We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best locations in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Court Serviced Apartment
Ranked #77 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed twice here before I actually moved to Shanghai. Good value for money. Spacious one-bedroom apartment, with full kitchen. Old cramped bathroom though. Good efficient service from staff. Didn't try the breakfast.

But the key to this property is location, location, location. If you are new to Shanghai, I can't think of a better spot. 5-6 min walk from Peoples Square, where you can go anywhere in Shanghai by subway, including both airports! Also plenty of taxis at the entrance on Beijing West Road. Bank ATMs, Starbucks and 711 in the same building. And you are also within walking distance from the Bund. What more could you ask for.

Tip: there is still construction going on on the back side across the street, facing Peoples Square. Ask for a room facing Beijing Xi Lu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Beijing Xi Lu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EliasNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have decided to chose Citadines Jinqiao despite the bad reviews, as my stay with other Citadines were okay. Getting there is easy, it is near the Metro and within walking distance from attractions.
We reached before the regular check-in time and the staff were very helpful in getting a room for us.
Great location and definitely value for money!
Stayed for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank py_bh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a conveniently located apartment hotel. We booked a one bedroom suite which was very spacious. It also came with a kitchenette that was about the size of most city centre apartment kitchens. You could easily access the hotel from the train station, which is only a 5 minute walk away. The walk from the train station is quite pleasant. There is also a Starbucks in the same complex, and a mini supermarket.
The room was spotless and felt very new. The only fault was the fact that water leaked out from the bath when you were having a shower. The hotel would also be ideal for a business traveller who needs to spend a few weeks in Shanghai, because the rooms are big enough to feel like an apartment rather than a hotel.
The hotel staff do not speak a great deal of English, but we found that this was generally common in Shanghai. This was not a problem for me anyway. You get vouchers for a massive buffet breakfast, and with all that walking we did in Shanghai I definitely needed a big breakfast. There is a fairly good but basic selection, considering the fact that it was quite cheap. The food ranged from Western to Eastern like fried chicken in soy, noodles, and stir fried mixed vegetables…….yes…….for breakfast.
The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is only a 5 minute walk from Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, which is full of malls and restaurants, and to my husband’s dismay a huge Zara which I spent too much time in. It is also a 15 minute walk from the Bund.
There are also plenty of 5 star dining options within a 15 minute walk, including Jean Georges, M on the Bund, and Mr&Mrs Bund. I loved Mr&Mrs Bund for its fun quirky Alice in Wonderland type décor. There was this huge communal dining table in the middle of the restaurant, with a Mad Hatters Tea Party type feel. For the wine drinkers out there, there was even a wine vending machine which really is a progressive concept for the Far East. You can buy wine tasting vouchers and go over to the vending machine where you can dispense a glass of wine. The food was modern French, I believe it is called. I am a big fan of trying out new restaurants, so this was good.
I also liked the fact that the nearest train station was very central to all the other sights. We didn’t really need to travel more than 30 minutes by train to see the main attractions. The most memorable sight for me was Yuyuan Gardens, which is an ancient Chinese walled garden.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I selected this Citadines serviced appartment by two reasons:

1) The first was my good experience with other Ascott hotels such as Somerset. Just one word: This hotel does not meet the Ascott standards. So, this was quite disapointing.

2) I planned some trips to nearby cities and a quick access to Hongqiao and Shanghai station was imortant. For this the location was absolutely awesome: 5 minutes walk to Peoples Place. From there, you have nonstop access to both train stations, to the maglec station and to Hongqiao Airport.

But let's get into some details:
The rooms are very old, and inside you can smell the fragrance of some mold fungus. The furniture and the carpets are also very old and not very comfortable. The bed is quite hard, but that's common in China. The bathroom is also old and not very clean. The room cleaning service was bad, either. No wiping in the edges of the bathroom (no, it's not fussy from me, I just don't like foreign hairs and accumulations of dust). No Wiwi, but a cable was provided. Anyway, the room was quite enough (for China).

The breakfast: The only reason to book a western hotel in China is to get a western breakfast. Alas! The breakfast was Chinese. So, if you like Mantou, Zhou and all the dinner-style stuff for breakfast. This is the place to stay. But if you looking for western stuff you just have some Chinese cornflakes, and some Kellog's smacks like cereals. The bread stuff was just toast, butter and jam.

The prices for the laundry service is crazy! 23 RMB for a single shirt, in China! Fortunatly, I speak some Chinese and used the laundry service in the same house, which is 60 RMB for one bag.

The price: I booked a one-bed appartment via ctrip for 560 RMB + 50 RMB charge for a second breakfest. This was the cheapest available for this city location. The official price available at their website was about 800 RMB, which is by far to much for this hotel.

Summing up, if you are strongly in need to be close to people's place and do not want spent to much money, this place is okay. Otherwise: Look for a different place. Even a Jinjiang inn or an Ibis is by far better. And cheaper!

Room Tip: Select 1-bed appartments. Avoid single rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

great aparthotel spoilt by the buidling work taking place at the marriot at the rear..which seems to finish at 11pm and start again at 5am each day...very noisy. shame because the citadines seems ideal..great location, very clean, good service, free (lan)based internet, good choice of tv channels..I would estimate that the marrioy work will be complete by July/August 2011..but suggest you ask before booking

Room Tip: rear of hotel..will eventually be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean0bennett0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I've stayed at Citadines Tokyo before and that is why we chose Citadines Jinqiao. Getting there is easy. We took the maglev train from pudong airport to longyang. Since we carry big luggage, we took a taxi from longyang station to the hotel which cost between cny50 - 70. Do Remember to printout the address in chinese as most cab drivers does not speak or read English.

We stay in a 1br apartment at 18th floor for 5 nights. Clean Room with kitchenette. Free wired internet access is a plus!! There's a sofa bed in the living room which bring a total of 4 pax for 1br apartment. Please remember to put 'Do not disturb' tag outside your door to enjoy your long sleep, if not the housekeeping will knock on your door at 9am. Security wise is good because to access the lift to your level, you need to swipe your hotel card.

Location wise is good since it's a walking distance to people's park station and Nanjing Lu. After a while, you wish the hotel is nearer. There's a convenience store and Starbucks nearby the area if you need to grab a bite.

Room Tip: Get higher level room for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heroboiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Finding accomodation for a family of four during World Expo was difficult. Hotels would not/could not confirm interconnecting rooms and with two children under 10 we couldn't take the risk of being in two seperate rooms! We chose the Citadines apartotel which suited our situation and saved us $700!. 1 bedroom aprartment with pull out sofa in living room. Small kitchenette and bathroom. We didn't use the kitchen due to the vast quantity of restaurants around the area. 1 block down was a street of restaurants although be warned if you don't speak or read chinese then its all a bit daunting. Location was close to Nanjing Street - but this is geared to tourists. Also walking distance to fashion markets where you can negotiate to your hearts delight over 7 floors of fakes!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,161 in Shanghai
872 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#203 of 5,161 in Shanghai
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Court Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Court Serviced Apartment

Address: No.55 Beijing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (Formerly Citadines Jinqiao Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#108 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $91 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Court Serviced Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Green Court Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Jinqiao Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Citadines Apart Hotel Jinqiao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing