We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Getaway in Shanghai, Amazing view of the Bund”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #53 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway in Shanghai, Amazing view of the Bund”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I visited Shanghai during the Chinese New Year/Spring Festival week 4th to 7th Feb 2014. This was our first visit to Shanghai and were recommended by a friend to stay at the Hyatt on the Bund. All I can say is that I'd recommend the same to anyone.

Location & View: The Hotel is not your run-of-the-mill budget stays, but it's worth the price you pay. I'm sure there are views in other hotels on both sides of the Bund in Shanghai, but we loved what we got. The first day or so was clear skies and amazing sites right from the room. The location in itself was the major reasons for the stay here in Shanghai. To top it off their 'Vu' bar on the 32nd floor gave more panoramic views of the city skyline.

Staff & Service: They were prompt and pleasant in their interactions all through our stay. Every conversation or request was keenly attended, it gave us a feeling that the hotel is not occupied to capacity - this assumption was shot when we went to the buffet breakfast in the morning, the hotel was pretty well occupied. Good Job Staff!!!

Amenities: All the basics as expected, and the staff was attentive enough to lend us umbrellas in the oh-so-unpredictable Shanghai weather. Would've loved if they could have free basic-bicycles to lend as well, it would've been really convenient. Hyatt Team - I'm sure a relatively small investment will make the stay a little more pleasant for the guests. It was too cold for us to pack swimwear, hence were not prepared to check out their heated pool - maybe next time!

Food: We ended up exploring the food in Shanghai so all we had at the hotel was their Breakfast and it was delightful. Great range of options and attentiveness to the guests was as expected from the hotel of this stature

Final word: Loved the stay, will come by again.

Room Tip: Tip: get a room on the higher floor, even a view of the Pudong area is great. Also signup for the Hy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    568
    187
    52
    36
See reviews for
208
306
130
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went for spa treatment. Nice atmosphere, hot Jacuzzi in locker room, nice service. But massage was just ok and in general room jacuzzi was cold.
Anyway its a great place to gather together with girls and relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here 2 times so far and will back again.

View of the "Bund" from the rooms is Incredible. You would like to go out of the hotel and take a long walk along the river on the bund. Hotel staff is friendly and room service is prompt. Enjoyed excellent buffet breakfast and dinner in hotel, food quality and service was good.

It was a pleasant stay for someone who doesn't know local language at all. You can also find Subway, coffee shops easily as they are right on the bund.

Room Tip: Go for Bund View rooms on high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

In December 2013 I spent 4 days in the Hyatt on the Bund. Everything about the hotel was designed to make things easy and pleasant for the guests. The best of all was that the staff were all friendly and courteous and helpful.

The hotel is in a convenient location, a short walk from the Bund and near the main business area. Transportation is easy.

My room was beautiful and comfortable. My window looked out over the Bund and down the Whampoa River.

The breakfast buffet was a big selection of good food from several cuisines. The other meals were equally satisfactory.

I will stay at the Hyatt on the Bund every time I go to Shanghai. To repeat myself, the staff were friendly and courteous and made my stay a pleasure.

Mark Gaston

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Even if the hotel has been nicely renovated and the rooms are nice and having a fancy design, the hotel is in an "old" building. The views for mmy club room was really great. Service and club areas are perfectly made. Lobby and restauants are too big and unpersonal for my taste with so many people all over. Hotel in walking distance to the BUND

Room Tip: Taking a club rooms is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okavangopierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Location is walking distance to the Bund. If you like walking a bit more, you could walk beyond the Bund. Great views from your room (cannot open large windows) and excellent views from Vue bar.
Outstanding service - staff are always friendly, helpful and generous with advice. This hotel ranks tops for its customer service....

Room Tip: 2227 - room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayeshasitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Superb experience from the friendly staff, excellent facilities and beautiful building. The location is excellent as are the views from the windows. I recommend a river view room.

Staycation or vacation - enjoy the experience!

Room Tip: Riverview room has great views of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing