We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Court Serviced Apartment
Ranked #77 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Location : Citadines is at a walking distance from the People's Square. It is convenient to move around this interesting area.Nanjing East/West Road is easily accessible.
Apartment : We took a deluxe one-bedroom . It is spacious with a bedroom, living room and kitchenette. The toilet comes with a long bathe.The kitchenette is fully equipped with a medium-sized fridge, microwave oven, dish washer, induction cooker, kettle and toaster. Pots and pans, full set of cutlery, including scissors, bottle opener, wine opener and chopping board are also available. Air-conditioners are easy to manage and it can be turned into a heater for cold weather. Free internet access.
Breakfast : Breakfast spread is satisfactory, with oriental and western dishes. Waiters are attentive and helpful.
The only negative part : No dressing area for ladies. I have to use the entrance cloak area , which is the only place that has a mirror besides the toilet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soo Ping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 411 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Only stayed for 2 nights but found the room clean and it included a kitchenette which would have become handy had I stayed longer.
The hotel is close to the subway on People Square.
It is also within walking distance from Nanjing Pedestrian Street which is a lively place especially at night when everybody walks towards the Bund to look at the lights.
Do print the address given on the site as it would have been impossible to get there without it upon arrival.
There is a paying internet connection in the room but it didn't work but I managed to get free WIFI from the lobby.
The staff were not overly friendly but when needed helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time in Shangahi and stayed at Citadines for 5 nights.

We had the one bedroom executive room and we were happy with the standard of the room and the location of the hotel.

If you dont speak Chinese then take the address written in Chinese as I had the address in English and still ended up miles away trying to explain to the Taxi driver at 2am where I wanted to go!

Staff speak decent English at the hotel and are all very helpful.

I would probably look a little more up market for my next visit - ie. somewhere with a pool and a bit more luxury but all in all if you are looking for a good location on a budget I dont think you will have a problem with this place.

Quick bit of advice .... zebra crossings mean nothing in Shanghai ............

Room Tip: Got for the one bed executive for a little extra - looking at some photos on here the others look da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Citadines Jinqiao is located not far away from People Square and Nanjing Pedestrian Street, where are the center of tourism and transportation of Shanghai. There are many local department stores and restaurants around there. Although, the price is rather high, but it is reasonable, if you plan to stay for months in Shanghai and don't want to do homework. :)

Room Tip: Should choose room on West Beijing Road side ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I lived in Shanghai for a couple of years, between 2008 and 2010 and stayed in some great places for not much difference in price. I've just come back to start a new assignment and decided that for the first few weeks, whilst we looked for a permanent place to live, a serviced apartment would be ideal. This should've been a good idea... but I hadn't factored in the ineptness and poor quality of Citadines.

I am staying here with my wife and 10 month old daughter. We've had a number of problems

1). We asked for a cot, and got one, however the cot sheets were filthy.

2) On top of that, the cot was broken, and the leg was split which made it wobbly and unsafe for my daughter to sleep in. This is the only cot that Citadines has, so there was no chance of a replacement. Thankfully we had a travel cot with us, so we've used that.

3) the floors of the apartment were filthy... walking around barefoot made the soles of our feet black. That is appalling for an international chain. Am I meant to let my daughter crawl around on that?

4) there is mould in the fridge and around the bath. The apartment has not been deep-cleaned.

5) One toilet won't flush properly.

6) There is no safe in the room (there should be... it's just not here).

7) There is no storage space, except for hanging garments. There are shelves, but they are less than 6 inches deep, so nowhere to store t-shirts, jumpers etc. There are no chest of drawers. This is a place that is meant for long term stays.

8) there are no hangers provided. None at all. So people turning up with lots of shirts, trousers etc. will need to go and buy some. How petty is that?

9) Little english spoken. I know a little mandarin, so I was ok, but I saw other guests having problems with reception.

10) a lack of understanding of cutomer service. e.g. reception phoning the room at 7.30am is not great, when we have a young baby trying to sleep after a long flight.

11) The bathroom sink and bath are leaking all over the floor.

12) Fitness centre not open and looks pretty ropey from outside.


The photos on the website are nothing like the reality.

I know China, and I know that you can't always expect the same standard as you would get in Europe or the States, but this is an international brand that is meant to cater for long term stays.

I've seen that sometimes the manager of Citadines in Shanghai responds to trip advisor reviews - however it seems to be an automated review each time. Don;t bother, if you are going to give a standard answer. It's not very personal service!

If the manager wants to take it up with us then we are still here, on the 6th floor. We are thinking of leaving. We've left a message for her with reception.

Anyway... Shanghai is GREAT! A brilliant city, with a real energy. The food in the city is amazing and there is a real buzz everywhere. My top tip... Fuxing Park, and a drink in the Grand Hyatt in the World Finanial Centre (bottle opener) - do that, rather than paying to go up to the observation deck - it's the same view.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lena l, Manager at Green Court Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your review and we sincerely appreciate your time spent on this. As we have communicated, we value your feedback and will be looking into them immediately.

Hope to see you again soon”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A good business hotel when travelling on budget.
Centrally located with good access to public transport and shops.
Clean and tidy with few frills but functional and comfortable.
Recommended for a short trip but I would return.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
Thank MichaelG959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well located just a few minutes walk from people's square, nanjing rd shopping district and the bund. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was more than adequate. I recommend including it in your booking. This is an aparthotel, so cooking utensils and even a small dishwasher are provided. There is free wifi in the rooms plus two pcs in the lobby with free wifi internet connection for guests. Beware of the 'massage ' peddlers hanging at the entrance most evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmdDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,161 in Shanghai
872 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#202 of 5,161 in Shanghai
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Court Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Court Serviced Apartment

Address: No.55 Beijing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (Formerly Citadines Jinqiao Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $90 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Court Serviced Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Green Court Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Jinqiao Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Citadines Apart Hotel Jinqiao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing