We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard bed/ soft pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Ranked #94 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hard bed/ soft pillows”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed there on 3 separate occasions this year. Everything good except... All the mattresses were too hard and the pillows too soft... Felt like I was sleeping on the floor! I did bother asking for foam pillows because The main issue is the hard mattress.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonetraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Lonetraveller72, thanks for your comments on your recent stay at our Hotel, we are continously upgrading our mattresses and we expect to complete this towards the end of this year. We do have a Pillow Menu and we are glad that you took advantage of our different Pillow selection. We look forward to welcome you back and we hope to be able to your expectations to the bed on your next visit.
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    193
    40
    14
    6
See reviews for
19
22
28
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Comfortable Room and even though the bed was firm I slept fine. Had an Executive Club room and it was nice to relax over afternoon tea after busy sightseeing. Had no trouble catching the metro and the station is only a short walk. Good shopping nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janineor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Janineor, many thanks for your kind comments, which encourage us to further improve our services. We look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed there for three nights in mid-June and the hotel had assigned me a corner room. The room we had was quiet and spacious for two or even three adults. Bathroom condition is excellent with a shower separating from bathtub. The bed is pretty comfort but pillows are slightly hard. Breakfast is not included but there are plenty of choices at the neighbourhood including a chain jumbo supermarket for only a few minutes walk. This hotel is not far from hongqiao airport by taxi but needs some walking to get to the nearest metro station. Staff are very helpful in many ways such as for direction assistance and room information. The room charge is comparatively expensive than other hotels nearby but they have special offer for advance purchase or longer stay. So, plan ahead in exchange for better hotel service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Yolanda H, many thanks for staying with us and your kind comments relating your experiences. All of us here try to make our Guests stay enjoyable and appreciate your positive remarks. As to the Pillow, we do have a Pillow Menu, where a selection of various types can be selected, for your next trip our Housekeeping personnel would be pleased to provide you with the pillow most suited for your requirements.
We look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business trips, and this time was upgraded to an executive club room, having experienced service problems during my previous stay. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed, with a desk/working area, and sofa/lounge area. Lighting is very good with many options, e.g. spot lights, lamps, bright, soft, etc.

Although quite firm, I found the bed to be comfortable and spacious, and I got a good night's sleep every night. Bathroom was clean, and also nicely appointed. It had a separate bath, vanity unit and shower, and the soaps, shampoos and bath oils are of good quality. On arrival, one of the windows in my room was missing a catch, and so would not close - resulting in noise. When I reported this, it was repaired quickly and properly, and so was not an issue.

On this visit I found all the staff to be friendly, willingly helpful and very efficient. Most of the 'front-line' staff also speak good English. In particular, Mr Alan Li (Exec Lounge Manager) and 'Susan' (Exec Lounge Cook) were outstanding in their professionalism, and I feel they deserve to be highly commended for that. Both people went 'beyond the call of duty' to make guests feel very welcome and to provide outstanding service, in every respect. Alan Li spoke very good English, and Susan spoke almost none, however her remarkable ability to 'connect' with people and build rapport, more than compensated for this.

In general the restaurant offers a wide choice, to suit multinational tastes, and the quality is quite acceptable. The "Chatz" Lounge was pleasant, providing teas and drinks, with live performances of 'easy-listening' music in the evenings. The Executive Club lounge (top floor) was accessible throughout the day for people staying in the Exec/Club rooms, and it had a 'Happy Hour' every evening with complimentary cocktails for a 2-hour period.

There is a quite well equipped fitness centre, with gymnasium, swimming pool + baby's pool, hot tubs and sauna; all clean and well maintained. Behind the hotel is a very pleasant garden where you can relax (when the weather is right). Internet bandwidth was sometimes good, but at other times poor - which is not helpful for a business person trying to communicate to tight deadlines, etc.

In summary, I found the hotel to be very good; sometimes excellent. In terms of 'value for money', I judge it to be quite expensive compered to similar level hotels in the same region.

I certainly look forward to my next stay there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear grahairs, many thanks for your many repeat stays at our Hotel and your new found experience on our Executive Floor. We have duly noted your kind comments in regards to Executive Club Floor Manager Alan and especially so Susan our Exec. Club Chef which seems to magically know what our Guests like. In the next few months we will upgrade our Fitness Center and adding a couple more Treadmills to meet the demand from our many guests. As to the internet we are working with our provider to improve the performance, in July additional equipment will be installed to ensure to enhance the experience, it is an area which we continoulsy monitor.
We look forward to welcome you back in the not the too distant future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Service at the hotel is of a 5 star standard and the reception staff were kind enough to offer a room upgrade. Overall, it was pleasant staying here but 2 things that are a big let down. Firstly the mattress is extremely hard - they did put on an extra layer which improved things slightly. Secondly and rather annoyingly the Internet is incredibly slow and unreliable. For a business hotel this is quite poor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Joseph H., many thanks for staying with us recently and your comments, we regret that despite the mattress softener although an improvement was noticed, it did not meet your full satisfaction. In regards to the internet, it is unfortunate that you did not contact our IT Concierge which could have possibly assisted you to improve your experience. While we provide a very high bandwidth, there are at times influences which are beyond our control. We trust that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future. With best regards, Rene Teuscher, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've been there for a couple of nights. I had to stay close to the Hongqiao Airport due to very early morning flight.
Altough I know the quality of Millenium Hotels, I didn't expect also this one was at standard, I expected it was one of tipycal airport hotels. Instead, it can ofer all the usual business facilities of the other top class hotel, very good restaurants, well furnished rooms, excellent service.
Drawback is the location, very far from city center, but I guess that's the positioning of the hotel.
Very suggested if arriving/departing from Homgqiao.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Dudygiac, thanks for your kind comments of your experiences while staying with us. The Hotel is conveniently located to major intersection of the road network of Shanghai rendering it an easy access point to all major points of interest. Additionally about 5mins away is the Metro Line 10, leading to major points of interest in Shanghai, such Xintiandi, Yue Gardens and of course East Nanjing Road (Pedestrian street) and a short walk to the Bund.
We look forward to welcome you back, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Rooms are good, very well designed, good working place and comfortable chair. However, mattresses are hard and not comfortable. Even when a soft mattress is requested, they just place a soft layer on the mattress. It is helps, but still not too comfortable

Bathroom is clean and good, separate bathtub and shower, with good flow and pressure of hot water. However, their bathrobes small and will only fit a 10 year old. (I really don’t understand the common sense of that).

Their concierge is professional, knowing all the needs of the business traveler, from prepaid mobile phones, to reserving train tickets.

Internet is overpriced at 120 RMB per day, but it is free for their gold members. Bandwidth was usually good, but almost death at some times.
The “Chinese Great Firewall” seems to be working overtime in this area, and some services (such as “DropBox”) that worked perfect in other cities, were inaccessible here.

They advertise to be 10 minutes from Hongqiao airport, which is maybe true when going to Terminal-1 in middle of the night. In fact, 90% of the flights are from terminal-2, from where it is minimum 20-30 minutes times.

Compared to other non super-brand 5-star hotels in Hongqiao, this hotel is overpriced; otherwise you have a special deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear nomad6022, many thanks for staying with us and sharing your experiences. We have different sizes of Bathrobes and regret that this was not corrected, for the internet most Hotels in Shanghai charge a similar if not higher amount for this service and yes we do have special room rates which do include the internet and suggest for your next visit please inquire upon check-in for these. HongQiao Airport is close by and access is really depending on the traffic conditions and we will revise the statement of 10mins. to reflect a more accurate version. All of us here thank you for your constructive comments and we look forward to the opportunity to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future, with bests regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#161 of 5,105 in Shanghai
140 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#57 of 5,105 in Shanghai
955 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#199 of 5,105 in Shanghai
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#88 of 5,105 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao

Property: Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Address: No.2588 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#77 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#88 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#134 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hongqiao Shanghai
Shanghai Millennium Hongqiao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing