We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First experience in SH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Ranked #236 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First experience in SH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a business trip so I didn't expect much from the hotel.
The room was OK, I got to stay in a twin bedroom all by myself. The bathroom was surrounded only by glass, I could imagine how inconvenient it must have been for my other colleagues who shared a room.
It was a frustration that there was no wifi in the room. There was a ancient wired TV which you could use to browse the Internet. But come on, we have passed that era already. The hotel would need some technological improvements if it were to move into the future.
Only thing that annoys me was that I put on the Do Not Disturb light but the housekeepers still cleaned my room. I felt unsafe leaving my personal belongings there. But luckily the housekeepers were all very polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukicheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

i have been stayed here from 10-14 Oct 2013, 4 nights. my room type is standard twin room (no window), even no window but it is ok for me, probably that's why the rate was so low. great bathroom too! the hotel unexpected clean and stylish design. also very good location, close to department store and Xujiahui Park. overall this hotel is very good and i will recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachdeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good location and not expensive. Hotel room is clean and cozy. Not luxury. I will be happy to stay there if I got the chance again. Book this hotel from ctrip, very convinient. Use my Discover card and not foreign transaction fee . LOL !

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HJLOVECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Quite a decent hotel, with most things working quite well - two exceptions, wake up calls that were usually 20-30 minutes late,and with no clock in the room you never knew if you would be on time, and a breakfast service that left a lot to be desired - the closer it came to closing time, the less was available and seemed that nothing was replenished. Money exchange took well over 10 minutes to exchange $50.00

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, near Xujiahui but tucked away on a nice, quieter street. Tacky decor, glass bathroom wall (why?), but room size more than adequate. However, terribly stuffy and HOT - it was cold outside when we visited, but the room temperature only seemed to rise and rise. Had to call the reception 2-3 times before someone was sent to our room to fix it. Room also smelled like cigarettes. No wifi in my room (not even if you pay).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heartquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mundo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Trip date: Mid-November 2012
Length: Five nights

Tianping Hotel bills itself as a boutique hotel, yet its Chinese name (上海天平宾馆) belies the true class. A "bing guan" is at least one tier, if not two or three, below a full-fledged hotel, and this becomes apparent once you walk through the door.

Decor - Someone looked up "chic" in the Dictionary of Cheese and applied it liberally to this establishment. Marble, glass, and grossly out of place art bedecks the building. Pretty typical for an ostentatious Chinese hotel, but it feels even more conspicuous here. One thing that was noticeably missing though was heat. Most common areas of the building, especially the lobby, were kept at a brisk 17-20 degrees Celsius. The front desk staff wore long coats and gloves...The hotel was also inexplicably dry, resulting in waking up with cracked hands and chapped lips. We had twelve people in our week-long business conference, and they all mentioned the same thing, so it wasn't just me. There must be a very powerful dehumidifying unit hooked up to their HVAC system. For what purpose, I don't know.

Internet - No wifi available on the 16th floor where I stayed, though someone kindly left their personal network unlocked. Spotty wifi in the meeting room floors. Wired connection in room was unusable due to snail-like speed.

Food - Unbearable. I usually like Chinese hotel breakfasts, as the local fare is usually reasonable. Most of what was available at breakfast was inedible, even by bad hotel standards. My goal by the second day was to get the omelette guy to say good morning, thank you, or anything besides rudely gesturing at the line of cold fried eggs he'd made ahead of time to save him from having to do any actual work. For lunch, our party of twelve was placed on the seventh floor, in the ping-pong table room since the restaurant where breakfast is held serves no other purpose than breakfast...

English - Little to none, even at the front desk. Non-Chinese speakers beware.

Service - Breakfast wait staff is alright, taking five minutes to fetch a half-cup of coffee (I have no idea why they refused to fill up a full cup). The Egg Guy was downright unpleasant, and I never did get him to say anything. Business center and conference staff tries hard, but are not up to international standards. Not surprising given that this is a state-owned hotel.

For the price, the hotel is not good value at all. Though centrally located in the Xujiahui District, it is incredibly difficult to catch a taxi due to its placement on a small side street. There are high-end shopping centers within a 1.5km walk and decent restaurants and fast-food options inside, but not much on the street where the hotel sits.

Tourists, beware. Business travelers, don't expect a the fast and competent service you desire.

Room Tip: Little street traffic noise. Some rooms have recently been renovated. 15/F seems to have wifi, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dub L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at this hotel during my recent working trip. Found them on Agoda so I decided to give them a shot. Paid approximately RMB 400 for a night and was given a room without windows. Decor was decent, some might call it modern but I personally find it too Chinese for my liking. The rooms were quite clean and the toilet was spacious. TV doubles as a computer but there weren't any internet wifi connection given in the rooms. Only the lobby had them which I found quite annoying as I would need to sit in the lobby to download my emails and respond to whatsapp messages. Breakfast was alright. Had a wide selection of items. The hotel is located close to Xujiahui shopping complexes and walking there will take only 10-15 min. However there aren't any convenience stores nearby so getting knick-knacks after hours may be a challenge. No massage/reflexology outlets around too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandercritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#137 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#162 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#600 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Xujiahui
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
#385 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#45 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Tianping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Tianping Hotel

Property: Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Address: No.185 Tianping Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Tianping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Tianping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing