We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quite place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anting Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anting Villa Hotel
Ranked #137 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely quite place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed a few times at this lovely hotel. Nice and quite place with enough parking for the guest.The rooms are also good and this time I was upgraded to a nice 1 bed room suite.

The only problem that the restaurant in the hotel is not upto the mark and there are few choice of restaurant around the place. Otherwise this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    74
    30
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
36
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Looks pretty from outside but thats about it. Had to move rooms as air con wasn't working :( but that was after first night poor sleep after arriving at 1130pm. The food in the buffet breakfast was average and our take out breakfast (we had an early flight) consisted on 2 pieces of bread a boiled egg a stale croissant and an orange. The location is too far from the thick of it although handy to huaihai road by metro for shopping and eating

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Hels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

For 11 days we stayed at the Anting Villa Hotel in a residential area close to the French Concession which is known for its lovely tree lined streets and local neighborhood feel.

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The room and bath were not overly large but offered nice amenities. The shower had a massaging nozzle spray with plenty of hot water. We appreciated the daily bottled water, coffee, tea, and English newspapers. The light at the desk is never sufficient for us to work without eye strain. Our double room overlooked the garden and we woke to birds singing.

The hotel hosts elaborate Chinese wedding parties on the weekend but by 10 pm all is quiet. We enjoyed and appreciated the quietness of the hotel and area.

The staff spoke sufficient English, was very friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome. We delighted in watching the highly decorated uniformed security officers as they welcomed guests with an official solute and kept a watchful eye on arrival and departure activities.

We didn’t book the hotel with breakfast but enjoyed the breakfast several mornings especially the omelets. The hotel offers both Asian and Western breakfast food including freshly ground and brewed coffee and cappuccino from a Swiss Coffee machine.

Approximately two blocks toward Hengshan Road is an ATM, subway station, convenience store, restaurant/sport bars. A short distance down Hengshan Road are several international restaurants including Starbucks. Our favorite restaurant was “Simply Thai” on Dongping Road off Henghshan Road. Pick up a free tourist map at the airport. Don’t bother to buy a map at the hotel it is expensive and not very useful.

Taxis were readily available and arrived within minutes after called or walk up to the corner and catch one. The wait was never more than 7 minutes however, we were not commuting during rush hour or rain.

One night my husband left his coin purse containing cash on the front seat of the taxi. He had the receipt from the driver which enabled us to call the taxi company right away. The taxi company contacted the driver to return to the hotel and then called us to meet the driver outside. By the time we walked outside the driver was waiting for us. We found the coin purse with all its content. The driver received a reward for his honesty. Lesson learned – don’t leave anything behind and always take the receipt.

We can highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again on our next trip to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Room with garden view may be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sigridp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Location in the French Concession is a strong advantage of this hotel. Among other strengths is quite friendly and responsible personnel, well-maintained rooms, good breakfast. The price is quite fair.

The atmosphere is a little too pretentious with wealthy locals organizing different events such as weddings in the evenings, mosaic, marble columns and huge paintings in the hall. Not really cozy downstairs.

P.S. You can pretend that Internet cable does not work in the room and you will receive a personal Wi-Fi router;)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valery_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here in a double room for 10 days and it was great! Our room, overlooking the gardens, was absolutely quiet and we woke to singing birds every morning. The beds were very comfy, the bathroom good size, the Internet (cable connection) worked reliably, plenty of international news channels on the TV. Loved the enormous breakfast buffet, too, with plenty of choices both Western and Chinese. I didn't eat there the other meals because there are excellent restaurants on Henshan Road, just a few minutes walk away and, if one really wants to be spoiled, the fabulous Cotton's is just on the corner with a full range of American favorites like Caesar salad and a Sunday brunch. There's also a great wine shop about 3 minutes away and several little grocery stores. Taxis are so inexpensive we didn't find it a burden to use them all the time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiffsterPoitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel is very clean and has many amenities in the room. The staff are helpful, although they do not speak much English. While it felt comfortable to stay there, the restaurant downstairs has a very limited menu with almost no dishes that do not contain pork, so I couldn't eat there. Moreover, the area around the hotel is very quiet and has nothing nice. The hectic traffic in Shanghai makes it difficult to get a cab and go anywhere nice in less than 30-45 minutes which is a hassle.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. While it was a relatively nice hotel I thought it was a bit far away from everything. We needed to use the Subway all of the time. Not as many things within walking distance and the area not as nice as I thought.

The room we had was very small, no espresso machine in our room so maybe we got a lower class of room. Our room faced Anting Road and was very noisy. Also, the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. Bed and pillow was so hard it was like sleeping on an ironing board, probably the worst I have ever slep on. I tried to make it softer by folding the extra quilt across the bed but it was still far too hard.

Staff were okay, with the exception of one of the doormen who was really helpful. He had better english than the front office staff and helped us on a number of ocassions. No wifi in the room which is a shame in this day and age. Had to use the internet in the office, which only opened at 9am and closed at 9pm, and was rather expensive for China.

After our previous experience in China, we didn't opt to pay for the breakfast but chose to take the subway into one of the city stations and found somewhere to eat there.

If I return to Shanghai I would look for something nearer The Bund or on the other side of the river.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a soft bed and one that doesn't face Anting Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#162 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#177 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#236 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anting Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anting Villa Hotel

Property: Anting Villa Hotel
Address: No.46 Anting Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#123 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anting Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a commanding facade and lush green lawns, Anting Villa Hotel in Shanghai, China, blends perfectly with Hengshan Road's magnificent buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anting Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Ting Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing