We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impecable hotel”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #53 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking for luxury at a very reasonable price, this i syour choice. Top class rooms, high tech design, fantastic restaurant and bar on the rooftop, everything you need to feel yourself like a celebrity. everyone speaks english so you won't feel left behind. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohmyaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel but a little far away from the markets and other restaurants. Lovely restaurants, lovely views, fantastic internet Hi- speed connections and great service enhanced our one week stay here.
Hotel check-in was fast. Staff is helpful.
Rooms are modern, clean and large and (except for a lil distance from the Bund)- I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at Hyatt On The Bund for a business trip and there was a massive typhoon. The hotel was great and had many amenities to keep us occupied during the storm.
Hotel staff were lovely and very helpful.
The views were great from each room but it was disappointing that Shanghai was so smoggy.
The beds were comfortable. Furniture in the rooms were of good quality and the bathroom was divine and luxurious.
I will stay again and will recommend to all.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank farrahmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were there early for the check in and the room was not ready. Nevertheless, we were invited to wait at the bund club which was a pleasant surprise. The check in was later done swift and smooth. The room we had was great - spacious, comfortable and came with an amazing night view. It (october) was the season for hairy crab and we had an amazing dinner buffet at Aroma. However, I would suggest to made an early table reservation. We made the reservation the night before and all seats were already fully booked, the earliest time we could go was 8.30pm. Nonetheless, aroma gave us a call earlier than the reservation time and we got seats an hour earlier and that was wonderful. We also requested the service at the concierge to purchase train tickets to ningbo which came at a fee of RMB 30 per pax (if I remember correctly), and we got the tickets within a couple of hours. Check out was hassle free. Perfect! The only drawback is the location of the hotel which does seem to be a little out of the way. Getting to shopping and eating areas require the services of the cabs. There are some restaurants nearby and you might like to try the one with its interior heavily decorated with trees, we find some of their dishes yummy eg fried rice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reddotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The only thing I like about this hotel is only the view. The room is just standard with Phillips DVD player and 30 pin iPod connector. The bathroom is standard. The location of the hotel is not very convenient if you rely on the Shanghai subway but if you take a cab the location is quite central and near to downtown. If you stay at this hotel, don't forget to visit their Bar, They have a stunning breathtaking view balcony + Jacuzzy on 32th Floor

Room Tip: Ask for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taufit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Upgraded to a club room, exceptional views, saw a lot of Shanghai sights from our window. Free happy hour with the club level. Has the best bar in the city with the same views, the local people fight to get in. Wonderful ambiance, very nice room except for the bathroom doesn't really afford privacy, weird architectural design. There are panels you can close to isolate the bathroom/lavatory/sink from the bedroom but it is too much work. The spa was wonderful though the prices are American. The hotel provided us with an excellent guide and driver for a day trip to one of the water villages, but again, it is more expensive than if you do your homework beforehand, though still well worth it. All in all, the only really negative thing I have to say about this hotel is that there was no porter when we checked in, even though it was late - close to midnight, I believe that part of having a 5 star rating includes having someone to transport your luggage 24/7.

Room Tip: High floor with view of bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rada i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent a weekend here with my wife. Staff were all friendly and helpful from check-in through to check-out. Booked a river-view room which was high on level 24 with great views of the river and the Pudong side of the river (Pearl Tower, SWFC etc). Room was large and spacious with quite a cool, unique layout.
Hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the main section of the Bund and about a 15 minute walk to the end of Nanjing Road.
Cabs are quite cheap and there is a steady stream to the hotel, so getting around to the sites is relatively easy. Drivers don't speak any English, so make sure you get the staff to give them directions before you leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burner84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,414 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#157 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $159 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing