We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Western Hotel in the Zhabei District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning
Ranked #68 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
203 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Western Hotel in the Zhabei District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

First, we fully admit that this review is from a biased, coffee-addicted Westerner's point of view.

This 4 Points Sheraton is a good option for Westerners staying in the Zhabei (Northern Industrial) district in Shanghai. First, the very good: the hotel gym is very well-equipped and maintained, with several cardio machines, free weights and Cybex weights, a great view and nice swimming pool. Also very good is the morning breakfast buffet, with foods from around the world. The good: the rooms are average size but clean, with flat screen tvs that have some access to western stations, internet accress (100 RMB per day), decent water pressure and amenities such as razor, toothbrush, nail files, umbrella, robes, etc. The area surrounding the hotel has Westernized stores, restaurants and a shopping mart (RT Mart) and neighborhoods behind the hotel include more localized stores and restaurants (plus a hospital) so you have your pick of places to eat and shop.

The drawbacks: airconditioning is inconsistent. During our first trip to this hotel, the a/c would not work; during this trip it worked fine. Coffee addicts need to bring their own supplies: the only option in the hotel room are terrible instant coffee packs and a hot plate. There are Starbucks nearby, but they do not open until 7:30am and charge around $4 for a small cup of coffee. The hotel would benefit from having a free coffee stand in the lobby. Also, the English skills of the front desk staff seem to vary by shift. We found it more difficult to communicate with the night-shift crew than the morning staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    228
    58
    12
    3
See reviews for
27
30
35
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Had a great time at Four Points during one of my conferences.
It amazes me to see the Brand similiarity between Four Points in India and China. Indeed a great eye for detailing and creating uniformity in the deliverable of BRAND language.
The staff was very friendly and for a change well versed in English which I reaise was critical for us to continue staying in China.
Thanks guys

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stared at this hotel 2 nights and enjoyed very much.
Modern hotel is located in a commercial center very well.
Very clean rooms with new furniture and modern.
Very good service.
Serve breakfast Chinese food and regular food.
The hotel staff try to give excellent service.
This hotel who want to return in the evening to sleep.
I can say that this excellent hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamirbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

This hotel lies in the Daning district in Shanghai. Walking distance to Metro, but not to Shanghai City. The rooms are clean, have a good size. They are quiet and the service especially at the reception desk is also good. They offer own limousine service which works very well. Good rating also for the breakfast: comprehensive, western and asian style.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEJ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I didn't enjoy my stay because I wasn't able to sleep due to poor air conditioner in my room. I tired to adjust the temperature to 20c but the temperature keeps at 26.5c for the entire night. I was really uncomfortable to sleep in a warm room. My bed also has some cigarette marks on the bedding sheet. The carpet also seems to worn and the room don't seem to have a fresh smell.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarwoodBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed at the Four Points on a tour of China with Sinorama Tours. Only thing I noticed that was out of sorts was some stains on the carpet in the hallway near our room. Unfortunately I don't know what the room rate as it was included in a package deal. If the room is reasonable then the hotel would be a good place to stay. Breakfast in the cafe was good and WIFI is available in the restaurant and lobby. Bed was a little hard but not uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Good business hotel. Rooms are very simple. However the position is far from the city center. Good breakfast but limited restaurant service in the hotel. However there are other restaurants across the street.
Close to shopping facilities and close to the Metro line connecting to the center of the city

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Pudong
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
#74 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#39 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning
Address: No.1928 Gonghexin Road, Jingan District, Shanghai 200072, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Life Hub DANING
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#67 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai Daning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Shanghai Daning Hotel Shanghai
4 Points By Sheraton Shanghai Daning
Four Points Shanghai Daning
Shanghai Sheraton
Shanghai Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing