We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can afford an en-suite, go for a proper hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Ranked #171 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you can afford an en-suite, go for a proper hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a private en-suite room for 2 weeks in this hostel. The room was booked at a discount rate which was slightly cheaper than other chain budget hotel here in Shanghai.

The location is nice, with metro line 3,4 and 11. There's a modern shopping mall nearby, post office, restaurants, and convenient stores. The neighbourhood is decent and safe.

The en-suite room is acceptable in terms of size and maintanence. It's disappointing as there's no kettle in the room even I booked an en-suite room. The bathroom is clean though maintainence can be improved.

Wifi is only available in lobby area. Only wired internet is provided. So if you have more than one device to go online in your room, please bring a portable router with you. Internet speed is acceptable. They charge Rmb 1 for 15 minutes of using laptop at the lobby. Printing service is available but it's pricy, RMB 2 for 1 page.

HOWEVER, I am very disapointed by the fact that this hostel arranged shared rooms on the same floors with en-suite rooms. This is very UNWISE to mix these 2 types of rooms on the same floor as they are basically different types of travellers. No offence to backpackers but I have been disturbed by noisy backpackers on the same floor living in shared bedrooms. Walls are thin and isolation is very poor. I don't see the point of mixing these different room types on the same floor. It is very disturbing throughout my stay in this hotel.

Dude, if you can afford an en-suite room, please go for proper hotel. Your monies deserve a quiet environment to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    91
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
16
34
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here 4 Night in February 2014, and it was great. The hostel is pretty big and it looks like a Hotel, it has a nice bar in the first floor. Rooms are very big, the bathroom is clean and nice. Staff is helpfull, Great location, just one block away from the subway station. We paid 169 RMB for the room per day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe_Sanhueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to shanghai me and my friend the first day we had a hotel called 7 days inn then we decided to move for a hostel we called them and booked the dorm it supposed to be for 4 but they had vacancies so it was ours you better check the price on worldhostel.com its cheaper and you can ask them yo give you that price if ur staying more than 4 days get the membership card for 30 yuan
They didn't recommend any tours the atmosphere is so good and most of the guys are open minded you can just get in and talk to anyone.
Also you can buy lock for the locker if u don't trust their lock I think its very weak.
But it was a good experience

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for just one night. As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are a very good size (our family stayed in a double and a triple - both spacious). Rooms are clean and beds have clean white bed linen, and clean white towels provided for the bathroom. Little extras were included, like toothbrush/paste and disposable slippers. Thankfully, as well as the A/C unit there was an electric heater which warmed the room wonderfully and kept the wet and wintry Shanghai temperatures of January outside.
Disappointing was the "restaurant". A varied menu was offered and against my better judgement we ordered breakfast. The food took a very long time to arrive and when it did eventually appear (in dribs and drabs) we had all lost interest, and the food was not very nice. I ordered muesli with fruit (apples and dragon fruit that had turned brown) and watery yogurt, and pancakes with maple syrup that tasted as though they had been cooked in recycled oil that had previously been used for frying fish! I took a couple of bites (the second to be sure of the taste) and had to leave everything. Luckily, the food was inexpensive - I recommend you head out to find food and drinks elsewhere.
The hostel was quite convenient for the Metro, Caoyang Station on Line 4, but whereas I might have otherwise left my bags behind to collect just before leaving Shanghai, I felt it was too far from anywhere I wanted to be, and too inconvenient to return. It was an okay stay; forgettable. The rooms are good for a hostel - but if the large restaurant/bar got its act together, the place could be great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed 4 nights here over New Year's. We were very happy with the room (double ensuite). It was clean, spacious, had TV and wifi, nice bathroom, heater worked well, and a big window to let in light. That was about it though, the hostel does not offer much extra. We specifically booked a hostel over New Year's to talk to the staff and other guests to see where was the best place to spend the 31st and when we asked a staff member where she would recommend, her exact words were "Um...I don't know, maybe Beijing?" We also asked to use the phone in reception and that was like pulling teeth, not sure why it was such a big deal since we offered to pay for it. The staff at the bar/restaurant are not friendly at all, and we saw one table where it took them over an hour to serve their breakfast, they were not happy. The hostel is a 5 min walk from a metro yes, but you will have to pay for a lot of metros and line changes because it's not close to anything. After the service we had, and the location, we would have spent a bit more money at a hotel near the Bund. Also, we were surprised to see the prices on the wall when we walked in. Not worth THAT amount of money, it was more than double what we paid ahead of time online.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

For the price we paid we had expected a much smaller room. We stayed in a double room on the 4th floor and were very content with the room, the bathroom (seperate shower which you don't find everywhere in China) and the beds. We did some DIY laundry which means using one of the washing machines for RMB 20 (incl powder) and hanging your clothes outside to try. Wifi reception was good as there was a router right next to our room (401).

The location is ok, not central as the name of the place suggests, but close to a metro (which is what counts in Shanghai). There's a really nice market down one of the streets just off the main road as well.

Staff was nice, spoke reasonable english and was helpful. We did get the impression that our booking couldn't be found at first and we were assigned a twin room (2 seperate beds) at first although we had booked a double. But this was resolved quickly accompanied by a lot of sorry's.

Good place to stay for a very decent price

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were fine, basic but everything you need, and clean. There was some noise in our room because the window didn't shut properly, but apart from that the hostel was quiet.

We organised an airport transfer with the hostel as our flight landed in the very early morning. There was a slight panic when they weren't there to meet us. But just as we were about to find an alternative way - i.e. taxi, we spotted a man with our name - phew.

The location is good, close to the metro and therefore tourist sights are easily accessible. There is some information in the hostel about where to get off the metro for certain sights.

We ate breakfast here and were happy with it. Breakfast was served on the bar so it smelt a bit smoky but smoky seems to be quite common in China.

Wifi not so good in the rooms, but ok in the bar. There were computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#215 of 5,059 in Shanghai
201 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#175 of 5,059 in Shanghai
128 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#83 of 5,059 in Shanghai
329 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai City Central Youth hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai City Central Youth hostel

Property: Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Address: No.50, Lane 300, Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China (Formerly Utels Youth Hotel Shanghai Wuning Road)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanghai City Central Youth hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Shanghai City Central Youth hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utels Hotel Shanghai
Utels Shanghai Wu Ning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing