We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Inn (Shanghai Xu Jia Hui)
Ranked #197 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Clean rooms, slightly noisy, inexpensive - no frills hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TilottamaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 425 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

I'm still staying at this hotel as I write this review; it's mid-June 2012 and I'm paying about RMB300 a night. Overall, this is a pretty good value. The rooms are larger and nicer than other Home Inns I have seen, but this ain't no Hyatt Regency.

The location is the winner here. You're fairly close to the main Shanghai Airport; you're in a very nice commercial district with lots of shopping and restaurants; but the streets are lined with trees and little shops. It reminds me a little of Greenwich Village in New York City -- you know you're in the city, but you're not overwhelmed by the concrete.

I agree with Corixid and jraclarke; the hotel is more than unobtrusive; it's hidden! The building is set back from the street and honestly if my hosts had not delivered me to this hotel I would have been concerned, because it's down an wide alley (see photos). But once I got a hang of the layout, and figured out where the hotel was in relationship to the shops, it's actually very nice and very convenient.

Check-in was fast and convenient; the elevator is quick and the hallways clean. One particular thank-you to the management of this Home Inn: as everybody knows, facilities maintenance is not a strength of Chinese businesses. This is the only hotel I have been in China where I actually found workmen stripping, sanding and painting the walls. The public areas are spotless, and the carpets are fresh and clean. My special compliments to the Home Inn team: this is unusual, and very nice to see.

The rooms are fine, the bathroom clean and decorated with the Home Inn yellow tile; the A/C worked fine, the windows open, there's good wired and wireless internet access and there's a luggage rack built into the furniture. I was on the third floor, and discovered it has access to a balcony overlooking the street and parking area. So I popped out there every night for a smoke and a whisky. All good!

Two small complaints -- there is a barking dog in the neighborhood that goes nuts at the slightest sound and barks incessantly; get an even-numbered room to get away from this pest. When he wasn't making a racket, the guests in the other rooms or out in the hallway were. It's a bit hard to get a good nights sleep. Maybe I should drink more Tsingtao?

Breakfast was fine; the dining room is open from 7:00 to 9:30, buy a breakfast voucher for RMB15 at the front desk and the food is decent. Skip the week, cold coffee, though; there's a Starbucks right across the street.

All in all, a nice little hotel at a good price in a great location. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Chose even-numbered rooms to avoid the barking dog; 3rd floor has balcony access for smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Small clean rooms and unobtrusive staff combined with low nightly rates and a good location in the Xujiahui commercial area. Not quite far enough off the road to reduce vehicle noise, and the walls are paper-thin — conversations at normal voice levels can be heard in adjacent rooms. Water pressure is a bit of a gamble, so be ready to take an extra-long rinse cycle in the shower, and towels are rough-textured but serviceable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corixid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I stayed here for four days while in Shanghai and was pleasantly surprised. It doesn't look too much on the outside but inside it is nice. The single room was reasonably sized and very clean. Broadband access is free in the rooms and if you don't have a laptop you can use their computer next to reception for a small fee. There is good air con in the rooms and TV with lots of channels all in Chinese. There always seemed to be a member of staff on that spoke English and they were friendly and helpful. About five minutes walk from the metro. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jraclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Like all of the other Home Inns I stayed in in China, the Shanghai Xu Jia branch was cosy in that you knew exactly what you were getting and what the room would look like/include. As usual the room size was great for the price.

The location is the Xujia branch's main draw card - it is within extremely close walking distance of the Xu Jia Hui shopping district, two subway stations, and the Shanghai Sound Stage/Shanghai Stadium for events. I stayed here twice and would easily go back again given the fantastic price and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dita511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ノリノリノリコ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#137 of 5,146 in Shanghai
319 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shan...
#2,397 of 5,146 in Shanghai
103 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#68 of 5,146 in Shanghai
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Atour Hotel Shanghai Xujiahui Indoor Stadium
Xujiahui
New East Asia Hotel
New East Asia Hotel
#1,363 of 5,146 in Shanghai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn (Shanghai Xu Jia Hui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn (Shanghai Xu Jia Hui)

Address: No.400 Tianyaoqiao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn (Shanghai Xu Jia Hui) 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Inn (Shanghai Xu Jia Hui) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Inn (Shanghai Xu Jia Hui) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing