We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accommodation in a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanxi Business Hotel
Ranked #642 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Reasonable accommodation in a good location.”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I was with a tour group and there were several other tours here at the same time. It paid to go to breakfast as early as possible as it got very busy, also the elevators were often crowded and you had to wait or use the stairs. The bar does not have much ambience, and has a very limited range of drinks.

There was nothing wrong with my room and I was able to open the windows, but those on the motorway side of the building said it was too noisy to have a window open.

There were plenty of western style shops within a short walk and I even found a Starbucks nearby, which I never use at home.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikefromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    60
    36
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
22
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

A nice, modern, multi-storey hotel with spectacular urban views from the upper floors. Staff are pleasant, polite and helpful, although few speak English. Breakfast is mixed Western and Oriental food and rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is used by package tours, so this can mean a long wait for the three small lifts when a lot of people are queuing at the same time eg breakfast. There is some traffic noise, but it's not really a problem. We had a lovely suite.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our 2 week holiday as part of a small group tour.

Hubby & I stayed in a double room that was quite small, our teenage children shared a twin room that was much larger. At the time, we all found the beds to be very hard, but further into our holiday we realised that this was nothing compared to beds in other hotels!

Breakfast was a mixture of western hot food/toasts (but not much in the way of cereals) & interesting local foods. The mushrooms particularly were delicious. TIP for westerners who like their cup of tea/coffee bring your own bags & little sachets of UHT (long life) milk to make a cuppa in your room. Milk is usually powdered in China & generally hard to come by. The tea served at breakfast was very weak & the coffee almost undrinkable!

There is an ATM in the hotel lobby.

The surrounding neighbourhood was safe to explore at night, just a few blocks from impressive department stores with lots of interesting local stores/streets/alley ways on the way.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Having previously stayed in Shanghai at the Oriental a few times , a chinese friend suggsted I try this hotel.
I was assured it would be OK. It was more than OK, I thought it was great value for the price paid and was upto a good four star standard. I did book the larger room and it was worth the extra $40US per night. I saw some of the smaller rooms and they did look small. I found the room and its furnishings to be of a good standard and the room to be very clean.
Check in was easy and most staff spoke good english. The breakfast was quite satisfactory and I found the food and level of service to be of a good standard. Staff were available to answer my questions and provide helpful advise about local restaurants and how to get around, always enquiring if they could do anything else to help.
It was located near the financial centre and in easy walking distance to Nathan Rd and the embassies. As always, cabs being so cheap, making getting around out of peak traffic times easy. A cab from the hotel to the Maglev train airport connection cost 40RMB. The only drawback I saw was a 10 minute walk to the underground, but then walking around Shanghai is always interesting.
If you are after a good hotel with quite acceptable facilities and location, this is the pace. Hotel rates for some hotels in Shanghai can be high but I found this hotel be of a good standard and a very good price. I will return to this hotel on my next visit to Shanghai. If you are on business and want a clean and comfortable place to stay, this is it.

  • Liked — central location, taxi drivers knew where it was, cleanliness
  • Disliked — distance from underground
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank colmanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

I went to that hotel a bit afraid after reading the only review available at the Net, but the result was a a nice surprise,
I travel a lot, mainly on business and although the Shaanxi cannont compare with international chains it was quite good, so was the price. I would rate this hotel in the medium range of the 4 stars type.
Many different rooms to chose, if you want to upgrade from the basic for a moderate additional, slighty noisy at night with the motorway by. Beds are a bit hard, but after a day walking in the city, you don´t mind. The service was superb, always helpful with directions and checking that you wouldnt forget anything in the taxi. Some delays checking out. Food average, could be improved with some occidental food, but you are in China after all.
Located 10 minutes front the center of the city, the fare would cost just above the minimun 11 RMB (1 euro), and 155 from Pudong airport.
I would repeat this hotel next time I head for Shanghai.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and helpfullness
  • Disliked — There were some dificulties with the language
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank javiesvq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I've worked all over the Far East and stayed in some very nice hotels. So it was important to me that the only review I could fine on this hotel was accurate, which I have to say it's not! I found the Shaanxi to be a fine hotel, OK it’s not draped in the opulence some people might be used to nor is it practically good looking compared to others. But the service is excellent, advice on where to go, what to see and how to get places is second to none.

Rooms are exposed to noisy traffic, but show me somewhere in Shanghai that isn’t!

If I had one criticism it would be the 3rd floor restaurant, the food at my table was not that good, and a little overpriced. But again I ask the question, what the hell are you doing sitting in a hotel restaurant when there are so many other fabulous places to see and eat in Shanghai.

Although the TV’s in the rooms are mainly for the Chinese (only one American channel – CNN) its spacious, clean, new and everything works, including the mini-bar fridge!!

The beds are quite hard, which suited me but may not for others who prefer something a little softer! Nice décor and matching colour schemes are also important to me, and I was not disappointed.

All in all a very nice hotel, with staff who are prepared to do anything for you, even make you a hot sandwich at 04:00 in the morning, simply would not happen in the UK. You will not be disappointed with your stay here, nor the bill at the end of your stay. Happy Travels!

  • Liked — The staff service
  • Disliked — The Restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Yidforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Traveling with two Chinese colleagues, one from Hong Kong and one from Taiwan, we stayed here for three nights. Room sizes varied widely. One was tiny, one medium and one was huge. The hotel seemed new and things were still pretty fresh. Even though a newer hotel, the carpet was showing the wear of past occupants.
If you stay here you might want a room on the back side of the hotel. All the rooms on the front are almost literally on the freeway.The windows do what they can to shut out the noise, but its a major freeway.
Even my colleagues were not enchanted with the breakfast buffet and were ready to hit the streets looking for some place else for breakfast or dim sum after the first day. The buffet was expensive for what was offered.
This is the place if you need a clean room and the basics. It offers little in the way of charm or personality.
The staff was helpful and there were English speakers on the staff in most areas. Taxis are readily available.
I'd look for more interesting options for the same price that are a better value next time I am in Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
#1,839 of 5,082 in Shanghai
61 reviews
Jing'an
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
#1,524 of 5,082 in Shanghai
125 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#490 of 5,082 in Shanghai
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
City Hotel Shanghai
City Hotel Shanghai
#210 of 5,082 in Shanghai
272 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#153 of 5,082 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#56 of 5,082 in Shanghai
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanxi Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanxi Business Hotel

Property: Shanxi Business Hotel
Address: No.658 Yan'an Middle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200000, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #642 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanxi Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanxi Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing