We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in amazing location for Shanghai central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street
Ranked #485 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in amazing location for Shanghai central”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

First of all, as far as I'm aware this hotel is now just referred to as East Asia Hotel, as all the adverts for it on Nanjing Road refer to it as such. As imaginable on Nanjing Road, this place is in an absolutely fantastic location - a 10 minute walk to the Bund and pretty central on Nanjing Road itself. People's Sq station is probably the nearer of the two (the other being East Nanjing Rd) for the metro but both are fairly close - another big plus.

The staff were a bit abrupt, but at the end of the day they did their job when needed - it was a little ironic that they were all wearing smiley face badges - particularly after we'd read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor! They did however let us check in early, which was a big plus as we'd just arrived from a pretty bad nights sleep on a train.

The room was clean, comfortable and an OK size. The only downside was that it was a bit noisy at night - the walls were rather thin.

For the money, this hotel is great value in a city where things are slowly getting more expensive (especially with the Expo being on at the time of writing). The location alone makes it a very good choice indeed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tclstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    105
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
17
29
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The hotel is in a fantastic location - right in the heart of Shanghai. Unfortunately that's where anything good about this hotel ends. The reception staff were the rudest staff I have ever come across. We booked and pre-paid our room on line so we checked in quite easily. But I did have the pen snatched out of my hand while I was signing our papers to check in. We were also yelled at by staff to leave reception saying "You finish - go now!!"
However, our friends also booked their room online but didn't pre-pay. The reception staff tried to tell them they booked two rooms and they must pay for two rooms. There was a lot of yelling from the staff. I couldn't believe it. Later when I went down to ask for a hairdryer it was like asking for the receptionists life - she was so rude and almost threw the hairdryer at me while snatching a 100 Yuan deposit out of my hand.

Despite paying for the better room - we still didn't get a room with a window. The beds are hard and horrible. All I can say is that management should get new staff if they want people to keep going to this hotel. However, I think because they know they have a good location they won't change...very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee_Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

First, the location of this hotel can't be beat. It is directly outside of a subway station and several bus stations that can get you around Shanghai conveniently and cheaply. You can also walk to the Bund, or the opposite way down Nanjing Lu for shopping or the acrobatic circus. As for the rooms, they are pretty run down although the bedding was very clean. The walls and ceiling could have used a good scrubbing. We stayed here because of the price and location. There are many more hotels that are cheaper, but out of the way (and also run down.) No gym or pool, and we didn't try the restaurant. Plenty of fast food restaurants close by, but even better are the home style restaurants that are located on the nearby back streets. GIve them a try for some great dishes. One note--this hotel is now called the Jin Men Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2010

The hotel is definitely positioned well in terms of accessibility and its outer facade is a great illusion to the seemingly dull and stoic ambiance. Local color is evident outside as you have Bohemian musicians playing and a hot pot of transluscent Chinese vendors and drunkards pervade the place. Simply said, outside god, inside I wouldn,t have survived without Tsingtao.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknrollreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

THE MOST DISGUSTING HOTEL EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE. My hotel standards are pretty low. I just want a clean, safe room. I have been all over the world and in all my travels I have never refused to stay in a hotel. This hotel was so terrible I checked out after 10 minutes in the room. The toilet barely worked the bathtub was rusted the carpet was disgusting the baseboards were broken and the paint was peeling everywhere. This on top of the horrifying smell in the room. I have absolutely no idea how the place got so many good reviews. Add to that the fact that no taxi driver knew how to get there because the hotel is part of a pedestrian only shopping area on Nanjing Road. ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE PLACE!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

The hotel is in a great location on pedestrian Nanjing Road, though the entrance through a men's clothing store is a little odd. My room faced Nanjing Road and was a bit noisy in the evening with all of the pedestrian traffic and music outside, but was quieter after 10PM.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

the hotel is in a great central location right in the heart of the East Nanjing Road area. while the bedding and bathroom were very clean, one of the walls in the bedroom was filthy, and the on/off handle on the shower was broken, making it very hard to work the shower. the corridors looked shabby and smelt damp - there were big carpet dryers along the corridors on our floor as apparently there had been a bad flood the day before.

Service was ok.

I would probably stay here again because of the location and price, but would hopefully get a better room next time!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty and shabby in parts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bex76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#159 of 5,105 in Shanghai
343 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#186 of 5,105 in Shanghai
131 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#499 of 5,105 in Shanghai
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#200 of 5,105 in Shanghai
449 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,105 in Shanghai
820 reviews
People’s Square
Shangfu Hotel Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian
Shangfu Hotel Shanghai Nanjing R...
#2,452 of 5,105 in Shanghai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street

Property: Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street
Address: No.680 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#315 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jinjiang star - east Asia hotel, nanjing road pedestrian street shop is located in no. 680 nanjing dong lu, which opened in 1917, has nearly 100 years history, renovated in 2013, the hotel is four large companies in Shanghai the first part -- - Shanghai sincere company, is one of the famous old hotel Shanghai. Hotel is located in nanjing road pedestrian street intersection in zhejiang, metro line 1,2,8 people's square station 19 export, export line 10, nanjing dong lu station 4, just 5 minutes' walk. Adjacent to the people's square, Shanghai grand theatre, madame tussauds, the bund, yuyuan garden, business, tourism, shopping convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jin Jiang East Asia
East Asia Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing