We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Ranked #175 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed March 1, 2013

On a brief business trip I chose this hotel mainly because of its proximity to my meeting locations and the adjacent Jing An Temple subway station. Frankly I was not expecting to like this place as much as I did. Recently remodeled the rooms are large by Shanghai standards and the interior design is quite nice. The rooms have a fresh modern feel and I had a terrific view of the Temple and park on Nanjing Road from my room on the 18th floor. A water leak at the window did cause some peeling paint but otherwise I was quite pleased with the room. The materials, fixtures and furnishings were all of good quality as suits a 4 star property.

Breakfast was included although the choices were limited. I'd stick the the Chinese selections as the Western choices were of a confused quality and the chef had problems cooking an egg as requested. Excellent coffee however.

Also included was free wifi, a full complement of bath amenities including razor, toothbrush, sewing kit, etc; all those things you expect in a 4 star hotel. It seemed to be good value for money.

The downside was a very limited TV program selection. If you do not speak Mandarin you'll be stuck with CCTV English news which just repeats ad nauseam. One important problem is the lack of a secure elevator. The lobby is on the 12th floor and the elevators are shared with some other businesses in the building. The elevator lobby can be accessed directly from the outside from two entries 24 hours so anyone can access the guest room floors directly from the street. There were a key card scanners in the elevators but they were nonfunctional for some reason. Security is a real issue they need to address.

I will certainly stay here again. The hotel is clean, fairly well managed and the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Paramount Gallary Hotel is an excellent facility with almost full service. The breakfast that is included in the room price was quite international with choices for Asians, Europeans anAmericans. Our room was excellent; comfortable, clean, with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. Unfortunately, at the present time, the restaurant is not open for dinner and there is no room service after 5:00PM. That should lower the star level of the hotel until they resume evening food service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5d4n. A very convenient location just outside jingan metro line2.

Food - The hotel breakfast was ok. If you are still hungry, Just outside the back of the hotel is the babi mantou which sees a long q.

Room- big room which is very new and clean. No complaints.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank moomooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay there during last few days of 2012. Love the place, location, design, staffsi and breakfast. Only complaints are small breakfast area and hot air-conditioning. Everything else a sweet perfect. Having its opening promotion currently so if you are in Shanghai, give it a try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Paramount Gallery Hotel in December and I absolutely loved it. The staff could speak English very well and check-in was a breeze. The room was very good and the bathroom did not disappoint at all.

The whole Hotel has a boutique hotel kind of feel and hence feels different than regular hotels. And the location is bang in the center of downtown Shanghai right opposite the beautiful Jing An Temple. In the evenings one can just walk around on the streets of this obviously very fashionable part of Shanghai.

The breakfast could have been better though with more choices. Anyways I would love to stay here again on my next trip.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank KikiMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Walking distance to attractions. Next to subway. Friendly staff with good English. Excellent rooms for exceptional value ($104). Breakfast included (ask for egg dishes). All round, 4+ star hotel for 3 star prices.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. Pleasantly found it was newly renovated and the results are quite good. Room is clean and bright and service is also nice. Location is great as it is in the center of the city, a few steps from subway which could easily go to airport and trainstation and almost everywhere in the city. Big shoping malls and food center close by.
Breakfast is small choice but good enough. The only weakness is the bathroom as it is a bit small and water always leak onto the floor due to unproper design of the bathtub. Price is a bit higher considering the facilities.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNSONLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we will double check the issue you mentioned. Looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,161 in Shanghai
629 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#107 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,186 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
614 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#101 of 5,161 in Shanghai
767 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#53 of 5,161 in Shanghai
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Gallery Hotel

Address: No.1728 Nanjing West Road, Jingan District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#153 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $102 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailemen Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing