We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet(ish!) corner of the French Concession”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #198 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 whilst visiting Shanghai for a few days.

The location of the hotel is great. Nice and close to Fuxing Park and within comfortable walking distance of many of the other attractions in and around the French concession.

The room was excellent value for the facilities provided and the money we paid. We were 'upgraded' although this meant we had more floorspace rather than any extras.

Our only real disappointment was that the airconditioning is only set to warm! Apparently it would be a few more weeks before the cool function would be enabled! A bit disappointing when the outside temperature is 26 degrees!

Other than that we enjoyed our stay in this otherwise pleasant and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 236 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

The French Concession is one of the best districts in the city and I think it beats Pudong or the Bund hands down in terms of atmosphere, convenience and walkability. The hotel is a very nice smallish place with a low key character. My room was very spacious and stylish with low lighting, dark lacquered furniture and coloured neon highlights throughout. Hard to describe but it worked. Breakfast in the top floor restaurant was excellent. The staff were pleasant and professional. When I got home I noticed a mistake with the billing and after I emailed them they resolved it straight away. I recommend this hotel because it has a unique style that you won't find in a large chain hotel, the rooms are large and very nicely appointed and the location is hard to beat. I stayed in August 2011 for two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A very very spacious room (corner studio room611) with an even bigger bathroom and a marvelous overhead shower. Room has nice decor too. Hotel is right on Fuxing park which is a cultural experience you can't miss due to the flurry of activity. It's also walking distance to the Metro, and both Xintandi and Sinan Mansion restaurant districts (many western and Chinese restaurants at both). The restaurant food is not overly good and also very expensive. If you really need food in-house you are better off using Sherpas.com where you can choose from 100s of local restaurants that will deliver to your door within 30 mins. We have booked this hotel again for the next time we visit Shanghai.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Ano444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and son and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in March 2013. We found the hotel on hotels.com and took a chance - and it really paid off! The staff is warm and helpful - we were upgraded to a studio right away, and Sissy at the front desk even helped us order food into our room on several nights. The location is perfect - right in the French Concession, a short walk to Xintandi, and down a short block to Fuxing Park (not-to-miss in the mornings to watch dancing, Chinese yo-yo, singing, you name it!!) The decor of the hotel and the room is quirky, fun, and modern. The room we had was super comfortable - and the bathroom is GORGEOUS! BIG tub, cushy robes, and fantastic amenities all over the room. The work/desk area has a printer to use, office supplies in the desk drawer (tape, scissors, post-its, the works!!) This is truly one of my favorite hotels of all time. It made our week in Shanghai a delight. We will definitely stay again on our next visit to Shanghai!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriLdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I come here every year to get away and enjoy the sights and sounds of Shanghai's French quarter. The location is great, in a quiet area of the french quarter. The restaurant and service are fine but the true selling points are the luxurious rooms and the great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielNLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Had booked online and had some issues with the room configuration as they had not read the information from Agoda correctly. At approximately midnight whilst desperately wanting to get to bed after a long flight I had to have a heated discussion with the duty manager at the front desk.
I would advise any foreigners staying here who can't speak Chinese to avoid this hotel at all costs. The clerk at the front desk advised me that 400rmb in my own currency is nothing and that I should just pay the extra....
Jinjiang inn staff are far more friendlier which says a lot about this place seeing as it costs a lot more....

The room was ok. Cheesy decor with lots of innuendo - not sure who stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPudiHotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Madam & Sir:

Thank you so much for post your comments here, also please accept our sincerest apologize. In fact it should be a misunderstanding in this case, because we did't communicate well with us and AGODA , that's really bring you and your family a lot of trouble. Of course we have some problem with our communication skill with our clients , so that we have organize a emergancy meeting afterwards about how to contact with agency on website , how to communication with guests , how to do anything with personality and flexibility . At last ,reallly sorry again for your unpleasant expierence and believe we will make a big change in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were delayed on our flight over to Shanghai and arrived after 11pm at night. We had booked through Agoda and as I was travelling on business with my son, we wanted twin beds in the room and had booked this configuration both on the internet and specified in the special instructions. On arrival, we went to our room and it was one king size bed. As my son speaks Mandarin, he went to speak to the duty manager, who was extremely unhelpful and wanted us to pay extra for a twin bedded room. I would have thought that this is a very reasonable request. Eventually we were put into a twin room, but after a really unpleasant fight. This soured our experience. The duty manager made comments to the effect that the extra amount requested didn't amount to much in our currency, which I think is immensely insulting. The good things about the hotel is that it is in a nice area, close to the subway and the toiletries are L'Occitane. The decor in the rooms is by Western standards completely over the top and kitsch. Not many decent restaurants in the area as well.

Room Tip: Ensure you really get what you are booking else you may be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPudiHotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Madam & Sir:

Thank you so much for post your comments here, also please accept our sincerest apologize. In fact it should be a misunderstanding in this case, because we did't communicate well with us and AGODA , that's really bring you and your family a lot of trouble. Of course we have some problem with our communication skill with our clients , so that we have organize a emergancy meeting afterwards about how to contact with agency on website , how to communication with guests , how to do anything with personality and flexibility . At last ,reallly sorry again for your unpleasant expierence and believe we will make a big change in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#159 of 5,206 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#185 of 5,206 in Shanghai
191 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#175 of 5,206 in Shanghai
287 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,206 in Shanghai
620 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#162 of 5,206 in Shanghai
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#169 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $105 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing