We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haiyatt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haiyatt Hotel
Ranked #418 of 4,566 Hotels in Shanghai
Noida, India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during one of my business trips to Shanghai, China as the hotel is very close to my office, just two minutes walk. This hotel is very well managed and most of the hotel staff speak English. Being Vegetarian, I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel serves pure veg dishes specially for vegetarians. Just ask the staff for the veg dishes. Overall, a very nice and comfortable experience. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you prefer a non smoking room, ask for it during reservation itself as very few of them are avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rishib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
1
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is an excellent hotel to stay in if you visit Shanghai.The room are clean, furthermore many European and western travellers will be unaware that you can still smoke in the hotel bedrooms in China. This hotel has non smoking rooms which is great.

The restaurant was western and Chinese, the food was very pleasant and plentiful and all the staff spoke English and were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to business and pleasure travellers without hesitation.

Room Tip: You need to ask for non smoking rooms if you don't smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingmag
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have been coming to this hotel for years and recommend the hotel for its great value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have stayed twice at this hotel now, once in July and again in October. Both trips were business related and was located very close to the customer site I was visiting.

It's well worth booking the hotel's airport pick up service (350RMB) when making your reservation, that way you have no worries regarding potentially unlicensed taxis. The journey to the hotel takes 45mins - 1hr, depending upon traffic.

All the hotel staff I encountered were friendly and helpful whether they spoke English or not. On each visit I stayed in one of the more expensive rooms (approx. 645RMB\night), however this is still reasonable compared to prices here in the UK. For this price the room is a good size, with a well appointed bathroom, 32" flat screen tv, in room mini bar\fridge, complimentary mineral water (not imported) & free internet connection.

The restaurant offers both chinese & western menus, however the latter is a bit limited in variety but is is perfectly ok if only staying for a week or so.

Though English is spoken by e.g. restaurant and reception staff, you can sometimes find their limits in some circumstances - bur I don't speak any Chinese so am grateful even for that. See it as more of a challenge to you to communicate your needs with more concise English.

Just opposite the hotel entrance accross the road in a shop called Lawsons where you can buy bottled beers and soft drinks e.g. 0.6L Budweiser = 7RMB

Should you wish to visit the sights of Shanghai e.g. The Bund, a taxi from the hotel to there should take 30 - 40 mins and cost approx. 50RMB, Taxis are sometimes parked outside the hotel - just go to one with their green light on. It will help if you first tell a member of the reception staff your intent, as they will give you a card with your destination indicated in Chinese on one side and the hotels address on the other also in Chinese. This is very useful as generally taxi drivers don't speak english.

Would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I've stayed many times at the Haiyatt in Chang An and many more in Haiyatt Houjie. Those Haiyatt hotels are good, lively, decent quality, good value with good restaurants From that experience, I decided to try the Haiyatt Shanghai. Mistake.

Perhaps going in with a set expectation from other locations of the Haiyatt skews perception a bit. First off - location. The Haiyatt Shanghai is near absolutely nothing. You will be able to access nothing without a taxi. I knew this going in but with experience of the other, vibrant Haiyatt's, I didn't mind - until I got there.

First, my non-smoking room has cigarette holes on furniture and burns on furniture. This isn't altogether the fault of the hotel - smokers have no self discipline.

Leaving the room behind and heading to the restaurant, I was greeted with a completely empty main hotel restaurant that was ala carte menu - versus the buffet offered at the other Haiyatt's. Breakfast was buffet, but a very pale comparison to the other Haiyatt's. Food all around is significantly better at the other Haiyatt's - in fact, I ate only once at the restaurant and decided to venture in a cab elsewhere. If I was in Chang An or Houjie, I would never have left the hotel.

I arrived on a weekend and the hotel is almost empty. The lounge - a very vibrant and fun place in Chang An and Houjie - is empty and dull. In the room, there is a mini-bar fridge, but it is empty - they advised that if I needed anything, I could phone up room service. The bottle of wine on offer in rooms in the other Haiyatt's is no where to be seen here.

The spa swimming pool looks OK. The hot tubs do not work and there is mold at the jets under the water. The mechanism to turn on the hot tub essentially comes off it's hinge revealing a 4" opening into the electrical and circuitry of the hot tub - a bit over 6" from the water. For towels, you are treated to a hand towel - literally and specifically the same hand towels offered in your bathroom. The massage area is a legitimate massage.

I ventured out on a risk and it didn't go well. However, the disappointing part is that my experiences with other Haiyatt's have been so good and this was almost the opposite. If the owner of the Haiyatt is reading, you really should change the name of the Shanghai hotel so people don't expect the same quality as the Chang An or Houjie Haiyatt's. Needless to say, I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: There are much, much better options.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank venezia220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

I stayed here as it is close to our office in the Xuhui district in Shanghai. The hotel is a very good Chinese hotel. The location is on quiet street, one block from Yishan Rd, about 1 km from the green subway line - not close to anything - but possible to get downtown.
The hotel lobby is functional, but not elaborate. The rooms and bathrooms are large & well appointed with large king bed, sitting chair, desk with chair, robes, tea maker, water, etc... - with free internet access. The staff are very friendly, and speak English - although not fluently. The breakfast buffet was very good (traditional Chinese) - did see some English/Western offerings, but by far a more extensive & good Chinese offering.
The cost was very reasonable (4 nights for 380 RMB/night including breakfast).

Overall - would recommend if you need to be in the area - good value - and friendly

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

I've stayed at the Haiyatt at least 6 times within the last year or so and will continue to stay at this hotel because it is conveniently located near the clients that I visit and because it offers everything that I need at a great value when compared to some of the other western hotels (Westin, Hilton, etc.). I would highly recommend this hotel for business, but it's not a great place for vacationers that expect it to be a destination in itself.
The Haiyatt isn't a western hotel and the staff often struggles to communicate with you in English, but they do try hard, and they do speak enough English for you to get the things you need. Highlights are as follows: comfortable room, bright open lobby, great health club with good equipment and breakfast buffet that offers something to please anyone.
Don't expect the following: anything upscale, staff that is fluent in English, business center, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#161 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Huana Hotel (Style)
Huana Hotel (Style)
#187 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
#505 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starr Hotel
#108 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Quanji Hotel Shanghai Tianlin
Quanji Hotel Shanghai Tianlin
#570 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Hongkou
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haiyatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haiyatt Hotel

Property: Haiyatt Hotel
Address: No.99 Qinjiang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200233, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Caohejing Development Zone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 4,566 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haiyatt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Haiyatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing