We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star hardware, two stars deducted...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Ranked #163 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Five star hardware, two stars deducted...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is worth 5 stars in many ways- excellent location, comfy and modern design, a full set of toiletries, a good choice of breakfast etc. It's right opposite the JingAn Temple metro station, and a short walk away from the restaurant area at the former French Concession.

However, I have to deduct two stars due to two things-

1. Very weak in-room wifi. Perhaps it's just my room, but wifi should be essential in a brand new 5 star boutique hotel in the middle of China's metropolis. There's no excuse for the weak or even absent signals.

2. Half-empty bath gel- this is very gross. Only after I put some of the shower gel on my body that I realize it's originally half-empty. It was out first night at the hotel and we have not touched the shower gel at all. The only explanation is that the housekeeper mistook the used gel as a new one. VERY UNHYGIENIC especially when Shanghai is under the threat of avian flu H7N9.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. First of all, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have already highlighted it to our management. The necessary action will be followed. Once again, Thank you very much for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    100
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
39
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
212 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a early check out and the staff was very agressive and mean. They didn't want to help us with our luggage (we have a 2 year old kid). This is a shame!
Otherwise, the breakfast is free but very limited and not very good. They don't know how to cook scrambled eggs.
The room are excellent: very nice bed, very nice bathroom... but when the staff happens to be so mean, it spoils everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripRater75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. First of all, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have already highlighted it to our management. We will provide more training to our staff, to make sure it won't happen again.
Once again, Thank you very much for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

On a brief business trip I chose this hotel mainly because of its proximity to my meeting locations and the adjacent Jing An Temple subway station. Frankly I was not expecting to like this place as much as I did. Recently remodeled the rooms are large by Shanghai standards and the interior design is quite nice. The rooms have a fresh modern feel and I had a terrific view of the Temple and park on Nanjing Road from my room on the 18th floor. A water leak at the window did cause some peeling paint but otherwise I was quite pleased with the room. The materials, fixtures and furnishings were all of good quality as suits a 4 star property.

Breakfast was included although the choices were limited. I'd stick the the Chinese selections as the Western choices were of a confused quality and the chef had problems cooking an egg as requested. Excellent coffee however.

Also included was free wifi, a full complement of bath amenities including razor, toothbrush, sewing kit, etc; all those things you expect in a 4 star hotel. It seemed to be good value for money.

The downside was a very limited TV program selection. If you do not speak Mandarin you'll be stuck with CCTV English news which just repeats ad nauseam. One important problem is the lack of a secure elevator. The lobby is on the 12th floor and the elevators are shared with some other businesses in the building. The elevator lobby can be accessed directly from the outside from two entries 24 hours so anyone can access the guest room floors directly from the street. There were a key card scanners in the elevators but they were nonfunctional for some reason. Security is a real issue they need to address.

I will certainly stay here again. The hotel is clean, fairly well managed and the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Paramount Gallary Hotel is an excellent facility with almost full service. The breakfast that is included in the room price was quite international with choices for Asians, Europeans anAmericans. Our room was excellent; comfortable, clean, with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. Unfortunately, at the present time, the restaurant is not open for dinner and there is no room service after 5:00PM. That should lower the star level of the hotel until they resume evening food service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5d4n. A very convenient location just outside jingan metro line2.

Food - The hotel breakfast was ok. If you are still hungry, Just outside the back of the hotel is the babi mantou which sees a long q.

Room- big room which is very new and clean. No complaints.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moomooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay there during last few days of 2012. Love the place, location, design, staffsi and breakfast. Only complaints are small breakfast area and hot air-conditioning. Everything else a sweet perfect. Having its opening promotion currently so if you are in Shanghai, give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Paramount Gallery Hotel in December and I absolutely loved it. The staff could speak English very well and check-in was a breeze. The room was very good and the bathroom did not disappoint at all.

The whole Hotel has a boutique hotel kind of feel and hence feels different than regular hotels. And the location is bang in the center of downtown Shanghai right opposite the beautiful Jing An Temple. In the evenings one can just walk around on the streets of this obviously very fashionable part of Shanghai.

The breakfast could have been better though with more choices. Anyways I would love to stay here again on my next trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KikiMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#45 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#56 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#44 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#226 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Gallery Hotel

Property: Paramount Gallery Hotel
Address: No.1728 Nanjing West Road, Jingan District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#140 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Paramount Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailemen Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing