We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Shanghai”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #52 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for two weeks, had a great time here The people are lovely the rooms are Top class always clean and organized.
The hotel Bar is one of a kind (VUE BAR) with best view of all shanghai.
Bottom line i highly recommend everybody to stay here you wont be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from Shanghai and stayed for 3 nights at Hyatt on the Bund. I actually did not know about this particular Hyatt as I guess the Grand Hyatt and Park Hyatt on the other side of the river gets all the attention. The hotel was not even well known among taxi drivers and I have to offer directions to them. Closest landmark is the Waibaidu Bridge and Russian Consulate General. There are 2-3 hotels nearby but it is in a quiet corner on the northern part of the Bund. I agree with the reviewers on the positives: Great view of the river, quiet, big and modern rooms, very good service, Chinese restaurant is one of the best in town. Negative is probably a bit out of the way location so difficult to get taxi's during rush hour. Not much dining or shopping options closeby though the centre of the Bund is just 15 mins walk away and the options increase exponentially. Great value for money for sure especially since my room rate had WiFi Internet and breakfast. One very notable thing about the hotel internet: This is the only hotel Internet I know that allows access to all the "banned" sites in China: Youtube, Facebook, Twitter, Wikipedia and even the Free Tibet site. Don't know how long this will last before the authorities clamp down on this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penangboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Shanghai and on our last night we treated our selves to a night in the Hyatt on the Bund, From the moment we walked in and had private check in to the extended check out time we could not fault the service. All the staff were so professional yet friendly. We had amazing views over Pudong and the the Bund it was hard to leave the room.
We used the pool facilities and massage service - all amazing !!
The Vew bar on the top is awesome and as we are Aussies - we sat in the spa on the roof top at night to watch the city lights.
Over all the stay was faultless

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the two hotels I stayed at during my trip to Shanghai. This hotel has an amazing view of the bund and I very much enjoyed the hotel room, it was very nice and spacious. The staff was very kind and helpful and check in & check out went smoothly. I also enjoyed the 24/7 gym with lots of equipment for use.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My previous Hyatt experience in Shanghai was the Grand Hyatt on the Pudong side. While the Hyatt on the Bund isn't as glamorous as its sister property across the river, its location is much more convenient if you have business on the city side. Some of the rooms have fabulous views of the river. I stayed in a Club Room; the Club lounge is a bit cramped, but the quality of the breakfast and the evening snacks was exceptional. The hotel has a terrific 25-metre indoor pool (I had it all to myself both times that I used it) and a very trendy bar on the 32nd floor with amazing views. I would certainly come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Anything with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located on the west side of the Huangpu River opposite the Pudong area, this hotel offers a bit more quiet and relaxed atmosphere than its sister hotel, the Grand Hyatt, located in thwe hectic bustle of Pudong. This hotel location near the Bund provides a central location to begin an easy walking tour of the abundant number of attractions located within a two mile radius. If you don't feel like hoofing it, hail a taxi for a very inexpensive ride within the area.
The rooms are comfortable, with modernistic features, such as movable wall panels to section off parts of the room or open it up for a more spacious feel. I had a great view of the river. At night the river comes alive with boat traffic with most boats illuminated with bright multi-colored neon lights providing a free show. The restaurants in the hotel are quite exceptional. The Aroma restaurant offers one of the best multi-cultural buffets I have ever enjoyed. The Vue bar and restaurant on the 30th floor is the place to go, no surprise, for the view.

Room Tip: Ask for the river-side above 20th floor for a good view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is my favorite new hotel in Shanghai. In the past, I've stayed at Puli, Portman (Ritz), Park Hyatt (Pudong) and the Four Seasons. All are nice, in different ways, but Hyatt on the Bund is the best for the combination of food, service, and location. I got a Bund Club room, which includes private check in and free food/drinks throughout the day. The staff at the hotel were excellent, and the Chinese restaurant in the lobby serves some of the best food in Shanghai. I'll make the Hyatt on the Bund my hotel of choice in Shanghai going forward - Justin Browne

Room Tip: Bund Club package
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#35 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,449 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,788 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $160 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing