We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but too far away from Shanghai city center. Convenient to visit Shanghai Ocean University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai
Ranked #2,354 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but too far away from Shanghai city center. Convenient to visit Shanghai Ocean University”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice hotel but too far away from Shanghai city center. Convenient to visit Shanghai Ocean University. Services are fine, good two restaurants, one chinese the other ocidental type. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Very nice that they suggest jogging ways. Very qiet place. The only disadvantage is that it is too far away from Shanghai city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amadeu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Your detailed and vey professional review is a great encouragement to our team. And we are glad to hear you like our jogging route. We look forward to having you back with us soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here in May, the rooms and facilities are amazing with two good restaurants inside the hotel. The bathroom in the room was fantastic, the wifi was free and the hotel is well appointed.
I would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: A really nice well appointed hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegalleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your inspiring feedback.I will share your comment with hotel team and ensure that we continue to work hard in order to make each guest’s stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel is very good, nice and spacious rooms, very clean, wifi ok., breakast good, continental or chinese warm dishes. People are very friendly, english no problem. Don´t forget to organize the taxi to airport the evening before at front desk, because there is no taxi available if you like to start early in the morning.
In the hotel you have a western and chinese restaurant, value and price is good.
Only beer is very expensive, but that´s all over the worls the same in all hotels.
Also they have a massage center, but this is very expensive.

A little bit a shame is the location for this nice hotel, it is just in the middle of nowhere in the Lingang industrial area. Very calm, clean, no trafic, but nothing arround, no restaurant, no shop, even you can´t see people on the street. The area is quiet new and clean, all company buildings are new. Location 30 minutes noth Pudong Airport 220 RMB by Taxi.
To go to Shanghai downtown take at least 1,5 hours by Taxi

My recommandation: if you have to stay for business at Lingang industrial area, Howard Johnson hotel is a perfect location. Only for business people

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your valued comments and your high recommandation to business people. I will share the comments with the team and ensure that we continue to work hard in order to make each guest's stay memorable. And I am sure the location problem would be solved as Lingang's fast development.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Service is poor not only the room cleaning but also at the restaurant. The toilet is not well clean & stain can still be found the next day. The room is not well kept the next day. Left over food not clean. As at the restaurant, you hardly get a waiter/waitress to attend to your needs/order. Most of the time, you got your coffee but you do have the teaspoon/milk/sugar pack to add on. You have to wait >5mins for your next cup of coffee/bill/milk/teaspoon or you rather choose to serve yourself. Food serving is very slow at dinner. The food took easily >30mins after order made. Food favor can be deteriorate day to day. Don't expect much on the food quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case. And also we hope that we have a chance to renew your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is remote from downtown Shanghai, however it is convenient for anyone carrying out business in Lingang. No close restaurants therefore have to rely on what is in hotel..... a good Chinese restaurant and a main restaurant [Doris] serving international dishes, very few patrons and slow service in the main restaurant, however the food is OK and the buffet breakfast was good. The hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful. Rooms are a reasonable sized with a well appointed bathroom, but pretty standard decor. Overall, a reasonable value hotel, but due to the traveling distance, no use for anyone visiting or doing business in, or near central Shanghai.

Room Tip: Non smokers should ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacwashereBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to know that you had a nice stay here. And we will keep working to improve our service to make guests comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is far removed from downtown Shanghai - perhaps an hour drive away. It is right near a major university and just before a bridge to a very large port. This is one of the newer parts of Shanghai, but it is really rather isolated. While there are a few surrounding buildings, there is nothing of note. So, staying here would not be a choice unless one has business in the area.

The hotel itself is pretty much typically American or European in most respects. Large lobby, reasonably sized room, and the room was well appointed. Nice bath with both a tub and a stall shower. Bottled water was provided (one does not drink the local water, or even brush teeth with it) as were toothbrushes (throw away after one use). The TV was good, but limited English channels (not a real problem). There were, however, two significant problems with the room. First, the bed is beyond hard. Basically, it is like sleeping on a board. I had a number of colleagues in other rooms and they reported the same thing. I finally resorted to using the copious pillows in the room as a bed top, and even the comforter, but the bed was still uncomfortable.

The second problem that most of the rooms (other than 6th floor - something I discovered later in my stay) are smoking. The room had a constant smoke odor, even after I got the management to clean the carpet. Part of the "stench" was due to the poor air in this part of Shanghai, but partly due to this being a smoking room.

Finally, the AC did not work well. None of us were able to adjust the rooms to cool them very well.

Breakfast was included in the price and it was not bad. They had both western and Chinese breakfast items, prepared eggs fresh (though communication with the cooks difficult since I had not idea how to say "omelet" in Chinese and the cooks did not know the English) were good, and they had other fresh item. I had dinner in their Chinese restaurant. This was pre-ordered by Chinese colleagues and so I have no idea what the typical restaurant items might be, but the food was really outstanding.

Bottom line is that if you have to stay in this part of Shanghai this would be a reasonable hotel, but ask for extra comforters to soften the bed, and if non-smoking is something desired then ask for the top floor.

Room Tip: I cannot judge value since my room was paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your valued comments. We appreciate you would like to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you loved our foods and also I am sorry that some of room amenities were not up your expectation. Your comments will be transmitted to our whole team to improving the service.
Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

One thing that you need to have in mind is that Lingang is a new city being developed. The location of this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, no close restaurants, etc. The hotel is OK, the staff is mixed, some are nice and some are kind of rude. I'm rating three stars to the hotel because when I was checking out they wanted to charge me for "a pencil" that they put in the room (as most hotels do -pen/pencil- for guests to write notes). I was at a conference and had no idea where the pencil was. then I was accused of "taking" the hotel directory with me (why in the world would I want a 'hotel directory"??). My shuttle to the airport was waiting so I had to tell the people at the front desk to be serious, how in the world they would charge for a pen and then tried to tell me that i was taking a "hotel directory" (which by the way I never saw in the room, which btw was a suite).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoLingang, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your review and let us know the problem you met when you stayed here.
I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case.
Whenever you plan to visit Lingang, we appreciate if you can let me know and I may assist your accommodation. We hope that we have a chance to renew your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Harbour City
Holiday Inn Express Nanhuizui
#393 of 5,059 in Shanghai
32 reviews
Lingang Hotel
#1,381 of 5,059 in Shanghai
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai
Address: No.555 Xinyuan South Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201306, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,354 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Lingang Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing