We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facilities on offer but lacks atmosphere and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Ranked #159 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great facilities on offer but lacks atmosphere and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The facilities here really were good. We liked the big self service laundry area, including a drying space outside if you don't want to pay for the tumble dryer. The staff spoke good English and are able to book taxis for you and give directions to places. Having the use of computers and a printer was useful as we are on a long term trip and needed to get lots of paper documents printed. The bar was great and food very nice. The beds are the most comfy I've stayed in in China and rooms are clean and secure (key card access). The hostel is located very near the metro which is great, but it is a little far from the main sights. The building is very spacious and things are easy to access, it was nice to have the use of an elevator with our big heavy bags.

Despite some great facilities this place lacks polite friendly staff and a good atmosphere. One member of staff was completely unhelpful and we felt like we were always bothering him, we were not made to feel welcome at all. Others seemed helpful but we weren't fortunate enough to speak to them. We weren't told about the free breakfast and so missed that opportunity, nor were we directed to any of the facilities that were on offer, we had to find it all ourselves. This is a large, busy hostel/hotel with usually only 1 member of staff on reception at any time, so it takes 5 or 10 minutes to get served (this can be quite frustrating when all you require is to get a laundry token or something else quick!). We found this hostel to be quite clinical and lacks the atmosphere you can find at smaller, independent or family run places.

I found this hostel to be quite average, it had many positive aspects but the staff really brought it down for me. It's great for the money but you can find much friendlier and more initimate places for the same price elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paperlily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    91
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
16
34
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is great, as soon as I checked in your made feel welcome. The staff are very friendly and helpfull, they have team of ladies who clean the place every morning so its spotless! Soo many good features they must take suggestions from previous guests. The rooms are good and beds are massive like having 2 double beds one on top of each other. Bathrooms are private cubicles in shared bathroom! I would defo recommend this place to anyone, only downside is breakfast finishes at half 9, but since its free who can complain!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crasherkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freehold
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff was helpfull. The free breakfast was delicious. The rooms were clean.

We arrived late at night and were greated with kind staff. the bar area has a pool table and decently priced drinks. Overall everyone was helpful and we were guided to the flea market only a few short blocks away. Def. had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

If you can find this place, it's a MUST!! It's cheap, the staff speak great English and are EXTREMELY helpful. We stayed in a private room which was great value for money. They have a nice bar on the ground floor with free wifi and a pool table. Drinks are cheap and it's the melting pot of all the residence. It's also fairly close to the subway station.

We made use of the laundry facility which works well, no problems. We also had the hostel make our arrangements for going to Beijing. They arranged cheap flights, accomodation at thier sister hostel in Beijing, transport to and from the airport...the works. I'm happy to say it all worked out without a hitch. Thanks Utels for the EXCELLENT SERVICE!!

If I'm in Shanghai again, I won't look any further for accomodtion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a private room, alright for the price, I guess. Some things were not all too great: mold in the bathroom (but that was in most hostels ), no big towel (why I wonder?). Cats in the foyer. The TV did not work and the instructions for the washing machine as well as the time specification they gave me for the dryer were wrong. Free breakfast which was good, coffe you have to pay separately which is OK I think. Very nice & helpful staff, the room was alright. Good location 2 metros nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hostel is a typical youth hostel. It can be noisy at times, but it sports a very good atmosphere. We stayed here in a room with private bathroom, so actually it was more like a hotel. Also it was very cheap considering we visited it during the National Holiday vacation period.

All facilities that one would expect were there, it looked safe, and the common room with fully fledged bar was really nice.

Two little downsides:
- There were some insects (cockroaches?) in the bathroom
- You need to insert your keycard inside the room to enable power, meaning you can't easily leave devices to charge

Overall, I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking to have a great stay and meet new people, but doesn't mind a little noise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights as part of a tour. Although I agree with other reviews that it isn't exactly city centre and it is hard to find from the main road, it is in a perfect quite spot (for Chinese standards). It's just 5 minutes from the nearest subway station which makes getting round shanghai easy. Free breakfast in the morning is basic but just what you need, and if you want more you can always buy from the bar. Oh and the staff were fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#203 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#171 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Shanghai Amersino Hotel
Shanghai Amersino Hotel
#1,842 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Chuansha R...
#2,647 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#78 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai City Central Youth hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai City Central Youth hostel

Property: Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Address: No.50, Lane 300, Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China (Formerly Utels Youth Hotel Shanghai Wuning Road)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanghai City Central Youth hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Shanghai City Central Youth hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utels Hotel Shanghai
Utels Shanghai Wu Ning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing