We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Nearby Hotels
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$301
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$162
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
56
125
57
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
125
57
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingguest houseformer french concessionstay there againchinese stylesuperb locationbed was comfortablebeautiful roominternet accessstar hotelhotel is locatedbusiness tripbusiness hotelmetro stationshanxitaxiwasher
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 270 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great location in the French concession. On subway line 10, a few stops to xintiandi, yuyuan gardens and the bund. West of the hotel is a local area with local street food (great for breakfast), small market, convenience store etc.

Were were allowed to check-in early (8am!) at no charge and staff were very helpful and courteous. Our 2 rooms were next to each other and non-smoking as requested. Staff informed me where to buy a sim card, where to recharge and helped me buy train tickets to Suzhou. Their English is shy but passable.

Stained, old carpet but clean sheets and bathroom.

I would stay here again when next in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schtef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Used to stay at this hotel quite often about 10 years ago. Not much have changed and that goes for the prices as well. The location is great in the middle of the city, close to subway and a lot of dining and entertainment.
The hotel has two buildings and I always stay in building 6 which is somewhat more basic but still ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A very interesting experience. This hotel has TWO buildings in the same street but at different addresses. Ctrip access is to the CHEAP version of the hotel. I get the impression that longer-term guests stay there - at No,7 DongHu Lu. I stayed there 1 night only - cheap and extremely basic, but I can see the value if you are staying for a week or more. I moved to the Main Building for the remaning 2 nights - at No.70 Dong Hu Lu. Now this was a typically 4 star hotel. Again, the location was excellent, the room and facilities were very good and the breakfast also very good. Checkout was very efficient and quick too. I really enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: If you want cheap and basic, choose the Annexe at #7 Donghu Road. Or make sure you have a room in the Main Hotel at #70 Donghu Road.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at 7 Donghu Rd. for 6 days. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at, especially for the price. We had a beautiful, very large room with a full balcony (recommend 1512). Lovely furniture and fairly comfortable beds. The bathroom was updated and spacious. TV with HBO. The pool is large and warm. We heard the food was not great, so we did not eat there. It is a great neighborhood with many restaurants and cafes. The staff were gracious and helpful and their English was good enough. The building is in an art deco style with Chinese reproduction antique furniture. The street can be noisy but it did not disturb our sleep. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toronto-SRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I took my two daughters to see their eldest sister who lives in Shanghai. She booked the the Donghu Garden Hotel for us. It is located in a very hip area, with a good variety of restaurants nearby. If you are adventurous, just west is Yangquing Rd. with the local foods. Great for a snack or breakfast. There is the ubiquitous convenience store around the corner.
The hotel is older, but the rooms are clean. The bathroom has an assortment of shampoos and shaving supplies. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The metro is somewhat close, 500 meters, but the cabs are so cheap. Try not to use the cabs during rush hour.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews