We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horses for Courses!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Shanghai Nanjing
Ranked #1,444 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have now being staying at the Nanjing for three nights and cannot comprehend some of the negative reviews about this hotel. Here are my comments:

1. What do you all expect for 300 RMB? If you want Western comforts and high quality service then pay 1000 RMB. This is a Chinese hotel for the Chinese.A kettle is provided but only with Chinese tea sachets. So if you are a budget traveller and stay here then do the following:

1. Buy a pot of coffee and then you can wake up to coffee every morning.

2. If you can bring a small lap;top/notebook there is internet on an Ethernet cable. If you have an iPad go down to landing on 3rd or 4th floor where you should access WiFi.

If this fails go to Second floor of Henderson Shopping Mall on Nanjing Road. (Just 400m away) Username Metropolitan. Without needing to buy a coffee you can get free Wifi. Landing page in Chinese but tick box at bottom and press button and hey presto.. free internet.

3. You are provided with free shampoo and shower gel. How many British and American hotels for equivalent of 300 RMB would do this? Answer: None

4. Location is brilliant. Bund, and Yiyuan Garden and Temple all within walking distance and you can shop to heart's content on Nanjing Road.

5. Standard of cleanliness actually not bad. Everything just a bit old and worn but how can you expect them to refurbish on 300 RMB a pop from each guest.

6. Rooms smell of smoke because this is primarily a hotel for the Chinese and many Chinese smoke heavily. You get used to it and if you don't like it, check out and go elsewhere.

7. Staff are not particularly unfriendly, they just don't speak much English because the hotel is geared for Chinese tourists. In the top hotels the staff are trained in how to deal with Western guests. The Chinese language is very direct and doesn't contain the polite niceties of English.
So "would you mind awfully stepping aside as you are blocking my way"? becomes "Go please!" in Chinese English.So it's nothing to do with rudeness. I can't speak about Americans, whom I generally find to be very polite, but a lot of young British people could learn a lot about the helpfulness of most Chinese people.(being British I am entitled to make these comments)
If you want to be pampered by fawning hotel staff then again, check out and go elsewhere.

I have slept as well in this bed as anywhere else and it is actually pretty quiet.

So great value for money and for 300 RMB I thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gimby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very convenient location and value for money which is the major reason to stay here.

The first room i stayed in, I had to run the hot water for 5 minutes to get any. However I changed rooms and it was instant.

There is WIFI available on the 3rd floor in the corridor, so make yourself comfortable on the floor. There are chairs setup on either end of the floor, but the WIFI doesn't work there (go figure).
I found the staff helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (that don't face Shanxi Road) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omalleySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is okay. The price is pretty good for the central location. The service is horrible though. Very unfriendly and not understanding of personal needs! We had to upgrade to a better room the one we booked had certain things included on our bill that we booked online including mini bar and there was none! They were just plain out rude and really had no patience or understanding. The location is good, close to all the main attractions in center of shangahi but saw many similar places in be same area around same place that I'm sure would be better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theamirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose this hotel due to it's closest proximity to a subway station along Line 2 and its' very close to the ever popular Nanjing Road pedestrian road. East Nanjing Road subway station is just 2 minutes away (take exit 1) from the hotel. Line 2 subway links Pudong airport to Hongqiao airport, and passes through Hongqiao Railway Station.

Despite its' close proximity to the busy Nanjing Road pedestrian road, the room at Nanjing Hotel is surprisingly quiet. You can find good food and shopping at Nanjing Road area and it is walking distance to the Bund.

This hotel has surpassed our expectation.

Room Tip: Request for a room at 8th floor (our room was #816 and it is smoke-free). It is certainly quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keet516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice foyer, but it's fair to say I was not impressed when I got to my room. As soon as I walked in the door I called reception and asked for a room upgrade and they said the room I got was the best they had. The floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed, the balcony looked like it was about to fall off, the bathroom and refrigerator were both old and stinky, the furniture looked second hand and the bed rock solid.

The staff aren't friendly at the best of times and they have no patience for westerners. Even the basic 'hello' and 'thank you' in Mandarin won't earn any brownie points here.

If you are used to staying in hostels and would like a budget 'hotel' room of your own, then this is the place to go. If you are on holiday, and expect to relax at your hotel in Shanghai, then it will be best to find somewhere else to stay. There are plenty of nicer hotels in the city which are still easy on the pocket.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. Large rooms, private little balcony, next door to a big shopping street, few minutes walk to the underground station, 5 minutes walk to pick up a big bus tour around the city and 10 mins walk to the river front with a beautiful view of the financial district. Loads of local good restaurants around too.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you get the room at the top floor and after washing few bits of clothing want to hang it in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vilhelmas_navickas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Nanjing hotel for a conference in the business district opposite the river. The location is perfect. The metro is just around the corner and I got anywhere I wanted to go very easily (also because of the excellent metro system).

My main problem with this hotel was the smell! I was first put in a smoking room which was awful. Luckily the staff could move me, but in the end I found that the room and the whole hotel still smelled quite bad. Otherwise it didn't seem so dirty, but also not super clean.
The "wifi in public places" is quite an overstatement. I was only able to connect going to the third floor (business centre) and standing in the corridor. I don't know about the cabled internet. I would also recommend not getting the hotel breakfast. It seemed to have a very low quality, I tried it one day and only got toast with jam. Everything else seemed un-fresh.

The staff was friendly and spoke English (which is not always the case in China). I would definitely recommend the location of this hotel, but if you like things clean you should look for something with higher standards.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#384 of 5,161 in Shanghai
355 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#151 of 5,161 in Shanghai
361 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,161 in Shanghai
872 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Shanghai Nanjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Shanghai Nanjing

Address: No.200 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (Formerly Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,444 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $101 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Shanghai Nanjing 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanjing Hotel Shanghai Jin Jiang is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. Some of the famous trourist spots that you can visit while staying here are The Bund, People's Square, and The Shanghai Museum. It offers 165 air-conditioned guestrooms, all of which have mini-bar, cable TV, and room safe. It is a must-try to dine in at their restaurant called Shanghai Town that serves Beijing and Shanghai cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Shanghai Nanjing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanjing Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing