We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay, best rate my company had on Puxi side”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #52 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over f1 weekend so appreciated the discounted corporate rate. Had a room with great view of the bund and two twin beds. Rooms were a bit on the small side but I was rooming with my college room mate so it was a bit of happy deja vu. We didn't eat here but ordered midnight munchies which were good but not excellent. The spa facilities and massages were very good. Not much to complain about except that despite booking for four nights their staff called after the third night to ask when we would check out of the room.... Issue solved after a few calls but not what a top hotel would do. We checked out Vue bar and enjoyed the view but definitely enjoyed better night life elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

An overnight business stay gave enough experience of the hotel to confirm other reviews I have read. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with views of the river across to the new Shanghai. Definitely worth staying here for the view from the outside decking area upstairs at the Vue Bar on the 32nd floor of the west tower. Spectacular - and needs to be seen both in daylight hours and at nighttime.
Rooms do need a greater selection of hot drinks for guests who have to do some work - as I did. Two English breakfast and two earl grey teabags didn't cut it, especially when I don't like earl grey!
Check-in was quick and efficient.
Aroma Cafe/restaurant on the second floor was average. Service was good: quick and attentive, but the food was frankly a little disappointing. Nothing wrong with it as such. I was just expecting something a little more inspired from a hotel of the calibre of the Hyatt.
All in all the staff were top notch, but there was just something missing.
I will try one of the other hotels on my next visit to Shanghai for comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEMinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were with another couple at Vue last weekend. We got an amazing table enabling us to look over both sides of the Bund. The interior is designed in home style, but no like IKEA, very warm colors, comfi but contemporary. I got a a huge Grand Pa wing chair, just chimney and pipe was missing...

We ordered oysters, goose liver and Ceasar Salad. Mains were Chateaubriand, Codfish and some other tenderloins. The wrap us was then chocolate mousse in dried ice. All very good in taste and presented wonderfully. Service as you expect: attentive but not standing right behind you and listening to your conversation.

We took after dinner drinks in the open air bar. Shot some nice pics over the Bund.
Overall a beautiful evening. Everything was just right. We will definitively repeat it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ExpatinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on A business trip in march. Upgraded to club lounge rooms to get Internet access and use of the mtg rooms. Staff excellent and the hotel is within strolls of the bund. The vue bar is by far the best bit of this hotel! Def worth a nightly visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay in the Grand Hyatt in Pudong and always felt that I was missing something in Shanghai. After staying in the Hyatt on the Bund I saw what a fabulous city Shanghai really is. It's easy to walk to the Bund and soak in the heritage of the old whilst gazing at the new. The hotel has amazing views of both sides of the river, the rooms are ultra modern and the service was superb. I will not be staying anywhere else now when I go to Shanghai, which will be a lot more than I used to... Very impressed...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullerGriffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a well located hotel with friendly, but slow service. The main restaurant, Aroma, is mediocre at best. It has a large variety of food, but most is just so so. The Vue Restaurant is excellent. The bar at the top of the hotel has a magnificient view of Shanghai.the managers act quickly on any complaints and make an effort to see that mistakes are not repeated. The gym is good but has outdated treadmills.The spa is good.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Centrally located, beautiful views. Great for business and tourists. Get a view on the Bund. Well worth it. Club floors have a great club room with really good breakfast. Nice place to meet clients if needed. Great Peking duck restaurant in the hotel. Very comfortable rooms with nice spacious bathrooms. Returning again for my third visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,482 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#10 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,164 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $152 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing