We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room...but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Ranked #201 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed 4 nights here over New Year's. We were very happy with the room (double ensuite). It was clean, spacious, had TV and wifi, nice bathroom, heater worked well, and a big window to let in light. That was about it though, the hostel does not offer much extra. We specifically booked a hostel over New Year's to talk to the staff and other guests to see where was the best place to spend the 31st and when we asked a staff member where she would recommend, her exact words were "Um...I don't know, maybe Beijing?" We also asked to use the phone in reception and that was like pulling teeth, not sure why it was such a big deal since we offered to pay for it. The staff at the bar/restaurant are not friendly at all, and we saw one table where it took them over an hour to serve their breakfast, they were not happy. The hostel is a 5 min walk from a metro yes, but you will have to pay for a lot of metros and line changes because it's not close to anything. After the service we had, and the location, we would have spent a bit more money at a hotel near the Bund. Also, we were surprised to see the prices on the wall when we walked in. Not worth THAT amount of money, it was more than double what we paid ahead of time online.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KariC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 244 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

For the price we paid we had expected a much smaller room. We stayed in a double room on the 4th floor and were very content with the room, the bathroom (seperate shower which you don't find everywhere in China) and the beds. We did some DIY laundry which means using one of the washing machines for RMB 20 (incl powder) and hanging your clothes outside to try. Wifi reception was good as there was a router right next to our room (401).

The location is ok, not central as the name of the place suggests, but close to a metro (which is what counts in Shanghai). There's a really nice market down one of the streets just off the main road as well.

Staff was nice, spoke reasonable english and was helpful. We did get the impression that our booking couldn't be found at first and we were assigned a twin room (2 seperate beds) at first although we had booked a double. But this was resolved quickly accompanied by a lot of sorry's.

Good place to stay for a very decent price

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were fine, basic but everything you need, and clean. There was some noise in our room because the window didn't shut properly, but apart from that the hostel was quiet.

We organised an airport transfer with the hostel as our flight landed in the very early morning. There was a slight panic when they weren't there to meet us. But just as we were about to find an alternative way - i.e. taxi, we spotted a man with our name - phew.

The location is good, close to the metro and therefore tourist sights are easily accessible. There is some information in the hostel about where to get off the metro for certain sights.

We ate breakfast here and were happy with it. Breakfast was served on the bar so it smelt a bit smoky but smoky seems to be quite common in China.

Wifi not so good in the rooms, but ok in the bar. There were computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's very near metro station (you can get there by 3 lines), not exactly city centre, but the location is still good - at least you don't have to walk much if you travel with a big luggage as I did. And they have an elevator, which was great too. Stuff is very friendly and they know English well, so it's not a problem to ask them for advise where to go or what to see in Shanghai. Rooms are clean and generally nice, bathroom is also in very good condition. Wi-fi works on the 1st floor and in front of the hostel, so you can sit on a porch and enjoy free Internet access ;)
Now the most important thing - it's best place to meet people! From all around the world. You can find people there to sight-see with, to eat dinner with and to go party with ;)

Room Tip: 1st floor has Wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessa-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is a reasonable place to stay. It's clean and tidy, with a bar that does decent western and chinese food at not-too-expensive prices. It's close to the Caoyang St metro station (about a 5 minute walk).

There is wifi, although I had issues connecting while I was there. Others didn't, but they did say it was VERY slow. There are computers for internet but you have to pay.

The entrance is tricky to find as it's down a small side street and then off to the right, but once you've found it once it's fine.

The hostel offer help with trips and tourist activities which although I didn't use, seemed to be popular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

In short: extremly unreliable, rude and untrustworthy managment and dirty rooms.


We booked this hostel more then two months before we arrived. We booked twin room with a breakfast. When we arrived there they told us that 15 days before our arrival they changed policy so they don't include breakfast in the price of the room anymore. We were very suprised when they told us than the new policy is applied on not just for the new booking, but for those who already booked a room too. So they changed our booking and gave us just a room without breakfast, without previous notice. Stuff talked with a manager (who was extremly rud, by the way)about that and as a compensation for breakfast they offer us a bread (!?), which we ofcourse refuse and check out in the same moment.

Breakfast itself is not a big deal, it is just a trifle, pennyworth, but we are very dissapoint about attitude and the way of running hostel by managment of this hostel. It is not about breakfast, but about fact that they can't change terms of the booking just like that.

Base on that I can say that managment of this hotel is extremly unreliable and untrustworthy, plus very rude.

Apart from that rooms are very dirty so I would not recomend this place anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ertan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We began our trip in China by Shanghai and the UTELS in Shanghai was a good deal. Not centrally located but you have easy access to the main places of the city thru the subway.
We had a double room quite big. As many hostel in China, the bed mattress was thiny but was the best we got in the country. Bathroom was ok and clean (not a turkish toilet !)
The hostel itself has a tourist information desk, a pretty nice common area to have a drink, a meal or just to rest after a hot day in Shanghai. We read there was a free buffet breafast included but never tried.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#218 of 5,146 in Shanghai
202 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#200 of 5,146 in Shanghai
137 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#689 of 5,146 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
Pudong International Airport
Jingyue 99 Inn Shanghai Jiangzhen
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#89 of 5,146 in Shanghai
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai City Central Youth hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai City Central Youth hostel

Address: No.50, Lane 300, Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China (Formerly Utels Youth Hotel Shanghai Wuning Road)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanghai City Central Youth hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shanghai City Central Youth hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utels Hotel Shanghai
Utels Shanghai Wu Ning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing