We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad but staff unfriendly and there is no River View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Riverview Hotel
Ranked #211 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Beauvais, France
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Not too bad but staff unfriendly and there is no River View”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent a single night at the hotel after a very long and tiring day of sight-seeing immediately following a long flight across several time-zones. Suffice to say that when our guide dropped us at the hotel to check in early in the evening, we were keen to get into our room as soon as possible in order to catch up on some much needed sleep. No such luck. The staff at reception were slow and unfriendly, and extremely bureaucratic (quadruple-checking our visas, which was extremely time-consuming - it is apparently a problem if a married couple do not both have the same nationality!). Plus the little bit of English that they had was for all practical purposes incomprehensible. When we were finally allowed into our room, a porter (with slightly better English) took over and insisted on taking charge of our bags - despite our specifying that we did not require this service (our bags had wheels and we are both able-bodied). He then made it very clear that he expected a tip, bowing repeatedly and moving closer and closer to me in an intimidating manner - the result of this behaviour was that he did not receive anything.

The pluses:
We booked the hotel as part of a package deal through an agency, so cannot comment on value for money - but think it is reasonable. The rooms were fairly spacious and clean - equating to a three star hotel in Europe - and the furniture modern and in good condition. There is, however NO river view - our room looked out over a construction site, and the view of the river is in any case obscured by other sky-scrapers.
Location - fairly centrally situated and close to public transport.
Breakfast buffet very large and varied, catering for both oriental and western tastes. Avoid the coffee, however...
Beds were comfortable and the bathroom had modern fixtures.

Would advise staying at the Golden River View Hotel for its convenience but certainly not for its charm or its welcome....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
24
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

First, you got to ask yourself what you are looking for. If you are in Shanghai for tourism and want a decent place to sleep, this is a good choice. If you want that once-in-a-lifetime hotel experience, check in next door at the intercontinental, but keep in mind that it´s a 5-1 price ratio. The hotel is conveniently located near the No 1 subway line and the trainstation. Breakfast better than expected. Helpfull staff.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives you a better sleep, as traffic noice is lesser the higher you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Very close to Hanzhong Road Subway station and other major hotels and Shanghai Railway Station (but nothing else), which is ok because the subway can take you anywhere you like. I was very impressed with the Western menu at the restaurant (although the food quality was just OK) and the almost full range breakfast buffet. It is not The Hyatt, but it is excellent when you think of "value for money". I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in December, and was not very impressed with the hotel. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. The hotel seems like it was really nice in its day, but is now old and not well kept. The breakfast was ok, but not great. Service by the staff was good. Try to get a room on the executive floor if possible - much nicer rooms and especially nicer bathrooms. All in all the hotel was fine, but not great. I would look for somewhere else on my next trip to Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenlyttle2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

stylish hotel, spacious rooms - 6ft shower cubicle! free internet. Breakfast was the best food we ate in China. over-staffed, like everywhere in China

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This was the first hotel we encountered in China. It was supposed to be a 4*, but I would say more a 3*. It is located near the main train station, with no river in sight - just a construction site opposite.

It has a very exponsive bar (small Tsingtao RMB 32!!!!) but the cheapest, and one of the best, hotel restaurants we went to. We had dim sum, noodles and two large Tsingtao beers (RMB 12 each ) for RMB 90. Bargain. Portion sizes so generous, we could not finish the noodles.

One word of caution - do not expect to get a taxi here quickly on a Friday night. The poor bellboy spent ages running up and down the road trying to get one for us. The staf in the hotel generally were very good and spoke English in many cases. There is also a cash machine in the lobby, where we cheaply got cash using our German bank debit cards.

Fine as atour hotel, but not too keen on the location.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

common areas and rooms need a renovation. common The carpet is stained and the wall was patched. sheets and towels were clean. in the first room in which we have been there was a strong smell of disinfectant.
except two employees who have really helped us, the rest of the staff has very little knowledge of English.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirpetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,701 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#135 of 5,069 in Shanghai
914 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#244 of 5,069 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#39 of 5,069 in Shanghai
778 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Riverview Hotel

Property: Golden Riverview Hotel
Address: No.308 Hengfeng Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden River-View Hotel's location places you near major roads and thoroughfares in Shanghai, such as Nanjing Road and Hongqiao Airport. Also, public transport is easily within reach from our Shanghai hotel. Each guestroom is air-conditioned and comes with impressive four-star fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing