We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Nearby Hotels
$172
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$146
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
188
228
56
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
228
56
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspearl citywithout traffichong qiao airportbig supermarketexecutive club loungesewing kitshopping complexbusiness trippleasant staybusiness hotelbuffet restaurantwithin walking distancewestern foodexecutive floortrain stationbusiness loungestar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 499 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was on business and stayed for 14 nights. I took the executive floor room because it included breakfast and internet for less than paying for those separately. The room was spacious and had everything one needed, but it wasn't any larger or better appointed than the non-executive room my colleague was in. The bathroom was great with separate shower and tub, the only criticism is that the shower had mold which housekeeping wasn't able to address in regular cleanings. The service was very good on the executive floor with a free happy hour as well with free access to a computer and printer. Otherwise the business center would charge for printing and use of a computer. The concierge on the executive floor was very helpful, in contrast the concierge on the ground floor was not terribly helpful and seemed almost annoyed to be bothered. The hotel was well situated for my purposes but it would not be a good location for tourism as it's rather far from any area of interest.

Room Tip: Stay on the executive floor(s) it's worth the extra cost. But there is a smoking room on the 13th floor... ask to be as far away from that as possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear ticaho, Many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay with us, especially in to your chosen accommodation on the Executive Club Floor and as you have mentioned it has several benefits which are included.
Your positive remarks to our Executive Club Floor personnel are much appreciated, we have also noted your points in regards to the Concierge service.
Today I was able to personally check the room which you occupied, while our Housekeeping personnel is well trained, the stains which you mentioned require special attention from our Engineering department, which is currently in process of solving this problem.
We sincerely thank you for your positive and constructive comments and we trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the not too distant future
with best regards, Rene Teuscher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was here on business and stayed 5 nights. The room was large and well furnished with the normal luxury items (mini bar, robes, slippers, etc...). There was ample closet space and the bathroom was very large with both a shower and a tub. I did stay on an executive floor so there may be a difference in furnishings based on this. The business desk was nice and they even supplied office items (scissors, highlighter, glue, paper, pencil sharpener ,stapler, etc..) which was a very nice bonus for me. There was also a drawer full of toiletries in case you forgot something. The breakfast buffet was exceptional and the room was extremely quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Honqiao area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Kennedjt,
many thanks for staying with us and expressing your positive comments about our Hotel and your accommodation on the Executive Club Floor. Indeed the stationary items are primarily reserved for our Executive Club Floor Guests.
We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future
with best regards
Rene Teuscher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a very good hotel, stayed 5 nights on a business trip. The room was a good size and well equipped/decorated. Well equipped for business visit with built in travel adaptors at the desk and both wired and wireless internet.
The buffet breakfast in O Cafe was excellent and the dinner in same place was reasonable.
The staff were very friendly and nothing but helpful, including dealing with my early checkin ( pre noon).

It may well have been the hardest bed I ever slept on but it grew used to that!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank HoustonTravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear HoustonTravel4,
many thanks for sharing your experience at our Hotel.
Your comments in regards to O'Cafe are much appreciated and our employees thank you for their recognition.
We all look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
with best regards
Rene Teuscher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wide and spacious, the milennium offers large rooms and excellent restaurants. Pearl city close, for a better local feeling. In the evening some jazz that brightens the lobby. It was my first visit to china and this ultra comfy hotel was exactly right. Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esterwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Esterwens,
many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear Guest comment on the Jazz at our Lounge Bar, which is light and easy to listen.
While this was your first visit to China and Shanghai, we do hope you will be returning in the not too distant future.
With best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my second stay here, same as the previous time, to watch the ATP tennis. Because of the heavy traffic in Shanghai, a hotel in the Hongqiao District gives you the best chance to get to the ATP venue without getting stuck in a traffic jam. The Millennium Hongqiao is a top choice considering its location, facilities, service and price.

Location - it is on a main street. Tell the driver that it is next to the Carrefour supermarket and he should know the way. Taxi is easy to get both at the hotel or out in the streets. The underground station is only a block away, taking less than ten minutes. The station is on Line 10 which takes you to the Hongqiao airport on one end and to the Bund in the city centre on the other end. The Line 10 passes through the top shopping and sight seeing areas so it is very convenient. And if you are using the Hongqiao Airport, it is only a ten to fifteen minute taxi ride. McDonald's is like a four minute walk away and if you take three more minutes then you will reach Starbucks. A nice massage place is just across the corner of the junction and stays open till 2 am. You can get you foot massage or full body massage at a very reasonable price. The Carrefour supermarket is next to McDonald's and is very big. Since the hotel is next to the community centre of the local residential district there are a lot of small shops and restaurants within fifteen minutes from the hotel. Just be aware that Shanghainese eat their dinner early so their last order is around nine.

The Room - it is spacious, well designed and equipped. The TV is a wall-mount LED. The electrical sockets are on the desk and take in all the major plug types so there is no problem even if you forget to bring your travel adapters. You can choose pillows but the bed comes in only one firmness which is firm, good for your back but westerners may not take kindly to it. Like most Asian hotels, you'll find slippers, bathrobe, toothpaste etc. down to sewing kit inside the room. There are both a shower and a bath to fit different needs. The bath is also fitted with a shower head. The ventilation in the bathroom is quiet but efficient.

Facilities - you get all your standard cafe, restaurant and spa plus a tennis court. The breakfast buffet is very good by the standard in China. Not as grand as the ones in Bangkok but definitely better than the ones in America and Europe.

Now comes the only bad part - there is no free wifi anywhere within the hotel, not in you room, not in the lobby or the restaurant, not unless you are ready to dish out 120 RMB for a day. I talked to one of the managers who apologized profusely, explaining that the wifi service was outsourced to a contractor when the hotel opened six years ago so nothing can be done until the contract expires in two year's time. So if you intend to stay here and want free wifi you will have to go to one of the many coffee places around the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Brunotheyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Brunotheyouknow,
Many thanks for staying with during the ATP Shanghai Master Tournament and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Just in case you are a Fan of F1, we are also close (accessible by Metro 10) to the Race Track.Suggest for your next visit that you book the Executive Floor which does include the Internet and WiFi, we also have packages which include the Breakfast and the Internet, or just Internet and these rates are more favorable than paying the daily or hourly usage.
We also provide a Taxi card for our Guests, which they can present to the Taxi Drivers to facilitate communications.
We look forward to welcome you back
with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews