We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and more stylish than photos make it seem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Ranked #233 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and more stylish than photos make it seem.”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I stayed here for three nights in a really large room divided into two with a nice Chinese screen, which was a nice touch. A friend stayed in another large room, not as stylish as mine, but nice enough. The rooms and lobby areas were much nicer than the website photos made it look.

More than anything, the location can't be beat if you want something in the trendy French concession area. Good restaurants (Shanghai Citizen, Noodle Bull and a decent and lively Mexican restaurant), bars and even spas (nice ones, like Dragonfly) were all walking distance.

Best of all the staff were great at helping write down all the places we needed to go in the local script so that our taxi drives were hassle free.

Only two complaints - my room was surrounded by smokers which was pretty yuck. Not sure if they have a non-smoking floor, but I'd definitely ask next time. Most irritating though were the noisy housekeeping staff shouting in the hallways to each other – not very classy… and pretty uncool when you’re trying to sleep of a late night.

One tip - expect to pay about RNB150 for trip to/from airport and write it on your piece of paper so the driver knows and doesn't rip you off like one did to my friend who paid RNB450!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Finerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    118
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
11
42
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

First, there are two Donghu guesthouses on the same streat (the streat name is Donghu, hence Donghu Guesthouse...). One at no. 7 and another one (this one) at no. 70, but there are only 20 meters far from each other. Anyway, in all taxis I went on, all drivers knew where this hotel was, b/c the street is short but very central, with many restaurants on it. Taxi from this hotel to People's square is 12 yuan usually, or it could go up to 18 yuan if there's more traffic. Subway station lines 1 and 10 are nearby (Shanxi Nan Lu Station), maximum 10 minutes walk. Huaihai Zhonglu is right there, and we took a walk to Jing'an Temple, too - only 20 minutes or so. Huaihai Zhong Lu is full of shops of all kinds, usually foreign brands shop, but at the other end of Donghu Lu is Changle Lu, where you find more Chinese style shops, and even very Chinese residences. There are also two dragonfly spa centers near the hotel (one was 20 meters from the hotel, the other one maybe 70 meters away), where you can book foot or back massage, or even manicure, and they're open till very very late. So, this is the location.
When we first arrived at the hotel, late at night (around 1:30 am), the staff wasn't too friendly, but then in the next 3 days they were really OK. My room was very big, with big bathroom. The bath tub wasn't the cleanest spot, but was really OK for shower. The room has cable Internet, and there's HBO on TV. Breakfast was good, lots of Chinese food, but also real (not sweet) bread, butter and jam, cakes, fruit, milk and cereals, plus they'd make you eggs on the spot. So in the end you lef the table with a full stomach. The staff could speak English and they exchanged foreign currency at the reception desk. What else... it was quiet in the night, b/c even the location was central, Donghu Street is small and quiet. Very good stay, I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisstaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Very well placed hotel in Shanghai's French Concession district.

We were advised by our guidebook to book a deluxe hotel for a little bit more money to get a nicer room (still only £70 per night).

I thought it was fine - pretty nice swimming pool, pleasant staff, free wifi in the lobby.

Only thing I would say is that the heating in the rooms was a bit difficult to control. The rooms are heated with hot air, rather than air con. As it's not pleasant to sleep with hot air pumping out (dries the air), the room really got cold over night.

I didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants though - as there was lots of nearby restaurants that I wanted to try.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomicjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The Donghu Guest House appears to be part of a larger chain as there are other Donghu properties nearby. The Guest House is located in the very nice but somewhat touristy part of Shanghai called the French Concession. It's about two long blocks to the closest Metro, which will save money on taxis. I'd recommend using the Metro as much as possible because it's easy, the signs are in English, it's clean, it's safe, and, many times, it's faster than a taxi.

Finding the Donghu Guest House was a little difficult but what will help you is that there is a western-style coffee house attached to the right side of the main lobby. You can clearly see from the street all the foreigners using their Apple products. :-)

Shanghai's a great city to visit. Very easy, everything important is available in English, and everyone under 25 speaks perfect (American) English. The Donghu was a good base for exploration.

Another tip, when leaving for the airport, take a taxi to the nearby Temple entrance. Ask the hotel to tell the driver to take you to the elevator entrance. From here, take the Metro all the way to the airport. It's a bit indirect but very cheap (better than the maglev) and you don't have to switch lines (no moving your luggage up and down stairs).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostsendhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Located in the beautiful French Concession area, this hotel is about two blocks away from the nearest subway station and not too far from the Bund. The room that we stayed in (a Standard room) was rather cramped. For the price that we paid, we expected a better room but the location of the hotel made up for the average room.

Did not try any restaurants in the hotel but there are many nice restaurants and bars near the hotel. Also, the French Concession area is one of the best places in Shanghai for shopping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeiWenTi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Donghu affiliated hotel across the street, and it was OK. The view was actually quite nice from our rooms, and the location was pretty good. There are two different subway lines within walking distance, so accessibility to the city is easy. There are also plenty of western amenities close by (mcdonalds, starbucks, and mr donut to name a few). There was a delicious chinese restaurant very close by on Shanxi road. I wish I could remember the name, but i believe it is the first restaurant you come to on the left as you walk toward the subway station on shanxi road. Very delicious.

Anyway, don't be afraid to request a change of room. When we arrived, they gave us 2 twin beds. When we requested a single bed they accomodated us, however the room smelled like a sewer! (This was not the only hotel in China where this was the case) We requested a room change again, and then we finally got a great room with a wonderful view of the city lights.

One note of caution (and this applies to all hotels): do not use any of their services until you know the price. We had them do our laundry, which we were told was "reasonably priced". We were dumb enough and tired enough to just hand it over. The price averaged something like $6 USD per item. Not by weight.

To sum it up, this is an OK hotel in a pretty good location. Don't be afraid to stay here, but don't expect it to be "all that".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank From5280ToZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Donghu Hotel is in an amazing location. It is in a real neighborhood where you'll see people walking their dogs, riding bikes to work or school, shopping etc. The streets are pretty and tree lined. There is a row of food stalls where locals (and my family) bought breakfast and lunch for about 2 RMB per person. There are also many beautiful shops and boutiques everywhere. The area certainly seems to cater to foreign visitors. The subway is about a 10 minute walk and there are a couple of large parks nearby. However, our room was almost unbearably musty. The smell was really difficult. And, it was so run down it felt dirty. We were in the annex building, so the rooms were less expensive, but I would probably not stay there again. The indoor pool was a pleasant surprise for downtown Shanghai but the few pieces of exercise equipment were "broken" for the entire 5 days we were there. Another weakness of this hotel is the staff. They really did not seem interested in helping customers at all -- or even speaking to us. They were indifferent at best and sullen or rude at their worst. It is hard to give up on this place because of the location but I found myself dreading returning to the room because of the odor and dirt. I suggest searching for other similarly priced hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelling201019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#180 of 5,059 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#142 of 5,059 in Shanghai
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#370 of 5,059 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Former French Concession
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
#1,830 of 5,059 in Shanghai
61 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#93 of 5,059 in Shanghai
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)

Property: Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Address: No.7 Donghu Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200431, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donghu Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing