We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Ranked #233 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I chose this hotel based on its location in the French Concession area and the reviews on trip advisor and we were very glad we did. We were upgraded to the 5th floor where we had a HUGE room with 2 double beds, cable TV desk, lounge chairs, balcony overlooking the street and the Shanghai skyline. The bathroom was also large and well stocked with toiletries, free water, and tea and coffee making supplies. The staff were very polite, spoke excellent English and were very helpful in making phone calls and giving advice and directions.
The beauty of the French concession area is that it is so close to people's square and nanjing road but so peaceful and quiet by comparison - a rare commodity in Chinese cities.
The location is excellent with 2 metro stations only 10 minute walk away. Turning left from the hotel you walk around 300 meters to the end of the street, turning right you find Changshu Rd metro, turning right you will go to South Shaanxi Rd station. Both are on line 1 which makes it very convenient to reach key places like People's Square or Shanghai Railway Station and I encourage people to take advantage of the subway which is so fast,cheap, frequent and easy to navigate. The area is very quiet of a night which makes a pleasant change from the crowds around East Nanjing Rd and the Bund
We didn't eat at the hotel but there is a wide range of restaurants within 1-3 minutes walk from the hotel that offer good value for money if you are too tired to go far for a meal. Wagu across the road is a trendy cafe that offers excellent breakfasts and lunch light meals but apart from the half price wraps of a morning - it's not that much cheaper than the hotel breakfast (about $15). There are lots of shops including a 7-11 to stock up on beer, snacks etc, a Parkson Dept. Store and boutiques nearby. I would definitely stay here again on any subsequent trip Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    118
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
11
42
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the main hotel at 70 Donghu Rd in Building number 1 for 4 nights - the hotel is quite lovely and has a somewhat faded (but not too much) elegance. Staff were great - very helpful and friendly. My daughter liked the pool (which was behind the No. 7 Donghu Hotel building but just a short walk across the street). Nice cafes and restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Easy to get to subway (just 2 or 3 blocks). Also very easy to hail a taxi or the front desk will call one for you. We will stay here again when we come to Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinJean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great location in the French concession. On subway line 10, a few stops to xintiandi, yuyuan gardens and the bund. West of the hotel is a local area with local street food (great for breakfast), small market, convenience store etc.

Were were allowed to check-in early (8am!) at no charge and staff were very helpful and courteous. Our 2 rooms were next to each other and non-smoking as requested. Staff informed me where to buy a sim card, where to recharge and helped me buy train tickets to Suzhou. Their English is shy but passable.

Stained, old carpet but clean sheets and bathroom.

I would stay here again when next in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schtef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Used to stay at this hotel quite often about 10 years ago. Not much have changed and that goes for the prices as well. The location is great in the middle of the city, close to subway and a lot of dining and entertainment.
The hotel has two buildings and I always stay in building 6 which is somewhat more basic but still ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A very interesting experience. This hotel has TWO buildings in the same street but at different addresses. Ctrip access is to the CHEAP version of the hotel. I get the impression that longer-term guests stay there - at No,7 DongHu Lu. I stayed there 1 night only - cheap and extremely basic, but I can see the value if you are staying for a week or more. I moved to the Main Building for the remaning 2 nights - at No.70 Dong Hu Lu. Now this was a typically 4 star hotel. Again, the location was excellent, the room and facilities were very good and the breakfast also very good. Checkout was very efficient and quick too. I really enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: If you want cheap and basic, choose the Annexe at #7 Donghu Road. Or make sure you have a room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at 7 Donghu Rd. for 6 days. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at, especially for the price. We had a beautiful, very large room with a full balcony (recommend 1512). Lovely furniture and fairly comfortable beds. The bathroom was updated and spacious. TV with HBO. The pool is large and warm. We heard the food was not great, so we did not eat there. It is a great neighborhood with many restaurants and cafes. The staff were gracious and helpful and their English was good enough. The building is in an art deco style with Chinese reproduction antique furniture. The street can be noisy but it did not disturb our sleep. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto-SRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I took my two daughters to see their eldest sister who lives in Shanghai. She booked the the Donghu Garden Hotel for us. It is located in a very hip area, with a good variety of restaurants nearby. If you are adventurous, just west is Yangquing Rd. with the local foods. Great for a snack or breakfast. There is the ubiquitous convenience store around the corner.
The hotel is older, but the rooms are clean. The bathroom has an assortment of shampoos and shaving supplies. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The metro is somewhat close, 500 meters, but the cabs are so cheap. Try not to use the cabs during rush hour.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#179 of 5,059 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#143 of 5,059 in Shanghai
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#369 of 5,059 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#92 of 5,059 in Shanghai
697 reviews
Former French Concession
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
#1,828 of 5,059 in Shanghai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)

Property: Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Address: No.7 Donghu Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200431, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donghu Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing