We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time lucky and 'might' stay again (read on...)!”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #55 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Second time lucky and 'might' stay again (read on...)!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here once sometime ago and wasn't blown away, so had not returned since. As my GP Diamond status is fast disappearing (gave HHonors a go this year due to some bad stays in the past year... Oh well!), I thought I would give HOTB another try using my Suite Upgrade voucher.

What a farewell stay!

The suite, with its 180-degree floor-to-ceiling curved windows, afforded me the best views of Shanghai, both old (The Bund) and new (Pudong). The bathroom in particular, was something to behold...

Bund Club was as nice as ever with a good selection of food and beverage, and never crowded and retained an exclusive feel to it.

The level of service has also improved and I was particularly impressed by Jessie (Bund Club manager), Tom (supremely helpful) and the receptionist from Switzerland.

Also worth mentioning is the hotel's Chinese restaurant 新大陆. Scrumptious food!

Sadly, remembering that perks weren't really great as a Platinum member (which I will soon become...), I fear it will be a while before I return to this Hyatt, or any of them for that matter.

So long, Hyatt, so long!

Room Tip: Bund view room/suite, obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmondUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    582
    199
    56
    41
See reviews for
225
320
133
882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I just have been spending 3 days in this fanstastic hotel litteraly on the bund. I travel for buisness to Shanghai regularly and I could say this is one of the best hotel you can find on the place and in China. Quality of the rooms is great, food is perfect (try the duck in XIndalu restaurant) but I think what really makes a difference is the staff quality, simply brilliant. They know how to make you feel special and offer you all their time and attention for any of your needs. A very special word for Neil which speaks every language on earth perfectly and is just great, I have seen many hotels and I wish that every one of them could have a Neil as host. wI would a another star to this place thanks to him.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The view of the Bund, Pudong, and river were fabulous, and the service was even more phenomenal. All it took was 1 call for either a housekeeper to freshen up the room, the restaurant downstairs to reserve your Peking duck, the concierge to organize transportation, or the front desk to organize some travel ideas. The club lounge is the best I've been in in all of China (even compared to other Hyatt ones). I was on a recent biz trip and was also at Portman Ritz-Carlton, and I say hands-down that Hyatt on the Bund was much better in all ways. In less than 5 min, I was on the Bund by foot. I profusely thanked the staff and Mr. Neil Li for orchestrating such wonderful service and a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Reserve a Peking duck on one of the nights you are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefjohnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

With so many 5 star hotels popping up all over shanghai, it is hard to decide which hotel to choose. My personal favourite remains to be the Hyatt on the Bund.

Hardware:

Its unique location means that you are able to take advantage of the most spectacular view Shanghai has to offer. If you don't believe me, go visit VUE bar at night and you shall see. Another advantage of its location is that you do not have to go all the way to Pudong to have a view of the Bund. In fact the view from Hyatt on the Bund is ever better because you see both Pudong and Puxi. (Pudong is East of the Yangpu river, most things happen in Puxi, Pudong is harder to get a cab and you will almost certainly be crossing over tunnels through peak hour traffic if you live in Pudong)

As you would expect, the hotel has all the facilities you can think of in a five star hotel, and given its age, all the facilities are in new condition.

Breakfast at Aroma offers a wide variety of selection. The “Jian Bing Guo Zi” and “Shen Jian Bao” brings my taste buds back to my childhood without worrying about getting food poisoned from street food.

If you party too hard and always miss breakfast, go to Xin Da Lu (a must go!) and sample the Crab Roe Xiao Long Bao, Peking Duck, Pan Fried Dumplings and the Claypot Cod Fish!

Service:

It is the attention to the finer details that makes a tremendous difference when choosing a five star hotel. This is where I think Hyatt on the Bund makes the biggest difference. Despite the fact that many five star hotels in Shanghai has invested heavily into hotel facilities and rooms, many hotels fail when it comes to professional service. This is a prevailing failure for most 5 star hotels in China.

Hyatt on the Bund however is exceptional. It really makes you feel like you have found a home in Shanghai. From the bell boy who would greet you with a smile (natural), hail you a cab, open the door for you and instruct the taxi driver where you would be going, to the Bund Club staff who would stand up and greet you by your name when you enter, to the housekeeping staff who ensures that everything is tidy and the mess you left behind in the bathroom is now neatly placed over a towel next to the sink, you really notice that the management has worked hard to ensure all the finer details are performed to perfection.

If you ever run into any problems or had any questions about this city, you would be lucky if you run into a hotel manager by the name of Neil Li. He is the best and warmest advisor with regard to all things to do with Shanghai, speaks multiple languages and makes everything happen so seamlessly. He is a true asset to the hotel. One time I wanted to get some advice on where to go for brunch. Neil suggested a place to go on the Bund. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the manager of the restaurant and as it turns out, Neil has taken the liberty to call the restaurant, secure a table for us. Neil even managed to have the manager of the restaurant arrange 2 complementary glasses of champagne for us. I totally did not expect this level of service from a hotel and this has cemented my impression on Hyatt on the Bund.

It would be hard to separate and differentiate the most preferred hotel if it wasn't for these small little details that makes such a big difference. And this is why I stay at the Hyatt on the Bund whenever I am in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Choose a Bund View Room ending with the digit 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

You arrive late at night and your room smell nice, dim lights and you face the both stunning sides of the bund ,
When you wake up in the morning and you get your favourite breakfast with great cheese and ham and other tons of choices,
You call the business center and you get your file printed in less than 10 min time delivered to your room ..
You have to check out and Mr Neil impeccable and friendly as usual sorts everything out in 3 minutes and suggests you to still enjoy the complimentary cocktail time at bund club that has just started.
Everytime I am back to this hotel I feel like home. And this is what I just love here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excellent service in all department, inmaculate facilities my stayed in Shangay was Just perfect, special thanks to neil, there is is a wonderful bar at the 30 floor, with A breacetaker vieu and a very friendly atmosphere, i do highly recomendaded This charming hotel, in the Heart OF Shangay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel, but the lobby is like an exhibition hall, and has no soul. Also, it is right at the end of the Bund (unknown to a few taxi drivers...).

The room was great and a good size. Good facilities overall - nice gym/pool, wi-fi, and a fabulous view from the Vue bar.

Worth a stay if good rates are on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryPlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#28 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,352 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#164 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing