We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Ranked #83 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked this hotel for 4 nights just this week as I have to deliver a 4-day training to one of our vendors nearby.

The Good: Rooms are clean and spacious, daily newspaper, daily turndown service (need not request for this), daily bucket of ice, The shower is separate from the bath, ample amount of bathroom supplies (had more than enough towels etc.), Good fitness center and inddor heated pool, located in a very quiet community but.....(see The Bad)

The Bad: You have to pay for internet though the price ain't too bad really, Breakfast is expensive, carpets need a little more TLC, in-room dining menu is expensive, location is a bit too quiet....sad even...

There is a commercial area nearby (Wanda Plaza), as well as rows of good dining options if you wander around side streets (but it is pretty hard to communicate with the locals because very few can understand english). What we usually do is bring in a local who can help us communicate our orders better.

There is a nice restaurant around Wanda Plaza that serves Xinjiang Cuisine....one of my new favorites

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Borzman,thank you very much for taking time to provide us the valuble comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our hotel room and fitness facilities, also thank you for your advise regarding our breakfast and in room service menu, we will try to enrich the variety and quantity of the food to rise the value.Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 484 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. It had the best buffet breakfast we experienced in our month long stay around China. The room was fine, clean and spacious, with an above average bathroom. Beds were not too hard.... Excellent fitness facilities, and the most lovely indoor pool! We found the location fine, in a quiet, safe and interesting neighborhood, a short walk from the wonderfully convenient and easy to use Shanghai subway. We found service to be excellent and attentive. We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RecentlyRetired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Recently Retired 2012, thank you very much for taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our hotel room, facilities and breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very convenient hotel location if you are visiting Fudan University, it is just across the university. It has a nice pool and bar. Internet however has to pay extra. Clean and big room, breakfast has good variety and selection.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear C T, thank you very much for taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our hotel facilities and breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location if you are attending a course/conference at nearby Fudan University but a long drive in gridlock traffic from the Bund, Old Shanghai and other tourist spots. My room #1406 was large with a king size bed, flat screen TV, desk, coffee/tea service and bathroom with whirlpool tub, separate shower enclosure and toiletries but we wasted hours being driven through dense traffic to get to temples, gardens, markets and an evening acrobatic performance. This is too far out for tourists. There has to be a better location for tour groups. The hotel provided two bottles of water per person per day for drinking and brushing teeth since we were told it was not advisable to drink the tap water without boiling it first. The Crowne Plaza buffet breakfast was served in a sunny, ground-floor cafeteria with hot and cold Western and Chinese selections which included an omelet station and fresh pastries but coffee was a problem. Staff insisted in brewing and serving one cup at a time from a Nespresso coffee machine. It was painfully slow. Impatient diners got up and stood in line with an empty cup hoping to get in on the next dribble of caffeine. This could have turned real nasty real fast. Finally, a few coffee pots were distributed around the room but this bottleneck was almost as bad as the traffic jams on the roads. Stay here if you have an event at the university but tourists will find there is no easy access for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear xygb7dklt, thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us the valuable comments, we are glad to see that you were satisfied with our room and room facilities but we feel sorry that our coffee service in the morning left you an unpleasant experience in our hotel.

As part of our hotel standards, we try our best to ensure that your first coffee of the day is a freshly brewed coffee. Due to your comments, we will rethink our operational procedure and increase our speed of coffee service.

Furthermore, from now on we will prepare some coffee pots in advance in order to resolve this bottleneck during peak hours.

We will definitely take this opportunity to reinforce our training approach with the restaurant employees, in order to be more efficient and friendly as well to our customers.

Again, thank you for your loyalty to our group and we look forward to welcoming you arrive to our hotel next time you visit Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would have given this hotel a 4 if it wasn't for the service. We arrived after midnight after a long day of excursions and traveling. When we checked in, it took a long time and then we were given 3 different rooms on 3 separate floors even though we are part of a group tour and all family! To make thing worse, the desk clerk wanted us to wait longer so that she can send someone up to the rooms to take all the beverages out of the mini-refrigerators so that our kids do not take them! How rude and insulting! They definitely do not have any consideration for travelers arriving so late at night. The rooms were nice enough and overall very clean and with good size bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was very extensive and had a decent selection. The only thing is the water tastes disgusting! Even the tea and coffee has the weird taste, almost like dirt. We stuck to our bottle waters and the juices. A very nice hotel marred by its service. Will probably not be my first choice if I ever get the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spunkymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear spunkymom2, thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us valuable comments.

We’re very sorry to know your unpleasant experience upon check in. we take it very seriously and We are now working our best to correct issues which could impact guest’s staying experience. Your comment is really helpful for us.

As for your experience in our restaurant, from my understanding of the problem, the water we use for our teas or coffees are coming from a separate purified water pipeline. The water is being inspected regularly a year by a quality controlling company and our filtration system in always in good condition. We will definitely take this opportunity to review all machines status again and try to understand better "the weird taste" you mentioned and fix it.

Again, thank you for bringing these up and helping us on improving our service quality in the hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back and see the improvement of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Let me start by saying that I am not a fan of large, impersonal business hotels, so this review may be a tad severe. I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan while attending a course at Fudan University, it was the obvious choice of accomodation given the purpose of my trip.
Positive notes:
- comfortable beds
- large, well appointed rooms
- clean bathrooms
- good breakfast, both the buffet and the room service
- helpful front-desk staff
- ideal location for Fudan U.
However, a few areas need more work:
- my room smelled damp for the entire duration of the stay. I don't know if it's because the room hasdn't been used in awhile or because the AC needed cleaning, but it was a very strong and ennoying smell.
- in order to cover the smell, I requested an aromatherapy burner as offered on the pillow menu, and each day I requested a refill. Communicating in English with Express Service on the phone was a real challenge; most days I ended up asking Reception to convey my request to the relevant people.
- communication problems also occured with some of the people working at the concierge desk.
- the Chinese food at the restaurant (a la carte & buffet) was disappointingly bland. Where are the tasty local specialities?
- I'm always somewhat disappointed when I have to pay for internet access in a business hotel, but I understand that opinions differ on that subject.

Overall an ok stay, but I wouldn't go back unless I had something to do in the Fudan U. area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Andreanne 75, thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan for your business trip and taking time to provide us valuable comments. As for the room smell you mentioned, we take it seriously and have asked our room attendants to pay attention, but if possible, we want to know the room number you stayed so we can check it in time.

About the communication issue, we will take more action with our training manager to improve staff's English skill, deeply sorry for any inconvenience we may cause for you.

For your food and beverage experience in our restaurant, we apologize if the food was not your taste. We have discussed with our chef and kitchen staffs undergo a consistent training program to ensure that the quality of the food remains high. Our menu does feature local delicacies such as Xiao Long Bao. Furthermore, if there is any thing else that you would like that is not on the menu, please let us know and we will do our utmost to prepare it for you.

Hope you could see our improvement in your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here 4 days for my business trip last week and have good experience in Fudan Crown Plaza. Staff is nice and have good foresight, , breakfast is good, hotel room size is good enough and clean, but WIFI access via iPAD in room is slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Byron L, Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our rooms and breakfast. For the Wifi, actually we have taken some actions to raise the internet speed, hope you could feel the improvement in your next stay. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
#100 of 5,112 in Shanghai
669 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#80 of 5,112 in Shanghai
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Howard Johnson Caida Plaza Shanghai
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#2,516 of 5,112 in Shanghai
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan

Address: No.199 Handan Road, Shanghai, China, Shanghai 200433, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#67 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $82 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Fudan Shanghai officially opened on the 12th June 2006Crowne Plaza Fudan is situated in the Yangpu district, opposite the prestigious Fudan University on Handan Road, the new opened Wanda commercial centre with Shopping Mall and Wal-Mart; easy access to Shanghai's CBD district, the Bund, Pudong and tourist attractions.At the Crowne Plaza Fudan, you'll enjoy a comfortable stay with attentive, courteous service and an impressive offering of business facilities and leisure venues. Crowne Plaza Fudan offers 309 elegantly appointed guest rooms with 34 suites each designed in a contemporary style. From our Standard, Premier and Crowne Plaza Club rooms to our spacious suites, each selection is sure to meet your needs.Committed to meeting the needs of the business traveler, Crowne Plaza Fudan offers an extended range of business services. From meeting venues featuring state-of-the-art audio-visual and communications systems to our Meeting Success program, we've got all your needs covered. What's more, we offer a host of leisure venues and concierge-arranged tours, adding additional enjoyment to your stay In bustling Shanghai, you'll agree The Place to Meet is Crowne Plaza Fudan Shanghai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing