We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
16
49
24
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
49
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance of the main shanghai train station wi fi comfortable rooms buffet breakfast desk
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 102 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel on a business trip to Shanghai. The hotel is nice, staff speak good English and are courteous. Rooms are very good. The sleep quality is nice. Good eateries around and the Shanghai Railway Station is next door. i found the place interesting and value for money in Shanghai. Money changing facility is at the hotel and they do not charge any commissions also. Bank of China rate prevails.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rohitpunjabi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel was built probably in the middle of 70th. Location is …. nowhere. All around is under construction. There is no even good place for taxi or car. The main entrance is on the back of the hotel and in front of the railway station north square. Metro line nr 3,4 are located approx. 200 m from the hotel but the subway entrance could be a huge challenge for many people.
Metro line nr 1 which can connect to People’s square and interchange to line 2 to Hongqiao and Pudong is quite far, about 300-400 m from the hotel.
Room: I used Superior room which was not 22 sqm, it has in fact no more than 15 sqm. Room was quite well furnished but very dirty, carpet, bed linen was not clean enough for 4 star hotel. There is ton of dust on each corner. Bed was hard as a stone, I’ve visited many Chinese hotels but this bed was the hardest ever. It is impossible to have a good rest there. Bathroom looks nice but only the first impression is so optimistic, you can easy find black mold and dirties on the top of bathtub, crack of wash basin, dirty walls- and any good impression is over…. like a soap bubble.
Breakfast- it is the disaster!!! The one and only eatable thing was egg omelet. They didn’t even serve fresh pastries. The whole breakfast buffet was designed form very strange dishes- pumpkin cakes and noodles, even Chinese people didn’t choose them. Coffee had a taste of gasoline mixed with vinegar. The carpet at the restaurant looks no cleaned since last 50 years.
It is also very hard to find clean fork and knife, little spoon you will not find at all.
Staff couldn’t speak English almost at all, you will be happy to find someone who can understand you.
Overall experience: avoid this place, there are a lot of other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piotr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We arrived in Shanghai and went to the Hotel only to find out the manager cut the ac to save money according to his subordinate manager. Refrigerator in room does not work and the food is terrible. The GM would not speak to us and ELong the booking agent left us stuck at this property. My guests also were very upset and almost cost me a contract. The gift vendor in the lobby also told us that he is closing and this property has no business any longer. I thought the location being behind the train station would be great sadly i was wrong and then they told us to open a window for f resh air only to find that it is secured and can't be opened. Next time I go back to the Holiday Inn across the street great location, and property. Funny how it got its 4 star rating. JUst like days inn in the us Garbage.

Room Tip: Check out the hotel completely
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnchi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel is a clean, decent hotel. The rooms appear to have been recently remodeled, and were nice. The beds were the HARDEST beds we have ever slept in. Beds in China are hard...compared to western standards...but these were the hardest from the 3 hotels we stayed at in China.

We had a breakfast buffet included in our rate, but there were hardly any choices. The egg station was really the only western choice, besides some fruit and bread (that wasn't re-stocked often enough).

The hotel is not in a good location...you have to take a taxi everywhere...make sure you get someone working at the hotel lobby to write your destination (and the hotel's address) in Chinese characters. If you don't you may find yourself stranded. The hotel is priced well though in comparison to other Shanghai hotels. Also, taxis are very cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

after being stranded in hotels near the airport for 6 nights we moved back to the city for 7 nights & to this hotel. the standrad & service was great. at first we were suprised to see there was no road to the hotel as major highway work was underway. however jerry at the front desk assured us that with 3 days the road would be open. he was correct. chinese engineering puts us all to shame. they not only built, surfaced & marked out the road but buses etc were on it in 3 days. very close to the railway station & 3 connecting subway lines. great western buffet breakfast for £5, all you can eat but sometimes a bit cold. if you asked the staff to warm it up though they were very obliging. nice bar area with western drinks ie Baileys & Smirnoff. fantastic rbedooms, large, warm, clean & great TVs, plenty of western channels. Robes & slippers complimentary. lot's of chinese businessmen in the hotel so very queit in the day time. staff were helpful. Business centre was a bit pricey as I neede docs etc photocopying but they directed me to one nearby which was much cheaper. great location if you want to see lot's of sights as all are a subway ride away. the underground shopping alleys leading to the station are an experience & as the long haul bus terminal is just around the corner you see all aspects of chinese life as people move between the 2 stations. room service was quick & cheap after a long day sightseeing & shopping

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y0rkshireh0lidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews