We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice budget, and nice room. I recommend the hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hundred Centuries Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hundred Centuries Hotel
Ranked #1,272 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
東京
Level Contributor
247 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice budget, and nice room. I recommend the hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is not at the city centre, however it is very nice access to go anywhere.

There are two underground lines crossing.
The station is near the hotel.
It is only one minute by walk.

The room is very wide, clean, and the beds are also very wide. There are a lot of amenities, so you can get a very comfortable stay.
The breakfast included. It is not bad.
If you are looking for a budget hotel, I suppose it is the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    43
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Location is fairly good - right next to the South Xizang metro station on lines 8 and 4, with easy access into city centre. Area itself is fine, there are some small shops (e.g. a convenience shop across the road), but not a part of the city you'd go out of your way to visit.

Room was good - clean, modern, fairly large, nicely decorated, decent internet connection (through plug-in only, no wireless), good bathroom.

The main disappointment for us was that our room didn't have a window. We booked through Elong and had been led to believe that we were getting a with-window room at a discount price (there was a separate option for no-window rooms), but ended up being put in a no-window room nonetheless. We suspected this might happen, and in the end it was fine, but a disappointment nonetheless.

I'll probably stay there again on future visits to Shanghai - a good mid-range option.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking to make sure that room has a window, if that's something you care about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is located right next to the subway station (less than 100m) and the staff was very friendly.
We booked the cheapest room possible which had no windows, but it did not affect the quality of the air, since there was some sort of circulating system that prevented the room from smelling awkward. The only negative aspect about not having windows was the lack of daylight which made us a bit tired in the morning.
Apart from that, the room was very big and very clean.
The breakfast was alright, just the usual buffet you get in a chinese hotel.
In comparison to the price we paid, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Location is not in the Bund, as advertised by TripAdvisor. It's just SW of Old Town, but there is a subway stop literally right outside the front door, so you can get wherever you want in town with relative ease. Very modern facility, nice rooms. Ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was very good; breakfast was average Chinese buffet. Room had no wifi, but the Ethernet ports worked fine, and I believe they provide a cable. Bathroom was very nice. Beds huge; one of the biggest rooms I had in all of China. Very reasonable price. I was a little surprised to find the carpet incongruously stained for how clean the place was (none of that Chinese cigarette stench), but not a huge deal. Room had a safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TherouxWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here while accompanying my husband on a business trip. The room was spacious with modern decor and a large luxury bathroom. Beds are hard but great for your back. We were only a few minutes walk from the metro and 15 minute taxi rides from other attractions. While the staff were friendly we had a few problems communicating our requirements for double beds during checkin. (2 couples, one 6 year old and a single turning up separately didn't assist this process). Also what appears to be the usual issue-ridden and elongated checkout process was provided. Breakfast was included and of a good standard with enough western options to suit the six year old and great dumplings and steamed buns for the grownups. I would stay again though. The hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Invest the time at the front desk negotiating for what you want. Generally they want to give couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMF_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We received absolutely NO customer satisfaction at this hotel. The list is endless. I'll try to summarize.

It all began when our flight was delayed and instead of arriving Thursday night, we were arriving Friday morning. In order not to lose our entire reservation, we had to agree to pay for the lost night. Fine. We were just arriving in China, excited for our vacation.

Upon arrival to the hotel, and with an absolutely stifling language barrier at hand, we were motioning, writing, and signing all of the information we needed to convey to one another at the front desk. Finally, we received our room key and rushed to get ready and take off to a lunch for which we had reservations.

About 15 minutes into unpacking our bags and getting freshened up for lunch, we were called and asked to move rooms - no bellhop - so we threw everything back into suitcases and transported all 5 to another room - which was smaller.

Fast forward to evening - asked for a wake-up call at 5:00 a.m. Received no wake-up call. Only call received was by family member at 5:45 a.m. who said we needed to leave the hotel at 6:00 a.m. to make it to the train station for pre-purchased tickets to another city. Jumping out of bed like maniacs (there was NO CLOCK in the room!), we rushed to turn the lights on, but needed to insert the room key into a box to activate power. Well, the key broke, so we had to attempt to get "ready" in the complete dark. After jamming out of the hotel showerless, makeup-less, unkempt hair, and hailing our own cab outside, we were off on our way.

Upon return, we reported that we needed a new key, because due to not receiving a wake-up call and rushing around, we broke the key in half. Then, they wanted to charge us. And I politely disagreed that I did not want to pay for they key because it was an accident, and we didn't get our wake-up call and had to get dressed in the dark so we wouldn't miss the train. When I again was asked to pay for the key, I reminded them about the wake-up call, and that we paid for an additional night for which we did NOT stay in the hotel, and that the customer service was very unsatisfactory. After at least an hour more of arguing, more writing, more signing, one of the staff said that we would be refunded for the night we weren't here upon checkout. I even asked a relative to ask his Chinese-speaking friend to call the hotel. He said it's no use in arguing, he'll try to deal with it later, just pay for the key and get some rest - so I did.

Now, fast forward to checkout. Another absolute nightmare. First step, get deposit back. Well fine, until they decided that we opened a bottle of Jack Daniels from the minibar. NO! Did not touch it, never even SAW it. We spent all of our time rushing in and out of that hotel room, with no leisure, didn't put on the slippers, the robe, didn't even look at the mini bar. But apparently, we "opened" the bottle. So then 7 people later and all kinds of discussions, which I could not understand, they still insisted that we opened the bottle. And then proceeded to offer it to us since we did so. I adamantly said NO I did not touch the bottle, we did not open that, I wouldn't take it even if it were given to me free. I am NOT paying for it! So finally we got to the end of that, and they waived it for whatever reason.

Then I reminded them that we were supposed to be refunded for the 5th night, the night we were not here due to flight delays. After another 30 minutes and 7 more people and phone calls, she firmly said I'm sorry I cannot give you money back. I walked away absolutely in disbelief about the poor quality of service that this hotel displayed over the ENTIRE time we stayed there. Absolutely despicable.

I would NEVER ever recommend this hotel to a visitor regardless of price or location (steps from Gate 2 of the Shanghai 2010 Expo) - - had an extremely unscrupulous experience and plan to make further contact with the hotel about my experience there, and hope to at least get my 5th night refunded due to the trouble and dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almaden32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Country Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel was 50m from an entrance to Expo, so you could not get closer for the price. It was clean, had a fridge, the beds were soft, and it had free internet. Our room had a giant pillar in the middle, and our kids room had no window. The floors were all double or all twin, so we could not be on the same floor as the kids. There was one reception staff who spoke English, so we had to wait our turn. We tried to extend our stay, but the price doubled, so we went elsewhere. We were only given one breakfast per room per day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpaca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Golden Island Hotel Shanghai
#711 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
24K International Hotel (Shangha...
#2,393 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Hui Jing Lou Hotel
#1,251 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,377 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Hongkou
Guang Dong Hotel
Guang Dong Hotel
#232 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7 Dyas Shanghai Xizang South Roa...
#1,290 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundred Centuries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundred Centuries Hotel

Property: Hundred Centuries Hotel
Address: No.1528 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,272 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundred Centuries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hundred Centuries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing