We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast in a so so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Ranked #86 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in a so so hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while touring China. This hotel was nice but not exceptional. The lobby was nice but not opulent. The rooms were small but did have a kitchen if you should require one. The bathrooms were also small. The beds were comfortable enough. We had an outside door leading onto a quasi balcony but was locked as were the windows. The room seemed clean if somewhat drab.

As seems to be a common problem with Chinese hotels the toilet didn't work properly so we had maintenance come up and 'fix' it. After maintenance left it was pretty obvious that the toilet wasn't fixed so we resorted to the lobby toilets when required and put up with the stench of cigarette smoke.

The best thing about this hotel were the breakfast buffets which catered to the whole gamut of international tastes.

I might stay here again and I might not depending on prices and what other hotels are available. The location is not the best for Shanghai as it is a fair distance away from the sightseeing spots which means you are stuck in traffic a lot of the time

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockey005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    353
    125
    35
    16
See reviews for
41
47
65
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel was as advertised. Very modern and clean, with comfortable beds and an efficient staff. The metro exit #5 was a few steps to the left of the hotel, which made it easy to get around the city. But we were a bit shocked at the amount of people who use the metro daily. It was always full and people had a way of pushing each other. Taxi cabs were also easy to come by. However since we did not know how to speak in Mandarin, we had a few miscommunications. We were given a router for the internet which we thought was free, but were charged 80 RMB a day. The key cards also kept on having an error which the hotel concierge programmed everyday. There were a lot of restaurants and groceries around which was very convenient for us. Overall, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodtripper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is excellent in all respects. It is literally 40 steps from the front door to Line 1 of the Metro, 3 stops from People's Square and all the action. Only costs $.50 US and can get you most anywhere. From reception to concierge, the service was excellent. The hotel itself has the appearance of an expensive hotel but it isn't. The room was plenty large enough, very modern, the bathroom excellent, free wi-fi and many little amenities such as toiletries, an optional rain shower, neat little grey boxes to store TV remote and other electronics. It's a classy place but don't drink the tap water without boiling it. I've heard the buffet breakfast is excellent but it is pricey. We tried the in-house restaurant once and were singularly unimpressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennydres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

So we arrived and was told that we were upgraded for free so we were delighted. When we arrived in the room, it smelled musky and the low ceiling made the room look even smaller. We struggled with the aircon the entire stay. The fittings are dated and curtains look old. Then we climbed into bed to find a big hole in the sheet (which my husband's feet could fit into) and the towels in the bathroom were so old that they were unraveling at the end. We had some fruit put out on a plate, so we cut some up and had some, room service managed to leave the dirty plate and cutlery for three full days without washing it. From a Accor hotel standard - terrible!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#78 of 5,105 in Shanghai
869 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#147 of 5,105 in Shanghai
537 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#56 of 5,105 in Shanghai
955 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#205 of 5,105 in Shanghai
105 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#160 of 5,105 in Shanghai
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao

Property: Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Address: No.369 Xianxia Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#104 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao is close to National Exhibition and Convention Centre (Shanghai), Shanghai Mart and Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Centre of int’l Sourcing. Located in the centre of Hongqiao business area, the hotel is surrounded by shopping malls and commercial complexes. It’s just 10 minutes’ drive from Hongqiao Airport, Hongqiao railway station, 45 minutes from Pudong International Airport, and near metro network. The hotel is ideal for business, leisure or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hongqiao Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Grand Accor Hongqiao Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing