We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Service & the views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #48 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Loved the Service & the views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is my second time @ Hyatt at the Bund. I have to say that the service really impressed me this time and that is why I am writing this review. The Chinese food at the Xindalu restaurant is one of the best in the city. Locals say this is the best Beijing Duck in town!
The views from the rooms, the venues and from the Vue bar are simply the best in the City. Truly romantic and exciting. The hotel is located at the starting point of the Romantic Bund, so the views of the old Bund and of modern Pudong are as spectacular as contrasting. Really good professional service and great recommendations from its Concierge and from front desk and door staff. Front desk staff spoke French, English and Spanish (That I noticed). Door staff are eager to help you by making sure that the Taxi knows exactly where you are going. The hotel feel is modern yet very warm. I can't wait to go back to Shanghai and get pampered at the Hyatt on the Bund's SPA.

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms as to get an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    548
    179
    47
    36
See reviews for
197
297
127
798
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The customer service in the hotel is outstanding in terms of Room, Restaurent or Lounge Services. Rooms have one full glass wall where you can view the river, bund and the pearl tower from ti. What an amazing view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived to Shanghai really tired and beaten, but the first moment we entered the lobby my husband and I were awed by the beauty of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. The young employees speak every language so we were received in Spanish!!!
The view of our bedroom was spectacular, we could see the Bund, the river and Pudong. The decoration was lovely.
We had a lovely dinner and afterwards went to the 32 th floor to the VUE Bar Terrace. Amazing view, great music and a great jacuzzi in the middle of the terrace. You just have to go there whenever you visit Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher levels to get a nice view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annafiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

After spending numerous nights in Vue Bar overlooking the Bund and from recommendations of friends staying at Hyatt I started accommodating all visiting A-list DJs at Hyatt on the Bund. All of whom gave great feedback - the rooms, the views, the service and closeness to it all. I'm really happy to be able to have international artists being treated so well here, much better than on many of their other stops on their Asia tours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stay there during Lunar new years, and was awsome place for people like me who had been to the Shanghai only a couple of times. I was told that the staff might not be too friendly if you cannot speak Chinese, but was all lies. You should feel free to ask where to go and have a good dinner to staffs in there, they will bring more than a pleasure to your stays in the Shaghai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjamesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed bund view from my room, and it's said they have other kind of rooms which face to estuary, definitely I shall try for my next stay. I also appreciate the event's team of Hyatt on the Bund, very knowledgeable sales and a excellent service team who has pleased my customers and did me a big favor. I would certainly like to recommend hotel to my friends and partners, a good place for leisure and business

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice hotel, nice lobby, nice ballroom. Good for wedding.

It's quite nice to have the suite room for wedding couple. Decent view of the bund and lujiazui. The bed is right face to the window. Bund view is in both living room and bed room. I have never ever seen such nice view room

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaPFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#22 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing