We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinguang Express Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street Fujian Middle Road
Ranked #1,492 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We had the mistake of booking a room in this hotel online without checking its reviews.

Upon our arrival, this hotel is hard to find, especially with its obscure entrance. It is on a minor street amidst a neighborhood of hardware shops. The facade is particularly ugly and looked rundown. The taxi cannot get us off in front of the hotel because of parked vehicles. We had to get off at some distance. The sidewalks are littered with hardware materials and dog droppings and dirty puddles. We had to gingerly lift out suitcases to avoid the filth. This is an exceptionally bad part of an otherwise clean city.

At the front desk, there is only one girl who had the slighted ability to speak English. The rest had zero English.

The inside of the hotel is a dump. but that did not prepare us for our room.

The second floor hallway was narrow, dim, and dirty. The cheap vinyl tiles are already damaged. with piles of dirty linen at the far end.

Our room was an absolute dump. It was small. Peeling paint. Thin beddings. Badly lighted - some of the lights do not work. The air-con had exposed ducts, and its remote control is difficult to use. The TV is an old vacuum tube with VERY BAD reception, like a 60s TV set! The floor is cheap vinyl and heavily damaged.

Every noise from the street and the adjacent rooms can be heard in our room. The walls are made of thin plywood.

The WORST PART is the toilet. There is sewer odor emanating from the floor drains. All the fixtures are rusting away. I could not put my soap on the soapdish for fear of catching tetanus! The faucets and flush button are very dirty. The floor drains do not seem to have a p-trap, as we could hear the flowing sewage from the next room. There are tiny flies flying around in the shower enclosure. The bowl does not flush well. There is exposed piping under the sink that is obviously a bad repair work.

There was not enough toilet paper in the toilet. in the middle of the night I had to go down to the reception to ask for a toilet paper. There was nobody at the front gate. there was only a night watchman, with whom I had to desperately do a charade of a toilet paper to get 1 roll, and run back to our room.

The management are very dishonest by claiming in the websites that this is a business hotel, when in fact it is one of the worst hotels you could find.

Even at $69.00/night in the EXPO season, the price is still a ripoff. We tried to look for another hotel, but they were all full.

It was a very bad experience for us.

Please consider this a warning to other travelers to stay away from this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

Even before I stepped into this hotel I was creeped out. The location looks nice on a map, but the surrounding neighborhood is run down and full of aggressive street vendors. The lobby is extremely cramped, hot, and has a terrible odor. The staff at the front desk spoke about three words of English and were not able to help me whatsoever.

I arrived after booking my room via a very reputable online travel agency but was told upon my arrival that my credit card was no good. However, a charge from the Chenglong Business Hotel was already on my credit card statement and my first night had already been paid. At this point the "manager" came out and asked me to pay 700 RMB ($115 USD) in CASH and we would work the dispute out in the morning. At this point I collected my bags and went out to the airport to stay for the night.

All-in-all this is a shady operation and not a place I would recommend to my worst enemy. Do your research and find a better place. I found a gorgeous little hotel in the North Bund area for a slightly higher rate, but it was worth every penny. I am writing this review as a warning; please heed my advice!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dunning630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Very good value accommodation for the budget conscious traveler, I paid just under $Aust.60 per night, which was great value considering the price hikes and general lack of available accommodation in Shanghai during the World Expo.

Motel is in an excellent location, just a couple of streets off Nanjing Road, 10 minute walk to the Bund and close to the underground Metro. No other motels near it , it is surrounded by small hardware stores and is bright orange so it is hard to miss!

Rooms are small but very clean with a comfortable bed, it is fairly quiet considering its downtown location, I had a very large bathroom, counted 107 TV stations but only one English speaking channel.

Cons: would not accept my Australian Master card. Pros: one computer with free internet in the lobby, perfect spot to shop for that hard to get nut and bolt set you have always been after!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The description of the hotel as a business one is somewhat misleading. The hotel is very shabby looking and in definite need of a refurbishment. Things got off to a bad start . The lift doors opened to reveal 2 cleaners carrying bags of rubbish, which had leaked all over the lift floor. Then the keycard didn't work. I had booked a "deluxe double". The room turned out to be a very scruffy looking twin. I complained and we were moved to a double room but there was nothing deluxe about it. Cracked walls and a musty smell. Also situated on a noisy side street. We couldn't get the internet to work and the staff admitted the cable in the room didn't work and sent up a handyman to enable us to use the wireless network instead. Luckily we only stayed here one night. I wouldn't have stayed any longer. Staff were grumpy and spoke little English. Although close to Nanjing Road there are far better and cheaper places to stay in Shanghai. Give it a miss.....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 窓無しの部屋が一番安い
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yotsuhashi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank はれぶた
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Юлия З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#684 of 5,161 in Shanghai
556 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#196 of 5,161 in Shanghai
143 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,382 of 5,161 in Shanghai
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
24K International Hotel Shanghai Nanjing East Road Pedestrian
24K International Hotel Shanghai...
#2,472 of 5,161 in Shanghai
162 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#578 of 5,161 in Shanghai
300 reviews
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#89 of 5,161 in Shanghai
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinguang Express Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street Fujian Middle Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinguang Express Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street Fujian Middle Road

Address: No.582 Niuzhuang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,492 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $36 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jinguang Express Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street Fujian Middle Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Jinguang Express Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street Fujian Middle Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing