We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Longemont Shanghai
Ranked #92 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Longemont is a great hotel to stay in. We stayed for 5 nights in this 5-star hotel and enjoyed it tremendously.Check-in was a breeze though hotels in China require your passport. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable and clean. The bath is worth a soak in. The hotel is away from the shopping areas which in a way is good as it it quiet in the evenings. Most places are easily accessible by taxi. The trick is to get the concierge to write your destination in Chinese and hand that to the taxi driver. Also the staff manning the taxi queue does help to instruct the
taxi driver where to go in Chinese.
We tried the food at the Italian restaurant and Japanese restaurant, both served excellent and authentic food. We also had breakfast at the lobby lounge which has good Western style pastries and cakes.

Room Tip: Rooms above 28 Floor are the better rooms. Try get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    356
    92
    24
    7
See reviews for
58
94
69
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was very pleased with the nice room - good lighting, modern steel/wood/glass look. The gym is also good - lots of equipment, and on the 26th floor with good views. Didn't use the pool, but thought the glass side right at window was very cool.

Do not go to the "O2 On 2" buffet for dinner - or if you do - ask to check out the food before sitting down. For my evening - where I thought a buffet would be a good way to experience many different types of food - I could not have been more disappointed. Food is kept in covered heaters, with so much moisture/condensation that everything is soggy. Low volume of customers also meant that food looked old, and many of the sauces had crusted over from time. The sushi - terrible quality to begin with was warm, and the roast lamb was cold. Seriously, there was nothing good. I noted this complaint to the manager, who apologized, and sent chocolates to the room, but did not take the cost off the bill.

I did go for breakfast at the same buffet, based on reviews here. It is certainly much better than dinner - but it was average at best.

The food staff here should take a field trip over to the Shangri-La Pudong to see how food is done right.

As others noted, location is not great. Taxis are available and cheap, but traffic can be very bad and make a 10 minute ride into a 30 or 40 minute stop'n'go trip.

Staff service was hit'n'miss. Concierge and taxi guy were both great. Check-in was fine, checkout was slow and very poor english. Restaurant staff are weak, with Chef's standing around and talking throughout both breakfast and dinner. The car I had booked to the airport got "lost", but I gave up on that, as checkout could not speak english well enough to resolve the problem.

Bottom line - it's not a terrible hotel - but I would not likely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_in_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were there as part of a group tour which selected the hotel. They made a fantastic choice.. From the time we entered this hotel we were treated as graciously as could be expected. As business are located on the first 25 or so floors we were up high. Our rooms were on the 42cnd floor and which gave us a beautiful view of the city. The ameneties in the room were very luxurious and the facilities in the room were more than I would have expected. The front desk bent over backwards the few times we had to make a request.
We ate most of our meals inside the hotel and enjoyed them all. The tour group took us around the city and ate some meals in Shanghai.
This is one of the most comfortable and beautiful hotels I have stayed at. My wife and I have stayed in Marriott, Sheraton, Hilton, Fairmont and other hotels from Bucharest, Prague, Capetown, Paris, and Montreal as well as throughout the US. This hotel was one that I would rate in the top three of places we have stayed at. I don't know if we will ever make it back to Shanghai but would definitely stay there again if we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cryptoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I can't rave enough about this wonderful hotel. The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and immaculately clean. The service at the hotel was 5+ and the food was equally good. When in Shanghai I would highly recommend the Longemont Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animalcule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
230 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

As we arrived at the hotel we noticed that there were no close by restaurants, shops, or other "tourist" type attractions. It was more a commercial industrial type area with nearby residential high rises that shut down in the evening. So, anything you might want to do would have to be done by taxi. That was a negative.

The hotel itself was excellent - good room with complementary bottled water, wonderful shower, nice casual dining room on site. We ate breakfast in that dining room the next morning -- outstanding buffet with both oriental and western food stations. There was not one thing I could think of that was not available for a traditional eastern or western breakfast. The front desk exchanged USD for Yuan at a very reasonable rate. The people at the desk were very helpful as were the concierge desk attendants. Because this was only a quick stop before starting a cruise and we had a full day tour of Shanghai scheduled for the next day, we didn't miss much...other than the ability to walk casually in an area that had a night life.

For someone on a similar itinerary, I would recommend the hotel. I would probably suggest looking for other accommodations, if you wanted the ability to walk out into an active night life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

There was one very nice Japanese member of staff, but all the Chinese staff were haughty and rude. Carpet in the room was filthy and there was no wi-fi. Had a rather creepy client service manager email me - when I said I wasn't happy I didn't hear back from him! Bad hotel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank bibby1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We recently stayed in the Longemont Hotel in Shanghai and were extremely impressed with the level of service and friendliness which we received from all staff members in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and their eye to detail in supporting and assisting us as guests was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel not only for the service level, but also for the relaxed environments which are available for guests to use and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#16 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#29 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#83 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longemont Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longemont Shanghai

Property: The Longemont Shanghai
Address: No.1116 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#115 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longemont Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Longemont Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longemont Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
The Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Shanghai
Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing