We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Nearby Hotels
$159
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$932
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$91
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$256
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$136
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$100
$95
Courtyard
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$144
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$175
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
87
97
38
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
97
38
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationsnooker tablehome comfortsno wifi in the roomsbed roomshanghai citylaundry servicegood sizemin walkchaoyangenglishtaxichinakettleloftshampookfc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 253 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is a reasonable place to stay. It's clean and tidy, with a bar that does decent western and chinese food at not-too-expensive prices. It's close to the Caoyang St metro station (about a 5 minute walk).

There is wifi, although I had issues connecting while I was there. Others didn't, but they did say it was VERY slow. There are computers for internet but you have to pay.

The entrance is tricky to find as it's down a small side street and then off to the right, but once you've found it once it's fine.

The hostel offer help with trips and tourist activities which although I didn't use, seemed to be popular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

In short: extremly unreliable, rude and untrustworthy managment and dirty rooms.


We booked this hostel more then two months before we arrived. We booked twin room with a breakfast. When we arrived there they told us that 15 days before our arrival they changed policy so they don't include breakfast in the price of the room anymore. We were very suprised when they told us than the new policy is applied on not just for the new booking, but for those who already booked a room too. So they changed our booking and gave us just a room without breakfast, without previous notice. Stuff talked with a manager (who was extremly rud, by the way)about that and as a compensation for breakfast they offer us a bread (!?), which we ofcourse refuse and check out in the same moment.

Breakfast itself is not a big deal, it is just a trifle, pennyworth, but we are very dissapoint about attitude and the way of running hostel by managment of this hostel. It is not about breakfast, but about fact that they can't change terms of the booking just like that.

Base on that I can say that managment of this hotel is extremly unreliable and untrustworthy, plus very rude.

Apart from that rooms are very dirty so I would not recomend this place anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ertan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We began our trip in China by Shanghai and the UTELS in Shanghai was a good deal. Not centrally located but you have easy access to the main places of the city thru the subway.
We had a double room quite big. As many hostel in China, the bed mattress was thiny but was the best we got in the country. Bathroom was ok and clean (not a turkish toilet !)
The hostel itself has a tourist information desk, a pretty nice common area to have a drink, a meal or just to rest after a hot day in Shanghai. We read there was a free buffet breafast included but never tried.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here in May and found it quite acceptable. The staff were not very helpful except for one young man who always tried to do his best, the others were not always very approachable. The room l stayed in was good as was the attached bathroom. I would suggest that they could supply larger towels. The location is good, near a subway station which made getting around easy. Breakfast was okay although if you didn't get in early the choice was limited. I would stay here again as it's good value for money.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are good value
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROsie48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When my cousin was eating breakfast, someone went in her room and stole something!
She reported to the staff and police, the staff was very unwilling to help and told her there is no security camera outside her room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pandaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews