We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by their photos!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yangyang Vivasha Resort Hotel
Ranked #2,426 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by their photos!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms wear out, quite old and jut don't made you feel clean such as Pillow yellowish nd with dirty marks on it. But the worst is my colleague's experience who stay in a suit room got shocked by the toilet! The first time she flush the toilet all the water runs out fom the toilet to the living room, luckily she ran away quite enough and call me for help! So disgusting! Then they change her to another room where water won't flood out but water just don't flush down as normal! Anyway this prove how poor condition and old the room is! The breakfast maybe not bad for Chinese but no choice for westerners so my colleague can't eat much but only bread with coffee. Also, the reception can't speak English so I have to translator foe me collegue everthytime she needs help. Thus definitely not recommend to westerners!

Room Tip: Our client provide us car and driver so it's ok coz basically u need a taxi to everywhere. Once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
424 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Large and spacious, yet with a rather unwelcoming ambience. Room cleanliness not upto the mark, lounge services too slow. The breakfast spread though vast is more oriental , catering obviously to local clientele rather than tourist. Quality of service hampered as most staff have no more than a smattering of English. If a tourist look for amore tourist-friendly place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This hotel is mainly for conference parties but has nice swimming pool indoors (outdoor one was closed due to some renovation from June09- about end Aug09) so there was a bit of construction noise. But staff was nice (there were very few people in the hotel) and breakfast buffet was also very good and there was enough even food left for my late morning wakeup...
Major problem is that it is far from the city center, although there is a bus to take you within 10 minutes walking distance from main train station. Taxi to station is appx 20RMB. Bus 117 is 2 RMB.
It's a good place to relax and there is also a golf practice range, a huge workout room, and albeit a bit shabby, a playground for the under 6. Indoor pool was super, but I would not like to be there during a full conference! But staff are friendly, no complaints. All worked well, even if bathroom was a bit small, it was nice and clean.
Ctrip.com has fairly good deals, but search and you may be able to find even better.
The only downside was that internet was 50RMB per 24 hours when most give free access.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elidez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

As part of a high school music tour, our family stayed in the Vivasha last month. We had been warned that Chinese hotel beds were firm, and there was a little more padding than just sleeping on a box spring, but everyone was comfortable. The rooms were small but not cramped, although the room lighting in all the hotels in China was dim (bring a battery powered booklamp).As with the rest of our tour, we knew the water was unsafe to drink from the tap so we drank the bottled water and made tea from the electric kettles in each room. You could easily bring packets of instant soup, oatmeal etc. if the Chinese food was not to your taste. You can also buy bottled water in the hotel giftshop and pay in American dollars for it (about a dollar a bottle).
Breakfast (Western and Chinese) was a reasonable buffet (croissants and breads, fresh fruit (which my husband, the internal medicine doctor, refused to eat)fried eggs from the Western side) included with the tour. Be sure to print out the map of the hotel (in Chinese, from the Vivasha website) for your cabdriver before you leave home. Even with the map, he made a wrong turn and finally turned off the meter; however the cab fare for 4 people for a spotless minivan from the Shanghai airport with tons of luggage was still US $15 (equivalent, in yuen, and no tippiing).
The hotel is on spacious, landscaped grounds, a little island, surrounded by high rise apartment buildings; very quiet, despite the train tracks a block away. It was at least 30 minutes by tour bus from the Bund, depending on traffic. The outdor pool was dirty and not swimmable; we were so busy touring I did not see the indoor pool or sports court on the premises.
Laundry was very cheap and excellent quality, in by 9AM, back by 5.
Some of the staff spoke minimal English, but they would always summon a manager.

  • Liked — Very quiet
  • Disliked — Some areas, espeially the lobby, reeked of cigarette smoke
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sundevilmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#16 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangyang Vivasha Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangyang Vivasha Resort Hotel

Property: Yangyang Vivasha Resort Hotel
Address: No.99 Fuping Road, Shanghai 200333, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Life Hub DANING
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,426 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yangyang Vivasha Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangyang Vivasha Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing