We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it from an expat: Best Shanghai View with Professional and Personable Staff”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #55 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take it from an expat: Best Shanghai View with Professional and Personable Staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lived in Shanghai for years and Hyatt on the Bund's views and well appointed rooms can't be matched. The staff are professional yet friendly. The staff on the executive floor go the extra mile, treating you like an old friend. They helped my mother buy some hard to find gifts; they went above and beyond their duties to do so. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haishibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    568
    187
    52
    37
See reviews for
208
306
130
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having heard good things about Hyatt at the Bund my friend and I decided to give it a try. We stayed for a total of 3 days and all i can say is that it is the BEST hotel i've ever stayed at. PERFECT view, superb location, super friendly and helpful staff, great fitness centre, and a top class bar - Vue Bar. Simply cannot ask for more. When we arrived, we were greeted by super helpful and friendly staff members who guided us places to go, restaurants to visit, bars to hit, etc. In particular, manager Neil has been tremendously helpful during our stay. Having heard great things about the restaurant "Xindalu" inside the hotel, we've decided to give it a try. Again, the super helpful hotel manager helped us to book and we've tried the highly recommended peking duck, all i can say is that it's the best peking duck i've ever had and would highly recommend others to give it a try (other dishes are great too! definitely should try the deserts!). Overall, all i can say is that Hyatt at the Bund is the best hotel in Shanghai, and the best hotel i've personally been to. As a first timer to shanghai, i will definitely come back as this trip has been perfect, partly due to the great accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

the views were spectacular. the service impeccable and the staff very helpful. ate at the vue which was very very good and had the best peking duck in the chinese resturant on the first floor that we found in china.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The best view in Shanghai! View Bar is a must even if you are not staying at the hotel, nothing compares to it in Shanghai. The staff and service is pristine... Restaurants all top notch. Recommend it for business and leisure alike!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natacha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I came with tremendously high expectations knowing that this is the hotel of choice for many international celebrities, politicians and famous businessmen. I am happy to say that Hyatt on the Bund was above and beyond what I expected. What I find most telling of a truly laudable hotel is not in its grand appearance and physical upkeep, but in its service and attention paid to every customer. I had the pleasure to be acquainted with Neil Li in charge of guest services who was most friendly and thoughtful. Despite a rocky start of my room not being available due to my early check-in (which was essentially my fault), Neil and his team were quick to arrange an attendant to care for my visit to the spa and guard my belongings as I had to get ready for a meeting. When I returned from my meeting, i was delighted to know that i had been upgraded and was greeted by a lovely personal note and a fruit basket. Having had some leisure time for the rest of the day, I saw Neil again and he gave me the most useful pointers on where to shop, dine and where the current "it" hangouts were. Based on his recommendation I also tried the hotel's Chinese restaurant Xindalu ( a corner room was arranged where I was able to dine with my partner in private), which is now one of my favourite Chinese restaurants in Shanghai. When my partner and I arrived the restaurant, we were informed that a few signature dishes that normally requires a day in advance to book were arranged in advance for my table should I wish to order them. During my stay, every eatery I tried at Hyatt on the Bund is truly exceptional in its respective categories. I highly recommend to have a drink at the Vue bar where there is an outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the most incredible view (This is my favourite skyline view in SHG). My room was very well laid out with utilities conveniently placed and a killer view. I suggest to try out most of its facilities, as every experience is a pleasant and well throught-out one. Thank you Hyatt on the Bund team for giving me such an exceptional experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveletteHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, great views from the room. The room was large and clean.

The service was not as good as a park or grand hyatt. I had a long wait to check out. I ordered a coffee from the hotels coffee shop, it took so long for someone to make it (30mins) I was late for a meeting.

Other than the slightly poor service, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Great Hotel which I use regularly. Best thing about it is the location - just a short walk to the Bund which is a great place to stretch your legs after a long flight. The Bund Club is awesome for breakfast. Rooms all have a great view of Pu Dong which is simply spectacular - especially at night. The worst thing about it is the fact that the lobby opens out onto a shabby street - don't be put off by it though - hotel is great inside.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing