We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel with good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt on the Bund to your Saves list
Hyatt on the Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Hongkou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #47 of 4,318 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 4 and got 2 rooms interconnected. They were in the east tower with a great view of the bund.
What i liked the most about this hotel is that the staff at reception and concierge spoke very good English and they were always willing to help. The tours organised by the hotel are private and good,although expensive.
The spa was nice, especially the swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabriconga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    474
    152
    35
    29
See reviews for
163
250
111
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The standard rooms are larger than usual for 'standard rooms' and the same can be said about the bathroom. Nice big desk if you want to work and several comfortable chairs. The huge swimming pool and spa in the basement of the hotel was such much a relief after a long and warm day, and we went there most of the days during our stay.

Also the breakfast is worth a mention. As always breakfast at a hotel is way too expensive and this is also the case for Hyatt on the Bund. But I was very impressed by the size of the buffet and the quality. There was up to 10 cooks at different stations preparing your food fresh when you ordered it and the selection of food was mindblowing for a breakfast. No matter what country you are from, you will find something you will like at this buffet!

The bar at the roof also has a small pool, but it was too crowded in the evening for my taste. Expensive bar, but had one of the best views over shanghai. You can both sit inside or outside.

I managed to get a special deal since I stayed for 8 days, so it is is possible to haggle a better price over email. If I had not succeeded, the standard price would have been too high, and I would have found another hotel with similar quality for a better price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I an writing this review almost two months after the stay. I think back to this stay often. The location, restaurants, room, service, were all excellent. I miss it. This location is a preferred hotel to our corporation and we enjoy complimentary breakfast buffethat a huge one it is too. But a word of advice, enjoy it while fresh. I once went to dinner late near closing and was disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QCWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great Hyatt service as ever. everything worked. Possibly the most comfortable dressing gowns I have ever worn. I will be buying one next trip (I had no room to get one this time). Not the first time I have stayed here, but just as good as ever. Just a step away from the river side, great to watch the river traffic in the early morning plying its trade up and down before heading out to the city.

Tremendous value and a better stay than its excellent, but somewhat other worldy Bladerunner cousin the Grand Hyatt across the river.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room at the end of the corridor to the left side of the hotel as it faces out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved this beautiful hotel. My executive room was incredible with views of Pudong and the Bund. The staff and services were exemplary and the overall vibe of the hotel was wonderful. Loved the location, slightly off the Bund so there were no crowds, yet close enough to easily walk to it. Had an issue with my reservation being "lost" when I checked in, the front desk manager did everything to make sure I was given a great room and apologized profusely for the error. (I had a written confirmation). Also, the ATM in the hotel ate my debit card and it was speedily recovered by hotel. Helpful concierge who assisted with my reservations for dinners and cars. The executive lounge offered drinks and hors d'oeuvres which doubled as dinner one night. Excellent quality food for breakfast and cocktail hour. I cannot say enough about this fabulous hotel, can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get an executive floor room with a view, totally worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloberunnerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is very well located across the pearl tower. The view froom the room is great especially at night. you can relax at your bed with the night skyline of Bund lights.
The breakfast is great with vast variety of selections, Usually, finding good selection of western type of breakfast is a challnge but not for this hotel.
The room is very roomy, you can view the bund or pearl tower while sitting at the toilet :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We Stayed here in april 2012 and found the Hyatt very good,it was clean and modern, our room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable, great block out blinds and very quiet. The Hyatt has a roof top bar which is worth a look at night. The staff spoke english which in china is a must/blessing. The buffet breakfast was the best we have had anywhere, simply awesome, the choice was varied and everything was delicious, well maybe except for the pickled seaweed lol. The staff couldnt help you enough. The we had a dinner banquet in the resturant on the ground floor and this was also superb, the chefs at this hotel are world class. we had a flawless stay and highly recommend.
The bad.. location, its a fair way away for any sightseeing on foot and there isnt much access to outside foods nearby, not a family hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DobsnDougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#14 of 4,318 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,981 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,318 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#155 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing