We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as always”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #55 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“As good as always”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I visit Shanghai regularly and this is my "go to" hotel - always good, always consistant. From airport arrival to airport drop off its a seamless, high service experience. Great location a few hundred yards from the Bund.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the Pu Dong skyline - not a bad room in the place - high floors clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    568
    187
    52
    37
See reviews for
208
306
130
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We came upon this place somewhat my accident. I had contacted Tucho at Chai Living and he said that his residences were only for long term stay, but he recommended this hotel where their previous Guest Relations Manager (Neil Li) now works as an Assistant Manager. When I contacted Mr. Li, he said that I should just reserve a room on the website and he would make sure it was nice.

What an understatement! It was a club room, which means you have access to snacks and drinks all the time on the club floor, (and includes breakfast and hors d'oevres). Our room had an amazing view of the river. We had just been traveling for something like 18 hours, and we took advantage of the spectacular room, sauna, and fitness center. We were absolutely rejuvenated: I fell like this place is the cure for jet lag. The staff is uniformly excellent; when I asked about getting SIM cards, they said they would take care of everything from a local store and deliver it to me.

The location is great within easy walking distance of the Bund. On another stay in Shaghai I stayed at the Pullman, which was certainly luxurious, but just can't compare (especially if you're interested in relaxing or exercising within the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Love this hotel. One of the best hotel experiences full stop.

Rooms are huge with fab views, staff fluent in English and extremely helpful. Swimming pool is enormous and a great break from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. The bar is one of the best in Shanghai.

And the piece de resistance - Sunday brunch at Vue restaurant on the 30th floor. The best lunch I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Divine cooked to order buffet... Lobster, champagne truffle risotto, oysters, Australian beef steak, souffle station, chocolate, and more.... Without forgetting the free French pour of Perrier Jouet for the entire brunch. Totally affordable decadence.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sainso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed 6 nights in Shanghai for business. The facilities of the hotel are perfect. The shower above all is the best i had in my life, excellent pressure, hot water.
My room was on the 27th floor, with a view to all Huangpu river, and you could also see TV Tower and other buildings that at night are all colored.
The breakfast is atomic, for westerns and asians.

And the best of all, the staff is really very nice people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nborzutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Excellent room on 24th floor with amazing view of the river and the building each side.

Was disappointed to discover when we checked out that there was a 15% service charge on the room (always read the very small print!) and that breakfast was not included.

Swimming pool very good. Staff helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Firstly, dont be put off by the fact that the Hyatt on the Bund isnt actually on the Bund as its just round the corner from the top end of the Bund. The Bund area wasnt particularly crowded when we were there in April and was great for a walk both day and night. I'd definitely recommend this side of the river as while there are very nice (and much more expensive) hotels in the Pudong area, its very sterile and feels more like a business district compared to the much livelier Bund side.
The hotel has a nice rooftop bar, and you get straight in as a hotel guest but its quite expensive so we only stayed for a couple of drinks. River view rooms are great for watching the boats and the rooms are very spacious with everything you'd expect from a top class business hotel.
The only downside about the location is its about a 20 minute walk to the nearest metro station. Taxis are very cheap and there are lots of them but make sure you have your destination written in Chinese and expect several near miss traffic accidents everytime you take one. If you cant face the thought of the thirty minute cab ride back to the airport with no seatbelts and the driver constantly drifting between lanes then go the MagLev station and get the 430km/hr train to the airport. Its quick and easy and despite the speed still feels alot safer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The location of this hotel was perfectly placed just off the bund. It was an easy cab ride almost everywhere I went and the hotel doormen were very helpful with communicating to the taxi drivers where we were going. Unfortunately they were out of king rooms when I arrived but I was put in a twin room on a much higher floor with a great view. One of my favorite aspects of the room was the array of converters already hidden in wooden panels at the desk and in the bathroom. One of my least favorite things was that the tower I was in had a view of the other tower and it would certainly serve the hotel to warn guests the windows are not one-way. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and certainly worth visiting as was the Vue bar on the top floor, though it was very smokey but so are most places in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing