We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snazzy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel
Ranked #230 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Snazzy room”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel is a lovely little place which smells of oranges interestingly enough. The bathroom, sitting area and beds are plush and I had a really comfortable, nice stay there. Staff are generally very helpful though they did struggle with English. I had to speak Chinese most times to be understood.

My only gripe was that one day, they did some maintenance work to the water heater and the shower was awfully cold for a while. I had to call Housekeeping and the water eventually became warm like, 40 minutes later. Bah.

Room Tip: Get a high floor so you won't hear traffic
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    71
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
11
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I visit Shanghai on business regularly, but this was my first visit to this hotel - I stayed for one week. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, but let itself down very badly with its additional hidden chareges, and the service was very bad.

Internet access did not work reliably and was so slow as to be unusable, but cost 120 RMB per day.

Breakfast cost 200 RMB per day if you paid in the restaurant, but 100 RMB per day if you paid at reception - they did not make this clear to us and were not prepared to refund us. This is a con.

There was always a long wait at reception - sometimes as long as 15 minutes. This was probably a result of the long line of people arguing about the price of their breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjl296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I recently went to China for 17 days in August, 2010. This included a 13 day river cruise (that's another review) and a four (4) day extended stay at the Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel in Shanghai, China from August 29, 2010 to September 2, 2010. I can tell you that the bedroom was very spacious, in fact it was even larger than the bedroom I had at the Westin Bund Center (which was also rated as a 5 star hotel). The entrance of the hotel is beautiful. It is all marble and has many lovely jade pieces and decorated like an asian museum. It's decor is very understated elegance. The photos that they have on the website is very true to form. The staff was very friendly and seemed to want to help, the problem was that not too many of them actually spoke English. They have two restaurants but neither one had anyone that spoke English very well. At least in one restaurant, their menu had photos so I could just point to it, but when I tried to ask someone in the other restaurant, they could not help me. I spoke to someone in their guest relations department who spoke English and she told me if I had a problem, I just had to ask them to get a manager, but they didn't understand enough English to even call so I had to go to the front desk every time I needed an interpreter. They also had a pool and spa, but it is in the annex of the building and quite inconvenient to get to. The price they charge is unreasonable, for instance, they charge you about $35 U.S. for use of their whirlpool spa and the timer turns off every 30 seconds. Not only are whirlpool spas usually free in the U.S., their timer usually lasts for 15 minutes. They also have a very nice pool, however, when I went to use it, they had a gentleman (I'm not sure if he was a life guard since he was not in a bathing suit) standing there watching me the whole time, making me feel very uncomfortable. This hotel is supposed to be in their financial area, but if you hope to compete as a business hotel, attracting foreign business travelers, shouldn't you have more people trained in foreign languages? I have to say, this hotel is lovely and the rooms are spacious, and the beds are very comfortable, even if the carpeting is a little worn and it seems that they don't vacuum too much here. Oh yeah, by the way, in case they don't tell you, in all the hotels here, you have to put your room key card into a holder right inside your door to turn on the lights. Also the location is a little far from the Bund (about 20-30 minutes or so depending on traffic), the taxi ride is about 40-45RMB or $7-$8 U.S. so it isn't so bad considering the money I saved staying here as opposed to a hotel by the Bund ($107 U.S. per night).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Have been in this hotel for one week, on business.
Few words: Clean, huge rooms, polite staff, cost affordable.
Definitively would return there next time

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Rooms are very big and well put. Electric curtains that can be remote controlled. Very nice gym. Best breakfast I had in China. THe staff has very limited english but were helpfull. Only drawback is location. Far from Bund and most tourist spots, but as taxis are relatively cheap not a major problem. Would definitely stay there again. Watch out for mini bar prices and only take the free bottles of water as the little Evian bottle there will be the most expensive water you´ll ever drink.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enriquegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stepping in the hotel for the first time was a WOW experience. Antiques and the jade decors compliments the architecture and concept of the hotel. The room is HUGE and not your typical luxury crib. However, it was a struggle talking to their personnel (obviously with the language barrier). Though I requested for a non-smoking room, I was disappointed to enter an - obviously smoking room. The receptionist offered to put some deodorizer but to no avail. I was put in a different room, but still with the smell of smoke more tolerable than the first. The hotel is located quite far from everything else that entails shopping. Nothing good can be reached within a 30 min walk except for a pub and a casino (no thanks!). Won't mind going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlie_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#55 of 5,082 in Shanghai
942 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#186 of 5,082 in Shanghai
186 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Dijon Hotel Shanghai
Dijon Hotel Shanghai
#483 of 5,082 in Shanghai
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#87 of 5,082 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel

Property: Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel
Address: No.358 Hongxu Road, Minhang District, Shanghai 201103, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#192 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#224 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Fortune Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Fortune Boutique Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing