We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere close to Somerset standarts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai
Ranked #118 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nowhere close to Somerset standarts”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Normally, Somerset is a good choice for Families (the one in Bangkok is really great), so we chose to stay there when my family came for visit. As it turned out, this was a very bad choice!

The furniture looked cheap and in a bad shape, the bed was terribly uncomforable (seriously, I've had better beds in some hostles) and the corridors had the most awkward smell.
The kitchen, which is a key reason for booking Somerset was in a deplorable shape, poorly maintained and simply unpleasant! Also, don't expect to have any good supermarkets like City Market or Olé close to it.
What's the point of booking a hotel with a kitchen if there is no decent ingredients to buy anywhere close to it?

The Area is good though, Once you've explored it, you can find excellent restaurants and a lot of great stores there, but there is plenty of better hotels in a similar price range and better location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 小克 上
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wee D, Manager at Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am truly sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience.

With regards to the property and its furnishing; We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. Please be assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our guests. For this reason, Somerset Xu Hui will be undergoing a partial renovation program commencing by the end of this year.

As for your comment about supermarkets, besides the Tesco which is 5 minutes walk away, there is a City Shop located in SML Mall which is about 12 minutes walking distance away from us. Also, we do provide shuttle services to Careffour every Wednesdays and Saturdays.

I hope this piece of information is useful to your goodself for your future stay and also for all others reading this.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
7
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family and I stayed here in June 2012. We had an enjoyable stay and the staff were very kind and helpful to us. The facility is well maintained and right at the subway station - purple line, I think.

We had a washer and dryer in our apartment which was easy to use and such a great laundry help for a family with young children.

If you stay here, do print out the name card from the hotel's website to give to your cabby. Our cab driver could not locate it at first because the hotel entrance faces away from the main street, Zhao Jia Bang Lu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We took a double apartment here for a little more than a month. The price was good for the location, which was very convenient for business, self-catering, and restaurants; especially good value as there is a clean gym with basic but comprehensive, new clean equipment. The rooms were comfortable and the kitchen was basic but sufficient. We didn't use the hotel's breakfast service, as the in-room kitchen equipment was more than sufficient for self-catering.

Any issues were sorted out quickly and efficiently by the front desk staff, most of whom spoke reasonably good or very good English. Room staff were friendly and attentive. There were some families with kids on our floor, and the kids were the normal level of loud - we could hear them in the hallway - but as soon as they were in their own flat, we couldn't hear anything anymore. So quite peaceful. On a fairly busy street, but the traffic noise was not too bad.

Room Tip: Shanghai is prone to mosquitos when the weather gets warmer so try to get something on a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It is a residential service apartment. The resecption staff seak fluent english. The rooms are a bit small , the common area like the sofa dining and kitchen are reasonably sized. From the higher floors can get a good view of the city. Only bad thing is the breakfast . It was horrible. The fruits were over ripe, not much of a choice, the croissants looked a few days old.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the upper floors . The swimming pool and the gym is good . There is a star bucks , cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajesh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I had been staying in this hotel for a few days on the business trip early this year.
I am a Thai and is Non-Chinese speaking, i few secure staying in this hotel.
The staffs are great and always trying to help when i wanted to go somewhere.
Although the facility is a little aged, everything still perform its duty adequately in a proper way.

Anyone seeking for a safe and decent place to stay in Shanghai, i highly recommend this hotel.
I will stay here again should i travel to Shanghai again.

John Praphan Thanaphan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Simple but equipped with what you need at home from washer to pots and pans. Located in a residential compound and it is easy to travel around as the metro is barely 5 minutes away and taxi is easy as the staff are readily helping to call for one on your behalf. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, truly hospitable. But do not expect for classy and hotel kind of experience. Dining is easy in the surrounding.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank han_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Indeed , It's really gives me imense pleasure to give my feedback about Somerset - XuHui Serviced Apts in Shanghai . Since last three years , when ever I visit Shanghai , I used to stay at Somerset only , whether it is short stay OR long stay . The best part is their whole staff very much cooperative , always humble & all are having very pleasing personalities . They are always ready to help you . Then offcourse , their prompt services & cleaniness is remarkable . The location is very convenient . Taxi, Metro (Line 9 ) , Bus Station just 5 minute walk , Taxi's are available 24x7 . Besides, it is situated in Shanxi Nan Lu , very famous street . The Xu Jai Hui for purchase of any electronics items is very near .

Their another good part is well maintained Gim & Swiming Pool . I really Love to stay at Somerset . All the Apts ( 1 / 2/ 3 rooms ) are very well decorated . It always gives me homely feel .

My Best & good wishes are always with the whole staff of Somerset . Very Recently I stayed there for about a month . V.K.Bhatnagar

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#148 of 5,105 in Shanghai
272 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#178 of 5,105 in Shanghai
187 reviews
Former French Concession
Livo| Ergeng Hotel
Livo| Ergeng Hotel
#210 of 5,105 in Shanghai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#146 of 5,105 in Shanghai
146 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai

Property: Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai
Address: No.888 Shaanxi Nan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#167 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location for utives and their families, Somerset Xu Hui is centrally located in the heart of Shanghai’s prestigious Xu Hui residential district. It is minutes drive away from the Xujiahui Commercial Centre, which offers a wide array of fashionable shopping, gourmet cuisine and entertainment. International culinary, academic, cultural and social pursuits can be found at the nearby Huaihai Road. Free musical and drama performances can also be enjoyed at the adjacent Xujiahui Park. Combining tranquility with convenience, Somerset Xu Hui offers a large range of apartments, each complete with a spacious living and dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a top-quality home entertainment system and broadband internet access. Our 24-hour security system provides a safe environment for you and your family. For a balanced lifestyle, Somerset Xu Hui organizes Reservations residents’ programmes, including group gatherings, city explorations and sports activities. For recreation, relax and enjoy our fitness centre, swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Our helpful, caring staff and personalized attention is the core of our signature Heartware service, which is our commitment to tailor each residence to your individual needs. Conducting business at Somerset Xu Hui is easy and convenient. With WiFi zones and our efficient Business Centre, you will have complete business connectivity from the comfort of your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing