We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #1,557 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business Hotel OK”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you have a reason to be in the new industrial suburbs of Pudong/Shanghai for business this hotel is acceptable. It is a long way from the Bund. The room was acceptable but as most reviewers have noted the bed was very hard. The bathroom does have a separate shower and bath.

Room Tip: A non smoking room was requested but not provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    81
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
5
6
2
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Was there for a conference from 26 May 2012 to 1 June 2012. Found the beds rock solid, the location to be poor and rude check-in staff at reception who spoke little English despite the international brand of the hotel. I brought my pregnant wife and she had problems getting into the oddly-placed bath tub - so I requested for a room change. I was rudely told that no rooms were available and any change should have a "valid" reason by staff Catherine Yue. To top it off, the executive lounge on level 25 was never open for the 6 nights I was there despite the beautiful advertisement, there was no microwave oven as advertised, and the breakfast was the same thing for my entire stay for 6 nights!. Needless to stay, the far location meant that we didn't have much choice for food (only 2 eateries opposite and a Family mart selling essentials) and were forced to eat at the hotel at high prices (about 200 yuan a pax per meal). The desktop computer provided in the room was slow - don't bother using it. Service improved only after hotel staff learnt that I was part of the international conference held there and I had lounged a complain through the official website. The hotel also does not have a published email address and therefore is unable to provide a valid email confirmation directly (except through 3rd party booking websites). Apparently they expect guests to call them from abroad. BTW, if you do call them, speak Chinese otherwise they wont understand a word being said. I chose the executive suite on the 25th floor at RMB1000 yuan a night, and I regretted my choice. There are many better-valued hotels in shanghai - like Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai. I would not have minded commuting to Pudong from Downtown (Puxi) daily as the cab charges is more worthwhile than spending money at this hotel. Also there are subway lines which makes the journey easy. The nearest subway line from the hotel is about 2 kilometers away (you can catch a cab at RMB17 from the station to the hotel). Apart from that, the room itself was OK with 2 large 42 inch TVs, 2 individually controlled air-conditioners and tea-making facilities. The toilet door cannot be closed though. From the service received, I don't think that this hotel is good for business or personal travelling, despite what other reviewers might say.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floors - 23 to 25 executive level. Bargain for a good deal as the executive l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

It is far from downtown Shanghai good for business but not good for family.
Smoking everywhere even at non smoking floor.
Bed is very hard one almost like no mattres at all.
Huge bathroom and big room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aykut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Location is not very good for sightseeing. But business facilities and room standards are good for businessmen. Very clean, very nice bathroom. Rooms are not very spacious but enough for business people who come to the hotel at night just to have a shover and go to bed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmutA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. As far as location is concerned, this hotel is definitely not recommended for tourists who want to explore Shanghai. The location is most suitable for businessmen as it is close to the industrial area.

The room is of reasonable size. It's clean and has all the necessary amenities in the room, including shaving kit and even condoms (needs to pay for them of course). The free broadband internet I experienced is a bit slow though. The bathroom can be viewed directly from the main room. Since I'm solo, it's no problem. In fact it's good as I can still watch the tv while showering. But you are staying with a friend, then it may be a bit awkward.

The breakfast has a good mix of food. You may have a wait awhile (5-10 mins) if you intend to get a cab in the morning peak hour. So do depart early. Nearby, there's only a couple of restaurants and a 24h family mart.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwcyenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Best Western Pudong is off the tourist track, but reasonably convenient for visiting the exhibition centres in the Pudong area, which was the main reason for my stay. As some of the recent reviews have been mixed, I sort of braced myself for a mixed experience. Instead i was pleasantly surprised. I asked for a non smoking room at check-in, was upgraded to a suite. Spacious, quiet (double glazed windows), clean and comfortable. Good sized bathroom. Excellent free broadband internet, fast connection. Both the breakfast and dinner buffets are very good, and the hotel rates in my opinion are very good value. The hotel staff were all unfailingly polite, courteous and helpful. Also there are lots of staff, I never waited at reception. Gym, spa, sauna, 24 hour room service and if you want it, an in room massage.

A tip for others: the business club on the 25th floor has free buffet snacks and drinks on Friday evenings. The friendly waiters gave me an impromptu Chinese wine tasting, several varieties, all on the house. Only minus is no swimming pool, but this is not a resort. The hotel suited me perfectly.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swagfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a hotel for the locals. If you are foreigner visiting, you will definitely not be impressed.

The hotel is busy since it is close to a major Chinese telecom company and their employees and partners can get a discount rate here. As a result, it is very difficult to get a non-smoking room. If you are a non-smoker in a room where smoking is allowed, it is absolutely a nightmare. All the furniture and clothe has a layer of smoke. The carpet is also very smokey.

I also find the elevator very smokey. This is surprising because I don't think you can smoke either in the elector or in the lobby. But then again, this is Asia where there is little smoking etiquette.

If you are here to visit customers near by, then the location is okay. However, there is not much else around the hotel. You will have a hard time getting into most restaurants around here after 8:30PM. Most restaurants close at 9PM but the kitchen is closed at 8:30PM. They will not let you in.

Other than third hand smoke problems, I also find this hotel much dirtier than other hotels I have been in. Carpet is dirty. Mats is dirty. If feels unsafe not to wear slippers here.

Comfort-wise, this hotel ranks quite low. The bed is hard and not cushioned. The washroom is small, especially the shower. The shower is a complete disaster. The show door is not sealed and leaves 2 large gaps on both sides. This being a very small shower stall, the washroom will get water everywhere.

While there is a fitness room, it is very pathetic with very little equipment. You find some locals working out with their dress shoes...

I will not stay here ever again myself.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jinqiao
Ramada Plaza Pudong
Ramada Plaza Pudong
#182 of 5,105 in Shanghai
306 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai

Property: Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.99 Jinxin Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201206, China (Formerly Best Western Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shanghai
Shanghai Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing