of a computer.
The staff were very helpful & pleasant although their English, in the main, was limited but put it this way: a million times better than my Chinese !!
Why some reviewers go on about the poor appearance of the outside I do not know. Maybe they like to impress friends with photos of the outside but hey guys, if this rocks your boat just take a pic of the Shangri-la & tell them you were there.!!
All in all a very good hotel in a good location. The minus points do not take away from the fact that it one of the best value hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room as there is a bit of building work going on but not at the time when norma...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at the SSAW hotel in June 2012, in a king room on the 15th floor facing the main street.
The biggest positive about this hotel is its location. Its only a 5min walk from the subway. If you don't mind the walk, you can get to the Peoples square station in around 30mins, which is in the middle of the busy shopping strip Nanjing Road ("walking street").
Other positives include the clean rooms, the nice & polite staff who's english was sufficient, and the lovely breakfast area which features an outdoor roof deck.
The greatest downside to this hotel is the noise. I thought I had struck it lucky with a great view from the 15th floor, overlooking the main street. That night I was less excited once I tried getting some sleep! The windows are not double glazed and the street noise is relentless. As anyone in China knows, the Chinese love using their car horns, regardless of the hour. Its only one niggle but to me it was significant. I'm sure if you got a room facing away from the street it would be an improvement. Overall a good hotel, just bring some earplugs!
PS: This is a bare bones 4 star however so don't expect a bar, pool or a gym.

Room Tip: High up and facing away from the main street to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZhelterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've stayed here for 4 nights. It was such a nice hotel. When I 1st got to the hotel, I kinda doubt whether it was a 4 stars hotel because outside the hotel looked old and creepy. However, wait till you actually walk inside and especially the room. The room was spacious, nice, new and clean. I think they just renovated? Well at first, we only booked 1 night to try but because we loved this so we kept extending our stay there. For the last night, they upgraded us to the suite room. The reception was helpful and the location was great. it was closed to all the shopping area (time square, raffles city). The breakfast was okay. not so impressed. If u have to pay for the breakfast then you should go out and grab sth. It might be cheaper and better than eating at the hotel. I love staying here and I'd definitely stay there next time

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bape2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,112 in Shanghai
835 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $95 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is ideally located next to the Yu Garden and The Bund in the bustling Huangpu District. The nearest metro station ‘Yu Garden’, on line 10, is just a two-minute walk away, which gives you access to most major attractions in town. Our hotel is in close proximity to People’s Square, Xintiandi and Nanjing Road and all within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and 45 minutes drive from Pudong International Airport. SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund offers 165 guest rooms, including 17 city view rooms, 12 suites and 14 Family rooms. All air-conditioned guest rooms come with free WIFI access, complimentary drinks in the mini-bar, complimentary coffee/tea facilities, an in-room safe and flat-screen cable TV. To ensure the sleep quality of our guests, all guest rooms are equipped with a black-out curtain and comfortable‘King Koil' mattresses. Comfy comfort awaits at our hotel lobby where guests can enjoy complimentary Italian coffee and tea in our hotel lobby and get free bottled water from our fridge. Chinese and English books are free to borrow from our library. In order to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our hotel, all in-house guests may enjoy complimentary mid-night snack between 10PM and midnight. If you reserve either our Executive City View room or Executive Suite room, you also enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea buffet from 1:30PM until 4:30PM. On warm days, guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner on our outdoor patio with stunning skyline views. Gym access is provided for in-house guests and massage services are available upon request. Guests may use our special laundry service (surcharge) or complimentary use our newly equipped laundry room for washing, drying and ironing. Children will have an enjoyable time in our children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing