We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #180 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Zhenghzhou China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Average says it all”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall an average hotel. With the odd high light. The location is good. Really helpful staff when the Internet goes wobbly.
What ever the time of year the air condition is lousy. In summer you roast in winter you freeze. And in Spring the air con has a mind of its own.
Rooms average. clean and a reasonable size.
Don't order room service if you value your tummy. Breakfast OK. Don't go to the hotel restaurant for dinner. It's an experience but not a pleasant one.
Some great restaurants near by. Just to the right there is a really good Chinese restaurant. Element Fresh very good. Out of the hotel go left, 2 blocks on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneFRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    62
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
2
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was recommended by my business counterpart in Shanghai to stay here. Unlike the five star hotel but the comfort ness is not bad at all. Location is good as it is very close to the Line 1 subway Shangxi South Road station, next to a department store, very close to Xin Tian Di area. Receptionist speaks English, and sometimes even Japanese. When I try to ask for taxi to airport they were helpful to fetch me one. I would say price per value is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here while filming a documentary. Rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful. At breakfast I was not accustomed to sitting a tables with other people I didn't know, but that was how it worked during my stay. It seems we Americans are not used to that, but it was fun because I was able to make some new friends and learn about the culture. The hotel is located near great shops and restaurants. After my luggage was lost at the airport, a hotel staff member went with me to a nearby "mall" to buy new clothes. By the way, XL underwear in America is NOT the same in China!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of residential area behind the hotel. Very interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrellco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place has the best, most convenient location. Cafes, restaurants, shopping all closeby. I stayed in a single room, and although the temperature control didn't seem to work too well for both the room and the temperature of the shower, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

With Starbucks attached to the Hotel and Costa Coffee around the corner as well as City Shop, it couldn't be better. And then there is McDonalds and Haegen Dasz opposite. And it is all in the middle of the French Concession. Amazing!! A great rooftop area although the view is not startling but still good and so is the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabriano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, for a week-end during a business trip in China. Located at few minutes by taxi from the Bund. Room Spacious, very quiet, clean in the norm, satellite TV. Good breakfast with both international and Chinese food. Reception staff helpful and kind. Metro subway station is close. Recommended as a base for spending a weekend in Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fab_fab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Hi,

Have just spent a week at the Mason hotel and throughly enjoyed my stay.

The location was just perfect, right in the middle of the French Concession area, so lovely shops and cafes and walking distance to Xitandi, and also Taikang if you were feeling up to it, thought the taxis were so so cheap and the metro was on your doorstep.

The check in was easy and quick, small reception area, would agree with an earlier review that they feel a bit more like serviced apartments rather than a hotel.

Liked the layout of the building, sort of a square donut shape with a lovely light atrium running through middle.

Reading earlier reviews i specifically asked for a room facing the back of the building, NOT overlooking the very busy Huihai road, and my room was so quite, it was great.

The beds were a little hard, but not as hard as normal Chinese standards from what i have read.

Free internet (wired) in rooms, which was fantastic.

Rooms very spacious with twin beds , wardrobes, mini bar / coffee making facilities, TV, work desk and a living room area. Bathroom had bath and shower and was cleaned daily.

Some of the furnishings were starting to look a little dated, and the carpet was overdue a steam clean, but these details i didn't mind in the slightest as it keeps the prices down!

Breakfast was included (1 a day, clearly stated everywhere, so can everyone stop complaining that they 'only' got 1 breakfast, that's the standard rule!) Very varied food, rubbish coffee but with Starbucks in the building i didn't care.

It was also very convenient for the metro stop Shanxi station, which took you to Peoples Square and Xitandi and the Bund with a change, and also the Expo, which finishes soon.

The English of the staff i thought was very good overall, always got my point across even if i needed to rephrase. There was a couple of blokes who were very good, there was a girl whose English was ok at best.

I paid top price for this hotel $138 a night, as it was October 1st week, EG National Holiday.

Normally you get 20 - 30 % discount on many websites apparently, so this would make it very good value for money.

For this price, location, service, convenience, helpful staff, comfortable rooms and a good night sleep, i wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#144 of 5,082 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#227 of 5,082 in Shanghai
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Jinchen Hotel
Jinchen Hotel
#250 of 5,082 in Shanghai
44 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#95 of 5,082 in Shanghai
703 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#115 of 5,082 in Shanghai
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Hotel Shanghai

Property: Mason Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.935 Huaihai Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#117 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Hotel Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mason Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mason Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing