We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel / Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eton Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #66 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Changshu, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel / Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is one of the few that you don't hear about with all the 5-star hotels in Shanghai, China. This hotel ranks very high with me with there friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. The Buffet is very good and it has many of the 5-star amenities that make this hotel a cost effective business hotel to stay while visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCzupski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    274
    63
    18
    12
See reviews for
32
97
51
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had travelled to Shanghai with my Husband on his business trip. We stayed at Eton Hotel for 3 days,stay was within our budget and our experience was excellent.

This was my first visit to Shanghai and hotel staff provided us with best services that made us content. On Checking in, at the reception they had adviced us some good indian restaurants that we should surely visit. It was great help to us. It was very convenient for us to get a taxi outside the hotel,the door kepper would assist us by explaining the destination to taxi driver in Chinese.

The rooms were spacious, neat with best amenities.We just ate breakfast which included large varities of cuisines,it would surely match your taste.The Eton Hotel has superb fascilities of gym, swimming pool and Spa. I had a great Body Massage with the discount coupon given to us complementary by hotel.

My husband has visited Shanghai earleir, but his experience at the Eton hotel was the best among all and we highly recommend it.If We visit Shanghai again,Eton hotel would be our choice again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

As a frequent visitor to Shanghai, I took advantage of a special deal to try the Eton instead of my usual hotel in Pudong.
First off this was a far better location next to a subway and one block from the River and ferry.
View from my bedroom window was stunning.
I stayed her on two occassions, the first in a room overlooking the river, the next was a complimentary upgrade to a corner suite which was outstanding and a bathtub large enough to invite all your close friends
The standard of the hotel throughout was excellent.
They have the best pool, spa, gym I have seen in any hotel anywhere.
Breakfast is not to be missed the selection and food is excellent.
But there are a few negatives, the first being that restaurant meals in the evening were mediocre at best. Dont waste your time or money.
And a big gripe for me is any business hotel that cannot offer hi speed wifi internet. - and it should be free. The Eton wifi was patchy, worked in some areas and not others and despite their IT manager trying to resolve all the issues, he admitted that it was not able to provide a good service.
When will hotels wake up and just as we expect lights, running hot and cold water, wifi is essential when travelling, should work throughout the premises and should be free

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have been coming to Shanghai for a few years now and the Eaton is the best place for the money. The rooms are clean, the staff is nice and the executive floor is great!

Two things on this place that they need to change. There is an odor on the first floor that is "weird " but you can get used to it. The biggest problem that I have here is that the restaurants are not good. If you want a good meal, take a cab to the Grand Hyatt or the Park Hyatt down the street for 14RMB and get a great meal with a great view of the city.

I have stayed in the Eaton many times and each time it is for 2 weeks or more.

Great place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holeman_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Chinese chain. Not so friendly staff. Rooms were ok, above standard. Gym and pool area were really nice.
Breakfast was nice, but staff is not friendly and they are slow.
Internet: no wireless in the rooms, and via cable, it was very slow.
I have been to this hotel about 6 times, it's been the same every time. Location is not great, but it was close to my office.
Slow check out, no help with luggage. It gets the 4 stars for the clean rooms and the nice gym.
Ask for tower view to get the nice view.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colognejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The hotel is really up to expectations and very good value for money. It is conveniently located in front of the pudong avenue metro station, perfectly connected with the airport, the railway station and the city center. However the surrounding area is residential and there are no shops, no cafes, no restaurants whatsoever. This means that, if you do not want to use the expensive hotel facilities, you have to catch a transport mean for any of your needs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbiamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The ambience off the hotel will lure you. The main lobbly asa well as the small lobby's on each floor is very attractable. The hotel is in the new Pudong area which is very close to many shopping areas.
The staff is very good and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikramkirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
#43 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#53 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard Shanghai Central
Courtyard Shanghai Central
#27 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eton Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel Shanghai

Property: The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Eton Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing