We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Affordable Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #67 of 4,320 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, Affordable Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Eton has excellent service, in my experience, and is a great weekend escape. The rooms are comfortable, have wonderful showers and tubs, and many have good views of the city or the Huangpu river. Their breakfast spread is plentiful and varied, and the executive floor lounge, should one stay there, is a very good deal: cocktails, hors d'oerves, desserts, and free coffee throughout the day. Room service is well-prepared and abundant. The swimming pool is large, relaxing, and often almost empty. Though slightly out of the way - not on line 2 - the Eton is right next to a subway stop - line 4 at Pudong Avenue.
The only draw back is that the in-house restaurants (other than the very good breakfast buffet) are pricey and hit or miss. But the service, the comfort, and the affordability, plus relatively easy access to the many offerings of Lujiazui with its shops and restaurans more than make-up for its few shortcomings.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river, north, or west, have great water or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinYaXin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    271
    63
    18
    12
See reviews for
30
96
50
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In my 30 years of business travel, I would say this was the smallest Hotel room (cell) I can ever remember having, The hotel is located in a somewhat dank neighborhood...nothing going on here...there is however a subway stop directly across the street.
Would not be my first choice on my next trip back....

Room Tip: I stayed at the Parkview Hotel in previous trips...nicer Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for spending time to write a comment on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your feedback made on our products and services.
Your related feedback will be addressed to senior management for further improvement.
Thank you once again for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We appreciate very much your support and look forward to welcome you back again.
Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times at various trips to Shanghai. Rooms are spacious, modern furniture, good gym, bf contains everything I need and the metro is in walking distance.
And all at an unbeatable rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nafihsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changshu, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I want to take time out to thank Guest relation Manager Samantha and Front Desk Manager Mr. Mike as well as Mr Sirko and all of the staff who helped my wife with the injury to my daughter during my stay at the Eton. They supported my wife to the hospital and stayed with her until I could arrive. I want to thank General Manager Luc Bollen for your continued support and striving to make sure my stay is enjoyable. I have stayed many times at the Eton for business as well as pleasure and will say that I'm happy with every part of the hotel. I would suggest this hotel for business as well as pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCzupski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services. Your kind words and appreciation made will be shared among our team members.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation. We shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thanks for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is located on the Pudong side of the river. Nice view to the high rises at night. Top notch amenities in room! TV above bath tub which is separated by glass wall from bedroom, separate shower, separate w.c. and mircrofridge with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. While there isn't much within immediate walking distance, it is a quick cab ride to the towers, oriental towers,malls,etc... Would definitely recommend to all looking for excellent quality/service without paying prices of those closer to waterfront (i.e. Ritz)

Room Tip: any with view towards Shanghai city center are great options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chschiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Eton before and found it a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. It's in Pudong and not near tourist attractions but being right across the road from a subway station - it's really easy to get around.

Unfortunately on my last stay, I got food poisoning at breakfast. I know it was the breakfast at the hotel because I didn't have dinner the night before and had nothing else until I started vomiting about 3-4 hours later. Throwing up on the plane from Shanghai to Hong Kong - not my finest hour.

Obviously this really shouldn't happen at an international standard hotel. However what is really annoying is that breakfast is not included in the booking and at around US$35, it's actually very pricey.

Add to that the fact that internet is only available in your room at extra cost and the thermostat on the air conditioning didn't work.

There are lots of choices in Shanghai - next time I will make a different one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rodosteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and valuable time you took.

We are happy to learn that you had satisfactory stays in the past.
We are truly sorry to hear that you were not feeling well and endured a less than enjoyable flight to Hong Kong.

Food safety is of utmost importance to us and as such we have a fully equipped food safety laboratory at the hotel and a full time food hygiene doctor.

Following your comment our in depth investigation shows no other case during the period of your stay, albeit we serve several hundreds of meals daily at breakfast, nor any negative sample analysis.

Please rest assured that it is of utmost importance to our guests to ensure that the food served must be safe and prepared with the highest level of hygiene requirement. We have very strict guidelines and rules for our Food Preparation Teams.

As our guests have different needs and priorities, we do offer a variety of packages which offer a wide spectrum of options from “room only” to “inclusive deals” with breakfast and internet included, in addition to the free WIFI we offer in all our public areas. This allows our guest to tailor and budget their stay with us.

Thank you once again for providing this valuable feedback and we do hope you will visit us again, on which occasion we look forward to meet you in person.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Pudong, close to the river. It's not super close to the center and there aren't a lot of good dining options right next door, but you could walk to some if you want. When I visited, there was a doorman, "Ricky" who lived in the U.S. for a year and was super friendly. He was a hoot. The hotel has this incredible sculpture of running horses in the lobby. It's so good I thought it should be in a museum. One funny thing - in the lobby and hallways before you get to the room, the hotel plays this version of Muzak which is sort of a symphonized version of scores to American movies -- like Harry Potter and The Godfather. I got a kick out of that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEtonHotelShanghai, Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product & services had met your expectation and we shall strive further in continuing to improve the staying experience of our guests.

If you need some information about dining options available nearby, you may check with our concierge staffs. They will be pleased to served you.

In addition to some dining option nearby, you are welcomed to try out our delights and delicacies served at hotel's restaurants, presented by our signature chefs. There are multiple cuisines choices such as Chinese, Continental and Southeast Asian cuisines available to cater our guests' needs.

Thanks for providing us this valuable feedback and thank you for choosing The Eton Hotel Shanghai. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.

Management Team
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
#43 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#49 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard Shanghai Central
Courtyard Shanghai Central
#29 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#31 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eton Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel Shanghai

Property: The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Eton Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing